We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #11 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our family of three stayed here for one night before flying out from Milan. The smallish room was faultless - very clean, modern and most welcoming. The hotel pays attention to detail and evidently aims to please.
The staff were very pleasant, courteous and helpful. You can even buy tickets for public transportation at the hotel.
There are computers with printers and internet connection in the common area, making it convenient to check in to flights online and to print boarding passes.The breakfast is lovely.
It takes 5 minutes or less to walk to the Milano Centrale train station, which is a terminal for the regional high speed trains, the city subway as well as the terminal for airport coaches (10 euros per person one way, about 50 minutes of travel time).
There's nothing very happening in the vicinity, but it's only about 3 - 4 metro stops away from the city centre where the Duomo (cathedral) and La Scala are situated.
Just a word of warning that you really need to be on your guard for pickpockets in Milan - we had 3 attempts on us in rapid succession in all of 4 hours. At the Duomo station, the man in front of us "accidentally" dropped his keys and stopped dead in his tracks at the top of the moving escalator, preventing us from stepping off. In the commotion, my husband noticed a hand reaching into his trouser pocket and he quickly reacted by shoving both the men away from him. Another time, on a crowded tram, some men sandwiched us and obstructed our exit - by the time we managed to get off the tram, the trouser pockets were again opened. You really have to find a way of securing your belongings on you!

Room Tip: We were in room 26, which was very quiet, new-looking, and had a small sofa bed to accommodate altog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drchikee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,217 - 2,223 of 6,676 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed there for three nights while on a business trip. The location is excellent: only a short 5min walk from the Central Station. The staff was kind and very helpful. Although the wallpaper had had better days, the room was exceptionally clean and spacious enough for a single room. One negative point was the noise, probably due to the fact that the room was on the ground floor, right next to the lift. The heating system can also be quite noisy at times. However the hotel offers a high level of service and an array of nice little attentions which contribute to the cozy, "homelike" feel (eg. free snacks available in the lobby, free wi-fi, access to printers and universal phone/tablet chargers in the lobby, free soft drinks in the room, laundry service etc.). On a side note: although there is no restaurant in the hotel, food from a local restaurant can be delivered directly to your room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Absolutely fantastic hotel, staff, location. It has been a long time since we've had such amazing service and attention to details. The check in, consierge, restaurant, everything. The staff were friendly, so happy to help, and very attentive. The hotel understands the meaning of the "little things that make the difference". Bath robes, slippers, preset room temperature, types of pillows, free mini bar (no alcohol), the whole package.
We will DEFINITELY stay there again and DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to all our friends and family.
Thank you for a lovely experience.

SIDE NOTE - if you stay there - do NOT eat at the pizza place across the road. Read the menu carefully as prices there go up 50% after 10:30 pm!!! Stay away.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 21ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here one night with my mother after a week of travels through Switzerland and Italy. This is a very fine little boutique hotel. It is a short 5 minute walk to the Milano Centrale train station which was a HUGE plus for us. We took the train into Milano and had a lot of luggage so it was very convenient. Also, the shuttle bus which connects central Milano to the Malpensa airport starts at the train station so to reach our early morning flights it was GREAT to be able to walk over there in 5 minutes to catch our bus.
The hotel has great service, charming staff and a very cozy feel. I found it exceptionally clean, both the hotel in general and our room. The bathroom was great! A large soaking tub with all of the amenities. We also had a very comfortable sleep in crisp and clean white linens. Another plus is the free wi-fi and the complimentary soda and juices in the in-room refrigerator.
Great hotel, thumbs up!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthonytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The best part about this hotel is it's location. It's a 5 min walk from the train station which helped us save on a cab right. It's about a 30 min walk to the city centre or a 10 min ride by public transport. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We've really enjoyed a complementary breakfast- they had a large selection of cold food items and juices. This is one of the best hotels we've stayed in Italy for the price point. Would highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank KiraSanDiego2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

the hotel is nice, personnel is *very* kind, breakfast is vast ... but: a few chambers are way below standard.
You may be very lucky, and get modern rooms, with LED lights, or get 20 year old furnished rooms, with low quality bathrooms.

So, experience depends on how much you are lucky ...

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a "recent" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomboc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed over the weekend for our first visit to Milan. The hotel is very conveniently located.
Just 8 minutes walk from the Central train station. The room is clean, the bed and extra p
pillows were a luxury. Our room has ample space for 3, everyone get a comfy bed. The bathroom is equipped with towel a warmer,bath tub, bidet. Appreciate the free wi fi,free mini bar, free hospitality table in reception provided, breakfast included, there is even fresh carrot juice for breakfast, wow.
The hotel staff is friendly, accomodating and we were well served. Overall we enjoyed our
stay at Berna Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#164 of 427 in Milan
6,347 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#78 of 427 in Milan
2,687 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#39 of 427 in Milan
1,867 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £105 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing