We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a delight”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I'm a bit tardy in writing this review as I stayed for 2 days in June 2011. However, I am pleased with my delay, as I have an additional mention about the delight that is this hotel. It is difficult to decide what is the best location to stay in Milan, but for us Hotel Berna was excellent. It has valet parking, is very close to the central train station, and the hop on/hop off bus runs from outside the train station also, as do the trams. The personalised mini bar is thoughtful, and the buffet breakfast very pleasant. The room was large by European standards, and so was a good size, with a large bathroom. The shutters close completely to block out all light, which is great for light sleepers! There is a computer in the lobby for free internet access, and
Wi-Fi. By far the biggest asset of this hotel is their delightful staff. They are courteous and efficient at check in/out and always pleasant. The Italian wait staff at breakfast were sensational, and full of helpful suggestions. More than a year after our stay, my friend who booked Berna received an email on her birthday with a very nice birthday wish, which was unexpected but very sweet! Definately a great hotel to stay in while in Milan!

Room Tip: If you want free parking, book directly with the hotel, otherwise there is a surcharge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t00manyplacest0see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,863 - 2,869 of 6,781 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Berna last month and stayed in the hotel for almost a whole week. The position of the hotel near the central station is the perfect location for visiting Milan. The hotel went out of its way to assist us to ensure our stay was going to be enjoyable. We also agree the breakfast was excellent in terms of range and quality. In fact for us it was the best we had on our holiday, across hotels in Italy, Spain and England. The difference between this hotel and every other is the personalised attention and genuine effort to ensure their guest enjoy their stay. The manager, Paolo and Agazio in breakfast area made us feel like we were staying with family. It would be our first choice when next staying in Milan. R&M, Sydney Australia.

Room Tip: If you have special needs such as quiet room ask them and they will go out of their way to accomodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barra340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Hotel Berna was excellent in all respects. The service of the staff and the atmosphere of the lobby, adjacent areas and the hotel overall were again excellent. Thomas, was helpful thru out our stay and always had a bright smile and greeting. All the stafff were helpful and pleasant and truly made us feel welcome. Our room was larger than many European three star hotels and had plenty of areas to store luggage and charge cell phones or lap tops. The bath was not large but very well designed and more than adequate.

The now famous breakfast buffett at Hotel Berna deserves all the superlatives. What a wonderful treat to start your day with a selection of breakfast items to please guests from most any country. The tables were brimming with egg dishes, cold cuts, a selection of cheeses and pastries. A full table was deticated to fresh and mixed fruit. The coffee was great but you can also request specialty coffee such as expresso from one of many attendants. And there were many attendants, all with a smile and a willingness to assist. If you arrive before the breakfast opens at 7:00 am, there is coffee and pastries in the study just to the left of the reception desk starting as ealy as 6:00 am.

In the evening there is an aperitif hour (maybe two or three hours) in the bar/lounge in the same area as the breakfast room. The aperitif is apparently a Milan tradition much like the Spanish tapas. For the cost of a drink they offer a number of tapas style items free. It was a great way to relax at the end of the day before the evening meal. One evening we were so tired from walking Milan we had two drinks each and made the aperitifs our meal. The gentleman that hosted the bar area was very friendly and helpful. Just another reason to stay at Hotel Berna.

The hotel was located just a short walk from Milan's main train station which is also the arrival station one of the trains from the Malpensa Airport. With a mapquest map in hand, there is no need for a cab. Just two blocks from the hotel is a metro station for the underground trip to the historic part of town. Only three block away is a pick up site for the hop on hop off bus. I know many people shun this touristy transportation but for only 18 euros for 48 hours it's a great way to orient yourself to the city and at times use it as transport to the next historic site.

Overall I'd rank this hotel experience as one of our very best hotel experiences in Europe and the main reason is the staff. Management appears to select excellent personnel and then make sure they make the hotel guests the number one priority. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travDbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed in a triple room for one night. The hotel is conveniently located close to the train/metro and airport bus - about 10 minutes walk. The room is nicely decorated and is decent size. The WiFi is super fast and they even provide a recharge station with built-in electrical outlet adapters!

The bathroom has a large tub with jacuzzi and 2 shower heads. The beds are comfortable and the free minibar is stocked with plenty of non-alcoholic drinks. The staff was super friendly and courteous.

Even though I've read so much about their legendary breakfast from different reviewers, I was still amazed by the different varieties that they offer. It seems they were trying to outdo themselves by putting out so much food that the serving tables almost could not accommodate them all. The only drawback is that breakfast starts at 7:00am. We had to catch an airport bus at 7:30am so we really had to hurry up to finish our breakfast. I saw many others in the same situation and I hope they would start the breakfast earlier, maybe at 6:30am. All in all it was a really nice stay and I wish we could've stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djc2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I enjoyed Hotel Berna. Room is clean, new and well-equiped (but small) and service was really good and suportive - it seems that they do care about the guests. Localization is good (although it is not close to the main tourist attractions of Milan), since it is close to the subway or the tram. The breakfast offers many options of good food. WiFi free is another good quality of the hotel. The negative aspect is the parking cost of the hotel - EUR 30/24 hours is too much! I will stay at Hotel Berna again if we travel to Milan in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

1. Location: 5 min walk from Terminal Station
2. Room: comfortable and cozy, neither too hard or soft
3. Breakfast: abundant and delicious, cakes, hot drinks, fruits, the most abudant breakfast have ever had in Europe
4. Service: (Best part)
1) introduction for hotel facility, WIFI, city visit (metro, etc.), weather forecast, so useful
2) free mini bar, updated every day
3) staff always great help, like once i used a blanket, the next night, the banklet has been carefully packed in sheet above my quilt, to make me sleep more comfortably with two covers above
4) free use of printer

Room Tip: Not choose the room near to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Though we stayed only 2 nights, the Hotel Berna fit all our needs: close to the train station and metro stop, clean, comfortable, extremely accommodating by all staff members, and an excellent selection and quality of breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cece562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
689 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#72 of 428 in Milan
2,745 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 428 in Milan
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#37 of 428 in Milan
1,905 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
nhow Milano
#28 of 428 in Milan
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £83 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing