We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #11 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

. I was here with my wife and this is the best hotel that we have stayed in.Perfect location just 5 minutes walk from the airport bus, 50 meters to the subwayb and a couple of nice restuarants in walking distans. The room was very fresh, clean and well equiped. The breakfast was superb with everything that you could wish for. If you didn't found it on the bufe tha staff were willing to help you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pontus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 6,681 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. We stayed in the building across the street, very quiet. Hotel is well situated just a short walk from the train station , about 20- 25 min. from the Duomo and fashion shopping. The breakfast was great, lots of choice. What makes this hotel really stand out is the quality of the staff. So helpful in every way, friendly, could not seem to do enough to make it a pleasant stay. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Enroute to Venice we spent one night in Milan at Hotel Berna and did the same thing on return from Venice. It is situated an easy 10 minute walk from the railway station and that is with large suitcases. The staff at reception are helpful and luggage storage while we were in Venice was not a problem. The rooms are small but comfortable although there was noise transmission from room to room. Delicious nibbles from the bar were an unexpected surprise as was a wonderful breakfast that was included in the price. We are keen walkers and thoroughly enjoyed our walk/shop to the Duomo, La Scala area the following morning. To quickly return to our hotel by metro was very simple.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Hotel Bernard is very convenient to the Milan Centrale Rail station, and on first appearances looks like any other. However, the small details makes this hotel better than most. You can pre-check in, where they ask how you would like your room - bed type, pillow types. The non alcoholic drinks in the mini bar are free of charge. The breakfast is the best buffet we've had. And the recommendation for dinner at Mamma Rosa was just what we wanted as we had checked in fairly late after a long train trip, and wanted somewhere close with typical Milanese food.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again if in Milan, especially if coming by train.

Room Tip: Watch out, some rooms have a few steps in the corridors to navigate your bags up and down. The showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We found the Hotel Berna on Trip Advisor. The reviews were good,so we gave it a try. This trip was a combination business and pleasure. Aside from one night in Milano about 30 years ago, this is my first visit to the area for any period of time.

The hotel is about 45 minutes drive from Malpensa airport, and easy to find with directions from Google Maps on a mobile phone. An easy 2 minute walk to the Stazione Centrale Metro stop - it's convenient to get anywhere in the city from the hotel.

It's apparent from the first moment at the hotel that they really have it 'together'. We were greeted by Andrea at the front desk. He's very personable, and his English is far superior to my rudimentary Italian. Andrea was a great help all throughout our five night stay, suggested three really good restaurants all within walking distance (Oserteria Fara, Mama Rosa and Settembrini 18).

We had a 'superior double room' and it was, modern, 'cool looking' and sparking clean. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was large enough where we never felt cramped. The WiFi worked without issues. The temperature and humidity, even in November, it would have been nice to have the AirCon functioning. Without the window open it did get pretty stuffy in the room.

Breakfast features a decent variety including croissants, bread (toasted = yummy), yogurt, eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, very good coffee, and more. On a 1-10 scale, I'd give it a 6.5. It's good, but not remarkable. Some of the offerings change daily, where others are the same every day. The scrambled eggs are, let's say, quite soft, and the bacon is about the same. Some of the side dishes, while prepared hot, they are not kept hot and would be oh, so much better if hot. The staff at breakfast is friendly and accommodating.

Would we stay here again? Definitely.

Room Tip: Check out the special package offers link to the Hotel's site on Trip Advisor, rather than booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The location is very convenient, just two blocks from the main train station. The area immediately around the hotel seems relatively safe. My room was small (twin bed) but nicely furnished, and included a complimentary wet bar (soda drinks, juice and water) and a satellite television with a handful of English speaking channels. The bathroom was good-sized and well appointed. Everything was very clean. There was no interior noise. The front desk staff were very helpful. I thought the rates were reasonable for a room of this quality in the Milan market. My only complaint was that the room was very warm (notwithstanding this was late October) even with the heat turned off. It was more comfortable with the window open but then you could hear noise from the street throughout the night. But all in all, I would recommend this to anyone on a moderate budget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GorillaCousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Due to our travel schedule we had to split a 2 night Milan stay with a week break in between. After barely surviving Milan city driving to return a rental car, we approached the hotel entrance, Johan the bellman greeted us with "Welcome Back, so happy to see you again so soon" and hugs all around. Since it was too early to check into our room he whisked our bags into storage and the front desk offered us a cappuccino to relax. That welcome made our holiday! The room was wonderful and the location ideal for our needs but the staff is the real reason that this gets my highest rating. They have a real gem in Johan!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#165 of 428 in Milan
6,358 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#76 of 428 in Milan
2,691 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#40 of 428 in Milan
1,871 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £105 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing