We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Annecy, France
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Overall a very nice stay here. Friendly service except for an elderly man in the reception in the morning. Small but clean rooms. Quiet during the night (We had a room away from the street) We parked our car and was told to just ask for it 5 minutes before we needed it! It took 30 minutes in the morning, so plan ahead if you have an appointment. We walked just outside the hotel and got breakfast in a small cafe down at the roundabout. Ended up paying 21 euros for 2 coffee, 2 croissants, and 2 orange juices! Hm, maybe we should just have stayed in the hotel...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartiflette0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,392
    1,756
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,120
2,831
724
814
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A great hotel. Very helpful staff, fabulous breakfast. Clean rooms and spotless bathroom. Though not located in the swishest part of town it is located near to Milano central railway station, so easy access to Metro, airport transfers, etc. Overall this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very nice hotel, great service ready to help you, wonderful buffet breakfast for such a small hotel. Metro station just a few meters away, great connection with city center.
Some of the rooms were refurbished, some were not. My bathroom was quite old and had a very bad smell of public toilet on the last day. On the first day when we arrived it was cleaned with a very strong detergnt, the whole room smelled like chlorine. Apart from bathroom all was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

It was a pleasant surprise to be with Berna. They were extremely professional and courteous. Willing to help in every manner be it sightseeing, different location or even shopping. Location is quite nice and metro and railway station are on walkable distance.

Room Tip: I stayed in Berna Towers which is quite new cosy and surely with a calm and quite atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullurkara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great hotel to stay overnight or couple of days if you want to connect to other cities or see Milan as the main train station is a short walk. Very handy when you catch the bus from the airport as it is an express bus that drops you at the main station , and you can catch the bus back to the airport for 5 euros each way .(the bus trip from Bergamo airport was about 30 mins ) if your visiting Milan so easy to catch the underground which is walking distance . Breakfast has been the best we've had in a European hotel, the spread is better than 5 star , you get 3 different types of crossionts ,variety of eggs , pastries , cakes , juices , coffee , tea , gluten free choices ... the list just goes on and on . We highly recommend and would definitely stay here again .

Room Tip: My husband & I stayed 2 nights at this hotel on our way to Cinque Terra, the first night we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Strengths:
Clean rooms and bathrooms,
Very polite staff,
Strong focus on the wishes and requirements of the guests,
Various facilities, like sorts of pillows, slippers, bath rocks, are provided,
Good quality beds,
Excellent breakfast,
Easy access to airport buses and other transfer facilities,
Excellent restaurants nearby.

Weaknesses
The surroundings are not optimal, however, the metro and the main railways station are very close and this is practical.

In summary: We have spent two nights here and met a very friendly atmosphere. A bottle of good red wine was waiting for us in the room (pre-ordered), the facilities and the mood were proper. When visiting Milan again, we shall choose this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViatorCastellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

It doesn't get any better than this in terms of communication, staff attitude towards guests (exemplary) and value for money. Not a large hotel and in what appeared a slightly dodgy area close to the train station but in terms of hospitality and genuine warmth of the welcome it is something very special. As other reviewers have noted one can customize a room prior to arrival, mini-bar is free with water and soft drinks, beds are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is extraordinary! Anything and everything one could possibly want to eat and all freshly prepared. Add windows that can be opened for fresh air and as many extra towels and pillows you want and your comfort is assured. This is a hotel which takes its paying guests seriously - many larger higher rated (and much more expensive) hotels could emulate Hotel Berna's dedicated attitude towards its clientele with outstanding results. Warm thanks to everyone at Hotel Berna who made my brief stay so pleasant.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Merrybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#164 of 427 in Milan
6,218 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,819 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 427 in Milan
816 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#78 of 427 in Milan
2,610 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 427 in Milan
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing