We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. It was my first time to Milan and I chose this hotel based on reviews on TA reviews. Location is great: metro, train station and tour bus drop-off stop all within 5 minutes’ walk. Room is small but clean and quiet. The rate I got from the hotel website included breakfast, wifi, and minibar. They also have a lounge where you can get complimentary beverages and snacks anytime. Some amenities don’t come automatically with your room – toiletries and slippers for example (only shampoo and liquid soap set up in the bathroom), however can be provided upon request. Staff are efficient and friendly. Important things for me were location, cleanliness, and free wifi and for what I paid, it was a fantastic value.

Room Tip: Remember rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,345
    1,743
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,108
2,802
714
809
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The difference between an average hotel and a good hotel is attention to detail. That's why this hotel gets such positive comments - it's very well-run and they make sure that everything is maintained properly. So all the little things that often go wrong elsewhere are perfect here. The shower works, the air-con works, the wi-fi works, the mini-bar is kept stocked, there's always someone on the desk etc.

My room was small but comfortable, and seemed well sound-proofed so I got a good sleep every night. The hotel supplies 'free' biscuits, cakes, tea/coffee and soft drinks in the rooms. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet spread, and though busy there always seemed to be a spare table or two.

One possible drawback is the lack of a restaurant (although there is a pricey room service menu). However there are twenty to thirty eating places within 5 mins walk, they all looked fine and reasonable value. The ones I tried and was happy with were:
Pianeta Luna - self-service but very good quality food - turn right on leaving hotel, right again at the Atlantic Hotel.
La Baita - friendly, traditional trattoria - go past Pianeta Luna, turn right and cross road.
Pizzeria Fashion - not just pizza, has a full menu and good value - turn right on leaving hotel, 100 yards on right.

The location is fine - very close to Milano Centrale train station (5 mins walk). If you're arriving at Malpensa on EasyJet, the direct shuttle bus is quicker than the train (the train only goes to the main airport terminal, not the EasyJet one). You can get the metro from Centrale to the city centre in under 10mins - or it's a pleasant walk of 30-40mins, felt safe even after dark.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dohfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Chose this hotel for a final nights stay after getting back to Milan from Verona. Is five minutes walk from the central train station, convenient obviously for trains and the metro (a few stops to Duomo) but also for the airport shuttle buses to Malpensa. A very friendly welcome at check-in, good size room with free mini-bar for soft drinks and nice buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramborao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is an excellent hotel, staff are friendly and really helpful. It is brilliantly situated within a few minutes walk of the central station and two metro lines. Hotel took great care in making our stay memorable and the real bonus was an excellent breakfast buffet, great variety, quality and freshly prepared. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I will certainly stay here on my next visit.

Room Tip: Room 102 by the lift and stairs, can be a bit noisy and while it did not bother us others might want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on tripadvisor and its proximity to the main train station, and were not disappointed. We only stayed here for one night while transiting through Milan. The hotel is located an easy 5 minute walk from the central station on a very quite street. The staff were very friendly, professional, and gave us a list of some of the must see things to do, when you only have one afternoon. We had a room in the part of the hotel across the street from the main building. The room was a bit on the small side, but spotless and comfortable. The free non alcoholic minibar was a nice surprise. The breakfast was great with a huge selection. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlo-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis mo
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We selected this hotel because it was close to the Central Train station, since we originally were going to travel by rail. We decided to fly between cities and the proximity to the train station was good because the best reasonable transportation between MXP airport and the city is the shuttle bus that stops at the station. This is a typical European business hotel. Rooms rather small but has good beds, sound proof windows and doors and small but sufficient bathroom. There is a marvelous breakfast included in the rate. The pictures don’t do it justice. The mini bar in the room (non-alcoholic) is also free with the room. The Metro stop is just a half block away and the train station for the bus is an easy 10 minute walk. The hotel fit our needs very well. The staff was helpful for our transportation and restaurant needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnmjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This is a gem of a hotel very close to the Stazione Centrale station (4 stops to the Duomo), and within walking distance of the shops at Corso Buenos Aires. This was my 2nd visit, and it was just as good as the first! Staff are very friendly, service is top notch (you can even choose what they put in your free mini-bar and customise the settings for your room on-line before you arrive), and the breakfast selections are great.
I'm definitely coming back here the next time I'm in Milan!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#159 of 428 in Milan
6,164 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
642 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
807 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing