We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“flyingsinger”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“flyingsinger”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel in Milan due to the positive reviews on tripadvisor. The location is handy to the Centrale train station as well as the metro making it an easy trip for anywhere you want to go in Milan. Our room was clean and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the free mini-bar and that we were able to make our selections via internet before our arrival. You are even given the choice of pillow and temperature for your room. Our newspapers arrived daily so my husband could ready before breakfast. The breakfast buffet offered numerous choices and the service was good. The service given us from check in to check out was outstanding. I would return again if in Milan. We even received a bottle of water as we left for the train station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,292
    1,731
    281
    77
    38
See reviews for
1,089
2,774
705
806
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Walking to the hotel from the station and into the reception of this hotel, I was pretty sure I was going to be disappointed with the experience... But I have to say that I was very pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the newer building across the street from the reception. The service was great, the room was very good- spacious, clean and comfortable- and the hotel amenities were great. Free wifi and the breakfast was included. The breakfast was actually very good with eggs/ meats and the juicer to make your own fresh carrot juice was a pleasant surprise. The only issue might have been the location if I was visiting milan for a longer period... For reference, A taxi ride to the duomo was 10 euros. For our specific purpose of overnight stay between train rides, the hotel and location were perfect and I would not hesitate to stay there again...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meechan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed here for 2 nites, room # 302, facing the back and also near the elevator but still a very quiet room. the breakfast was very good. hard boiled eggs, sliced fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, all the sweets, etc..the room and toilet were very clean and very comfy bed. I slept soundly. The free water, sodas are bonus, free computer to use. near the train station. My only small complaint was the guy (maybe he is new) gave me a wrong answer. I wanted to make a collect call to US credit card company from my room, and the younger guy in front desk told me "I can't place a collect call from my room or anywhere else in Milan, just when he was in the States, too He was not able to call out. It does not work that way. and he insisted. So I went down and talk to the older guy and soon I found out the young guy was helpless, but the older guy was able to help me and he even dialed out for me from the front desk and was forwarded to my room.

Would I come recommend it, yes.

Room Tip: room 301, or facing back is quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petfriendly_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Followed everyone else's advice and booked Hotel Berna in Milan and was not disappointed. It is located very close to the train station and even closer to the metro stop. The breakfasts were wonderful, offering a selection of pastries, juices, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, sliced meats, hot entrees (e.g. frittata, couscous, potato/vegetable hash, scrambled eggs, bacon), hot chocolate, various coffees, etc. The staff was also very nice and helpful and the room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lm2hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great hotel if your visiting Milan. Nearest metro only 2 . mins walk and then only 5 stops to Duomo., La Scala etc. But back to the hotel. Stayed with friends - 6 in all and each of us found the experience the same - fantastic. Rooms a little small but spotlessly clean & very comfortable. But for us its the service that really stands out, from the receptionists to the waiting staff , all of them extremely helpful. Our breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of fruit , breads, cold meats, cheese, juices, anything you could want and all included in a great price for B&B. Well done to all at Hotel Berna. As they say 'We'll be back' . PS. Don't forget to get barman Max to make one of his brilliant cocktails after a long day sightseeing!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have just returned from a 19 day trip to Italy and Barcelona. Of all the hotels visited, Hotel Berna in Milan was the best. The room was clean and comfortable. The amenities were tops. Have you ever stayed in a hotel that says that everything in the mini-fridge (except alcohol) is free?!! And the breakfast was A+. The location is close to the train station which made it easy for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Excellent choice! Short walk to central station. We stayed two separate nights. One room was dated yet felt surprisingly retro. Second stay on 1st floor, room very modern. Free soft drinks in mini bar a real treat and breakfast was superb, extensive choice & even a juicer to use. Overall very impressive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trudybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 428 in Milan
1,756 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#159 of 428 in Milan
6,113 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
606 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing