We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left with a good feeling although a couple of shortcomings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #15 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Left with a good feeling although a couple of shortcomings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

I chose Hotel Berna because of its rating here. Most of the things are true.

The staff is very friendly, though not always looking for a solution. They would answer you with a smile, but the chance is small they would (try to) fix it for you. The bartender Max is an exception! He would try to help you with anything.

The breakfast is great. The only better breakfast in Europe I've seen was in Hilton in Vienna.

The location is also very convenient and the neighborhood is not dodgy at all, but perfectly fine.

The hotel itself is overrated. It's old, the rooms are small and the bed was very hard. It's also quite noisy, especially close to the elevators.

Thanks to the good breakfast, the polite staff and the fact we did not stay a lot in the room, I would still rate the hotel satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelling73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Lovetravelling73

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. Guest feedback is how we learn and hopefully improve upon our services.

I’m a bit saddened to read that you found the hotel to be overrated. We realize that, being rated between the first hotels in Milan, expectations may run too high and it becomes more and more difficult to surprise and satisfy our beloved guests.

With regard to your room, we invest a lot and renovate every year many of our rooms in order to serve better our customers.

We offer 6 different room categories which vary in size, furniture, upholstery and amenities. Standard, Standard Plus and Comfort are for single occupancy only; Comfort double, Quality double and Superior are for double sole use or double occupancy. We wish you would have reported your dissatisfaction with your room to the Reception Staff and we could have shown you – for just a small supplement – some of our better categories.

We are indeed very glad you appreciated our location, which makes us a perfect base for visiting Milan, as well as our buffet breakfast, the perfect way to start the day with joy and energy.

But in particular we are very grateful for your comment and appreciations on our hospitality and friendly service, even though you felt our Staff as not always having a “problem solving” attitude. Our top priority is to make all our guests feeling welcome and appreciated from the very first moment they pass through our doors and throughout their stay. We are proud of our Staff. At the same time we know there are areas where we can always improve and it seems, the majority of our guests appreciate our continuous efforts to improve day by day the quality of our customer service.

Please give us another chance to show you we are value for money.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,135
    1,686
    278
    74
    38
See reviews for
1,064
2,656
680
792
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

My only regret in staying at Hotel Berna is that it was only for one night. The location is within walking distance of Milan Centrale train station, even with a piece of roller luggage. The experience really was the defintion of outstanding customer service. From the moment we entered the lobby and put in the capable hands of the night desk clerk, to the bellman walking us across the street to the other building associated with the hotel, to the bar attendent making us a complimentary welcome drink, we could not have asked for a better experience.

The rooms are well-designed and items in the mini-bar are complimentary as well. The breakfast buffet rivals anything that I have seen at the 5 staf hotels in Europe.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and will be looking to see if they have an sister hotels in other cities. Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oklahomagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

On our journey by train down to Rome, we stayed for two nights at the Berna Hotel. There were four of us (two, 50 plus couples). All the staff, were so helpful and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was of a very high standard and there was plenty to choose from.
One of the best hotels, we've stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newberryfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

I had booked out early from the Hotel Manin in Milan because I was really let down by the spartan and disinterested service. So - you can imagine how pleased i was when I was greeted warmly by the staff at the Hotel Berna, immediately being given a city map, an outline of where we were and a full explanation of hotel services. (none of which I got at the Hotel Manin)
This outstanding 4 star hotel provides complimentary snacks in the lounges, provides wifi free, gives all soft drinks in your mini bar - free, and your very own Italian Nonna rubber duckie to take home for your own bath!
Breakfast was a hugely-varied, well-presented buffet, with lots of places to sit .
Thank you to all staff and management! I will be back.

Room Tip: Tower rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel gave us a small but well appointed room in their tower (hotel has 2 parts to it one across the road from the other). It was quite and security was good. The hotel is well positioned to train and metro but a fair walking distance from the major shopping and tourist attractions. The staff very good and helpful and efficient. Communication before and after check in was excellent. Breakfast very good (music was a little load and somewhat intrusive) and variety comprehensive. I will use if again when in Milan.

Helpful?
Thank Asterix2903
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

This was my second stay at the Hotel Berna and I find it a very comfortable and nice place to stay. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The room was large by European standards, well lighted and immaculately clean. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was more than ample and the service was very good. In the afternoon the bar serves a nice wine and snacks for 5 Euros. Other times of the day there is a place where you can self serve coffee. The location is near the train and metro for easy access to down town, tourist sights and the airport. I enjoy the Berna Hotel and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located to your left as you face the front desk. These rooms have better lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat-in-Rancho-Mirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife stay here for 2 nights. This is a nice hotel and is close to train and subway station. Breakfast is great. We took hotel staff's recommendation and had dinner at the Mamma Rosa restaurant, the risotto is great!

Only negative thing is the shower, I think it's too small for a 4 star hotel but maybe this is the italian style. And the hot water comes very slow.

Helpful?
Thank tomic31
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#152 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#14 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing