We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #11 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We booked 4 nights in this hotel and it was really nice. The location is excellent, the staff of the hotel were very polite and helped us for anything we needed. The room was very comfortable and clean as well. We reccommend this hotel for couples and families

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,697 - 2,703 of 6,747 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

We spent 5 nights here to conclude a month of travelling through Italy, and we found the hotel's efforts to make our visit enjoyable to be unmatched in our experience. Other travellers we met staying at famous name hotels nearby had nowhere near as good an experience. We were upgraded to a Superior room in the building across the road which was very comfortable and had tea/coffee facilities. We were amazed at the generous hotel facilities: easy access to computers/printing; great breakfast /happy hour /tea & coffee lounges/ free mini bar; helpful desk services & advice. The location is great for walking into town or accessing transport (there's an airport shuttle), with better value shopping than the centre, and nice food options. (Try La Buca.) The Berna achieves a great antidote to the usual bland hotel experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Hotel Berna is comfortable place to stay. Their employees makes you feel very welcome guest. The great advantage is that rooms are very quiet, which is important when you want to rest (the noises of the other guests or shower in the next room at 5 a.m. will not disturb you). Rooms are nice and clean but the bathroom was rather small.
We was nice surprised finding the personal note which was left on our bed - it was short message from the person who prepared room for us and wishes of the excellent stay in Milan :)

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Magdalena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a big family group. Having stayed in many hotels over the years it was refreshing to find somewhere that was committed to their quality of service. The staff always greeted everyone with a smile and had the approach that nothing was too much trouble. The buffet breakfast was magnificent. The only improvement I could see is if the rooms were to have tea/coffee making facilities (they do have an area adjoining the foyer with tea/coffee but would be more comfortable in your room). If I ever returned to Milan again I wouldn't hesitate to book Hotel Berna.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sigr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

A clasical hotel in a great location in milan.
Old fashioned very big rooms and clean enough.
Nice breakfast and staff that can help you and give you advices for sightseeing.
its only 400 metres from the central railstation.
With metro you can be in heart of milan in a few minutes 4 stops to duomo.
Great value for money if you find it between 80 to 120€.

Room Tip: a few metro stops from duomo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Hotel Berna is the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Their commitment to make their guests feel welcome is amazing! You feel special and very welcome. They went out of their way to make it possible for us to view the English channels (even offered us another room). We appreciated the personal touches like the welcoming note on our bed (addressed to us personally), the biscuits and chocolates, free tea and coffee with snacks throughout the day and even complimentary cold drinks in the fridge. Even after we checked out and were waiting in the lobby for our transport, we were provided with bottled water for our journey. Superb service! The rooms are spacious, luxurious and very comfortable. We were three adults sharing a room and it was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast is out of this world! The quality and variety are excellent, as is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff who are on duty during breakfast. Actually, every single member of staff: from reception, management through to housekeeping, went out of their way to greet you with a smile and make your stay at Hotel Berna a holiday on its own. If I could have given 12 out of 10, I would have!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_lover350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I stayed here for two different nights, one night on my way to Venice and the other night on the return. Both times I was impressed by the staff, hotel location, and value. I would definitely not call either one of our rooms "dated". If anything, the room on the second stay had definitely
been recently updated.
We arrived early on the morning of our first stay. Our room was not ready and we were invited to have some breakfast while we waited. The breakfast buffet is extensive and there is no shortage of waitstaff. Around 11 AM we were shown to our room. We had received a complementary upgrade to accommodate our early arrival. The room was average size by American standards but generously sized by European standards. The room was clean and very well appointed with slippers, towel warmer, bathrobes, and the usual toiletries. One nice feature was that it was not necessary to use the room key to turn on the electricity.
We arrived after midnight on our second night. We were given a different room in another section of the hotel. This room was just as large with as many creature comforts.
During both stays the staff at the desk and restaurant went out of their way to be friendly and courteous.
The hotel location is also excellent for travel to and from Milan. The airport express bus line ends at the Central Train Station, approximately 2 blocks from the hotel. The metro is 1/2 block away and the Duomo a few short stops without having to change train lines. A bank to exchange money is also 1/2 block away. I can't comment about restaurants since we didn't eat near the hotel.
I would definitely stay here again given the location, stay experience, and dollar value.

Room Tip: try to get the newer rooms accessed from the elevator in the front lobby. Be prepared that there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dridr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
682 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#40 of 428 in Milan
1,893 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#73 of 428 in Milan
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Lancaster Hotel
#22 of 428 in Milan
852 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 428 in Milan
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £88 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing