We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Accomodations, helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #11 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We came into Milan Central Station on the train from Venice. Ask for directions before you leave the train station. If you are pointed to the right exit, you are only a block or so from the Hotel Berna. The hotel is very close to the subway, so it is very easy to get to the Duomo, The Last Supper, and other attractions. The front desk is very helpful. They will help you find anyplace you want. There is bottled water and pop included in the minifridge, and it is replenished daily. Check out the bar. There is a small buffet at no charge during certain hours. It was not crowded and a nice touch. The hotel will hold your bags if you have a late train or flight. You can catch an inexpensive shuttle to the Malpensa airport outside the train station. Very helpful staff. Clean hotel. We were able to print boarding passes at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,689 - 2,695 of 6,747 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

I've now stayed at Hotel Berna a couple of times and both times have been an excellent experience. The location is very central, only 10min from Milano Centrale train station, and easy access to I'll Duomo, Castello and Milan's other attraction's. The staff as superb, friendly and always happy to help. And finally they serve a breakfast, included in price, that is the best in any hotel I have stayed in.

Room Tip: First time room faced court yard and seemed a little bigger than the last room I was given, but am n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DomSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed at Hotel Berna our last night in Milan to take advantage of the location, steps away from Stazione Centrale, since we had an early train to catch the following morning. The location worked out perfectly, with easy access to the train station and associated Metro stop.

The rooms were nice but not particularly noteworthy, typical of a good quality city hotel. The one minor issue we had was that the room was very warm and we had to leave the window open (in February), with associated street noise, to keep it comfortable.

What separates Hotel Berna is the service. The staff went the extra step to anticipate our needs. For example, when I mentioned that we would be checking out very early the next morning (before the start of breakfast service) they offered to provide boxed breakfasts for us to take with us. This saved us time and trouble the next day and was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

An excellent and cozy hotel with a personal touch. Far from the mainstream sterile business establishments. The rooms are nicely furnished with very comfortable beds. The complimentary drinks(non-alcoholic) in the minibar is an example of a generosity that you seldom meet in other hotels. The breakfast is very good, with a varied selection that's seldom seen in the Mediterranean countries including an excellent choice of fresh fruit. To make it even better some more fresh vegetables like tomatoes and cucumber could be added. The bar is a pleasant place to spend some time in with tasty complementary nibbles coming with the drinks. The Dry Martini is perfect as a dream.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Very good site close to Milano Centrale where you can find metro, railway, taxi and buses to everywhere in Milan and Europe. The staff are cooperative and smiley always. They take care of little details that feeling comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mansour B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed at Hotel Berna for one night passing back through Milan on the advice of a friend who had stayed there (we stayed 3 nights previously at Porta Garibaldi B&B - which was divine, but we wanted something close to the station just for 1 night). Berna is really excellent - lovely big rooms, very good and friendly service (desk tried very hard to get us tickets to La Boheme at La Scala), the buffet breakfast is outstanding, there are also complimentary nibbles and cakes in the lounge in the pm, and the location is perfect - a short walk from the main station and the metro to get into the centre of town. The walk to the Duomo is only about 20 - 30 minutes, through beautiful Milan. There are a few reasonable restaurants v close by, including one called 'Fashion; (I think) where we had possibly the best pizza I've ever had. The whole feel is quite classy but the cost was very reasonable. I would stay there again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyJune2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Buffet breakfast was out of this world, and we even had cream caramel, along with great pastries , Just not enough time Karl

Thank karl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
682 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#40 of 428 in Milan
1,893 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#73 of 428 in Milan
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Lancaster Hotel
#22 of 428 in Milan
852 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 428 in Milan
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £88 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing