We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice, but ....”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #11 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

the hotel is nice, personnel is *very* kind, breakfast is vast ... but: a few chambers are way below standard.
You may be very lucky, and get modern rooms, with LED lights, or get 20 year old furnished rooms, with low quality bathrooms.

So, experience depends on how much you are lucky ...

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a "recent" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomboc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,222 - 2,228 of 6,676 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed over the weekend for our first visit to Milan. The hotel is very conveniently located.
Just 8 minutes walk from the Central train station. The room is clean, the bed and extra p
pillows were a luxury. Our room has ample space for 3, everyone get a comfy bed. The bathroom is equipped with towel a warmer,bath tub, bidet. Appreciate the free wi fi,free mini bar, free hospitality table in reception provided, breakfast included, there is even fresh carrot juice for breakfast, wow.
The hotel staff is friendly, accomodating and we were well served. Overall we enjoyed our
stay at Berna Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Overall a very nice stay here. Friendly service except for an elderly man in the reception in the morning. Small but clean rooms. Quiet during the night (We had a room away from the street) We parked our car and was told to just ask for it 5 minutes before we needed it! It took 30 minutes in the morning, so plan ahead if you have an appointment. We walked just outside the hotel and got breakfast in a small cafe down at the roundabout. Ended up paying 21 euros for 2 coffee, 2 croissants, and 2 orange juices! Hm, maybe we should just have stayed in the hotel...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tartiflette0450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A great hotel. Very helpful staff, fabulous breakfast. Clean rooms and spotless bathroom. Though not located in the swishest part of town it is located near to Milano central railway station, so easy access to Metro, airport transfers, etc. Overall this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very nice hotel, great service ready to help you, wonderful buffet breakfast for such a small hotel. Metro station just a few meters away, great connection with city center.
Some of the rooms were refurbished, some were not. My bathroom was quite old and had a very bad smell of public toilet on the last day. On the first day when we arrived it was cleaned with a very strong detergnt, the whole room smelled like chlorine. Apart from bathroom all was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

It was a pleasant surprise to be with Berna. They were extremely professional and courteous. Willing to help in every manner be it sightseeing, different location or even shopping. Location is quite nice and metro and railway station are on walkable distance.

Room Tip: I stayed in Berna Towers which is quite new cosy and surely with a calm and quite atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mullurkara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great hotel to stay overnight or couple of days if you want to connect to other cities or see Milan as the main train station is a short walk. Very handy when you catch the bus from the airport as it is an express bus that drops you at the main station , and you can catch the bus back to the airport for 5 euros each way .(the bus trip from Bergamo airport was about 30 mins ) if your visiting Milan so easy to catch the underground which is walking distance . Breakfast has been the best we've had in a European hotel, the spread is better than 5 star , you get 3 different types of crossionts ,variety of eggs , pastries , cakes , juices , coffee , tea , gluten free choices ... the list just goes on and on . We highly recommend and would definitely stay here again .

Room Tip: My husband & I stayed 2 nights at this hotel on our way to Cinque Terra, the first night we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#164 of 427 in Milan
6,347 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#78 of 427 in Milan
2,687 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#39 of 427 in Milan
1,867 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £105 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing