We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Berna
Nearby Hotels
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chateau Monfort(Milan)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Yard Hotel(Milan)
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Milan(Milan)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo(Milan)(Great Value!)
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (7,004)
Filter reviews
7,004 results
Traveller rating
4,746
1,843
298
79
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,746
1,843
298
79
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationrubber duckcarrot juicethe main hotelmini barfree soft drinksbreakfast buffetexcellent hotelfree wifiroom temperaturemilano centralesuperior roomtea and coffeeminute walkmalpensa airportsingle roomvisit milan
Filter
Updating list...
2,897 - 2,902 of 7,004 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Just spent a long weekend at this hotel. Close to central station, easy to find. Superb, helpful friendly staff, just ask 'Max' if you want to know anything about the area. His suggestions for eateries was spot on. Room sizes comparable with any major european city were kept spotlessly clean and tidy by staff. Definitely intend to return.

Room Tip: Updated rooms have bigger bathrooms, older style rooms have bigger bedroom
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tedshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We arrived early at this hotel and decided to have a breakfast while we were waiting for our room. Breakfast selection was good with many choices. Cost 12euro per person. 20 mins later we got our room, it was located at a building right across from the hotel. Very nice building and we had a good size and very clear room. So close to the train and metro stations. Staffs were very helpful too.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloebebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

The hotel was exceptionally clean (and I am one of the fussiest people in the world!), the staff were absolutely lovely (friendly without being overbearing) and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was nicely decorated and had lots of complimentary items for us to eat/drink/use which was great. The hotel was right near to the train station which was exactly where we wanted to be.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would most certainly stay there again if we go to Milan again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariewarrington007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We weren't expecting touristic thrills from Milan, we planned our visit around seeing the "Last Supper". We were in for a lovely surprise, from the inviting Milan airport to a thriving clean city that had trains that ran on time, to much more to see than we had planned time for. We will be back, and we will stay at Hotel Berne again. We stayed in the building across the street, the room was not big (who cares), but very clean and modern. After a long flight from the states, the crisp linens were inviting-as was the requested water and robe. The location is perfect for the metro and train station. We had dinner at a lovely local family restaurant that Berne recommended. The free internet and coffee helped us get what we needed catching up on the news about the hurricane at home.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room across the street and facing away from the street.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dingeldangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Nearly everything the past reviewers said was true of this hotel. The MOST TRUE detail I will remember is how small the rooms are. They are very very very tiny, even by NY standards. But like everyone says, this must be the standard in Milan. Also the excellent breakfast selection and the hospitality are very true.

We stayed in a "Superior" room which was a free upgrade that comes with the "Lovers in Milan" special package (if available). This room was located in the "new" building across the street and is certainly higher standard than the main (old) building (we saw both). We also took advantage of the late check-out included in our package, because of our late afternoon flight.

It is a slight inconvenience to be across the street from the breakfast room but only a little. Note the breakfast room can get overcrowded during peak times, and access to some tables is blocked by others getting their breakfast. Best to go before 9am or after 10:30am to avoid the crowds. The breakfast selection is excellent and well varied.

We were only here two nights so being in such a small room was not so bad for us, however for a couple with any luggage it is a logistical nightmare packing for a long trip home. There really is literally no room to move, and we had to climb over each other constantly. (we are average-small people)

Being so close to the train station we thought we could actually walk to the station and catch the express to Malpensa airport. It worked out beautifully; being so close we got there quicker than expected and actually caught an earlier train than planned, so we had more time to navigate the Airport. The hotel really is close enough to the train station to walk, even with luggage, (silly to take a cab just around the corner), and the Malpensa Express was nice and new, very affordable, and well worth it.

Overall it's a good hotel in a good location, surrounded by many restaurants and prefect for short stays. From my research the room rates are usually good, although we actually paid about twice the amount for our room because of the particular days we were there. So my advice is to book early and make sure you're getting an affordable rate - which fluctuates dramatically from one day to the next.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to a single friend for a short stay (less than 1 week). Couples may want to pay a little more for a larger room elsewhere if staying more than a night. The shower is smaller than some phone booths, and we constantly hit our elbows while showering. This caused the door to pop open every time, which opens inwards, therefore restricting the space even further and causing more banging! I have to say showering here was not a pleasure - but then you don't spend the day in the shower do you.

One item to mention... we choose the "room customisation" option and requested certain pillows and room temperature. The pillows were much appreciated, and housekeeping made a little arrangement out of chocolates which was really cute - but the room temperature was unbearable on arrival. We requested for 22 degrees, and this was in winter. However, when we opened the door we were met with a blast of hot air about 30 degrees and began sweating immediately. We had to quickly switch off the air conditioning system and open the window but it took about 20 minutes to cool off. The windows do not open well because they interfere with the curtains and also block the passage (we both hit our head on the open windows more than once trying to pass). Moreover, all kinds of bugs and mosquitoes came in, and we had to keep up an application of bug spray and mosquito mats throughout our stay. Perhaps if the owner could install nets on the windows it would solve that problem.

A final word of advice for those choosing the Lover's package that comes with a bottle of Prosecco in the room - you should specify when you want the bottle in the room or it may never come. No one will ask you about it and it will not be delivered unless you ask. Best to be specific when you make the booking - if you want it in the room already when you check-in (it's not automatic).

This goes for the "welcome cocktail" as well - don't assume it's any drink you want - the bartender will give you something specific - you don't choose your drinks. But DO take advantage of the cocktail and the excellent complimentary tapas on display during "happy hour".

Overall our room was clean and "new" and our stay was a welcoming experience.

Room Tip: Book early and choose preferred dates to get the best rates. Remember to be extremely specific about every request, particularly if it is something "included" in you package. Have breakfast outside of 9am-10am to avoid the overcrowded room. Be prepared for a tight squeeze in the shower. Rooms in the "new" building are decidedly better. Take advantage of complimentary tapas at the bar.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSC0TTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews