We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not badly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“not badly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nice hotel, comfortable numbers, fine linen and mattress. In total for comfortable rest after city and shopping survey))) However, I want to notice that in number bad sound insulation. I woke up at night from noise of throwing-up water, thought that problems from my bathroom, it appeared, it above used a toilet. As conversations and calls are audible. My number settled down on the first floor and was audible as people go by my windows. Blinds couldn't be opened too. The personnel a reception isn't too qualified, however is kind. The area where the hotel unpleasant settles down is an area near the station, there around there are a lot of bums and in the evening I didn't feel on streets in safety. Here it is worth stopping if you travel by train. despite my request for the early settlement the hotel didn't consider it possible (5 more hours were unpleasant after a trip by train to wait for settling though they and keep your things in a left-luggage office) the Breakfast is fine. Convenient function of the order of additional pillows, blankets and another. I consider the price for accommodation in this hotel overestimated.

Room Tip: choose not the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,078
    1,674
    276
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,049
2,632
671
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Comfortable hotel with great service. For a moment we were disappointed by a signboard. But thank God it was first and last disappointment. After booking we customized our stay (from temperature to pillows) and everything was done when we arrived. Check-in and check-out – not more that 5 minutes. The great room when the space is used very wisely. Rich breakfast, where even a tasty carrot fresh juice was available, complimentary minibar.
Location is very comfortable: Central Railway station, shuttles to airports, underground are just around the corner. We highly recommend this hotel to stay in Milan, and many thanks all the stuff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryna2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel Berna, Milan, in June this year. We were recommended to this hotel via our friend. As a family we took two rooms. While the rooms were not large, they had everything we needed and were very clean. Beds were comfortable. Fridge contents complimentary and car parking across the road. The location is very central, close to central station and the metro station. The best thing about the hotel however, was its helpful and friendly staff and the great breakfast....one of the best during our stay in Italy. Thanks very much Hotel Berna. We will come and stay again if ever in Milan. Sorry this review is so late...we shifted countries from China to New Zealand in July and I have, only now, got the time to do all my reviews!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZFamilyTravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipur
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very close to Milan Centrale. They respond very quickly to e mails .Excellent breakfast. Very clean room and bathroom free minibar.Staff is cheerful.. Were kind enough to store our baggage for 4 nights till we returned for another 3 nights. Totally stayed 6 nights here .Now the not so good points- The bathroom is really tiny.Even the 3 star hotels we stayed in Paris and Venice had bigger bathrooms. Window is not sound proofed.Street noise is disturbing.. The ac stopped working . On complaining someone came fiddled with the switches and said their technician is away and to open the window if feeling hot! We woke up sweating in the night and opened the windows. only to be bitten by mosquitoes. The next day complained again. They installed a portable ac in the room but had to leave the window open for this . So room was cool but got bitten by mosquitoes again. Well before checking into the hotel had asked them if they could give us a late check out,since we were checking in twice at night after 9pm and checking out early by 8am. They mailed me offering a 1pm check out. However on the day of the check out the person at the front desk very rudely told me that they had made no such offer that if we stayed beyond 11am would have to pay for half the day.So then I had to sit at the computer and take a print out of the letter and show it to him. Very reluctantly he said this was an"error" made by his colleague but he would honour it.. Did not even bother to apologize for implying we were lying. Checked out by 12.30.

Room Tip: Try a higher floor, Traffic noise even on 3rd floor due to poor sound proofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kumarjaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brokind
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is very close to the central station and the Metro system. The area also seems very safe. Very nice staff that gave us good advice on how to get around in Milan. Excellent breakfast with a very large selection of local and international dishes. Nice touch with a small unexpected gift to take home and free soft drinks and water in the room minibar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night because it was close to the Milan Centrale train station. (We arrived in Milan by train and planned to take the Malpensa Express to the airport.) We found the hotel staff polite and welcoming and were lucky enough to be given a room upgrade. Free non- alcoholic drinks were available in the small fridge and the buffet breakfast was of a high standard with an array of hot and cold food choices. As our flights left Milan at 10.30pm, we were able to store our bags at the hotel and go sightseeing for the day. I'd recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiegoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Excellent location outside of duomo area but very near to the train station and Metro. Bought a 2 day Metro pass for 8 euros good for any public transport. Modern, clean rooms with excellent bathroom amenities and wonderful rain shower. Every single staff member we encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. Made us feel so welcome. Refrigerator in room stocked with free drinks. Excellent WiFi throughout hotel. Breakfast was awesome with nice selection for every diet. Bedding plush and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel for visitors to MIlan.

Only downside was A/C turned off in early Oct. so room got quite stuffy at night. Finally asked for a portable fan on our last night.

Room Tip: 5th floor nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aneckc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing