We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Having lived in Milan a few years ago, it was strange for me to be there as a tourist and to stay in hotel. However I was really looking forward to returning there with my mother and I really wanted my mother to see why Milan was so special to me.
When it came to deciding on which area to stay in, I wanted a nice hotel near the main train station (Centrale). Milan is huge and well connected but being by the train station meant that we were within easy walking distance of the airport shuttle, the metro, and the main shopping street (Corso Buenos Aires). The Berna is gorgeous. The rooms are spotlessly clean and I loved that you could customise your room (temperature, blankets and pillows) prior to arrival. The breakfast was exquisite. There was everything that you could imagine and truly filled for the day. It is miles ahead of other hotels that I have stayed in. While we went slightly over our budget booking this hotel, it truly gave us the wow factor and was worth every cent! The staff were very attentive and helpful. I will be returning to Milan again and regarding my hotel choice, the Berna will be at the top of my list.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eimzom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,071
    1,672
    276
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,048
2,626
671
777
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

An extremely well run hotel, the staff working excellently as a team. Always keen to offer their help with anything asked of them. The breakfast buffet was superb and catered for most tastes. Also liked the wifi arrangements,so often this can be a disappointment when staying at hotels. Wifi is an important feature these days and this was a no fuss facility With free use, very good download speed.

Overall well done Hotel Berna.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We picked the Hotel Berna for an overnight before catching an early morning train to the airport, and so we were looking for something close to the train station, and not much more. Well, we certainly were pleasantly surprised. Everything, from the attractive lobby and welcome at the front desk to the room itself, was wonderful. Lots of thought has gone into making the guests' stay here a pleasant one, and we thoroughly enjoyed this. The room was very comfortable, the bathroom was immaculate, and there were fun extras, such as the free soft drinks in the mini bar and the rubber ducky there to greet us in the bath. Leaving early, we missed the much-praised breakfast, but there was a tray of excellent brioches and a pot of coffee out in the lobby for early departures. Next time, we'll stay longer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmack08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thun, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very friendly staff, nice room in the tower on the other side of the road. Excellent (free) wireless internet connection which allows also VPN, free minibar with softdrinks, cookies and fruit juice. I can really recommend this hotel, particularly if you want to be close to the railway station.
The only slight criticism: the regulator for the room temparature did not allow to set a room temperature below 22°C. I had to switch off the heating (but this was possible).
Very good buffet for breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dieter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratingen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

it was my third stay in Hotel Berna and I would choose it again. I already recommendet it to friends and collegues,
The staff is very friendly and the hotel is very well located, perfect to visit Milan

Room Tip: we got a free upgrade and the room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannelore575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We only stayed for one night at the Hotel Berna before catching the train to Bolgna. We really wished we could have stayed there longer. From the moment I booked this hotel, I knew I made the right choice. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by an utterly professional and polite member of staff who told us that we were upgraded to a larger room. The modernly decorated room was spotlessly and freshly clean. The novelty rubber duck in the bathroom's sink, was a pleasant surprise which made us smile. The breakfast in the morning was superb. The hotel's location couldn't be more convenient, just across the Central train station. When we visit Milan next time we shall definitely stay at the Hotel Berna . Many thanks to all the extra special members of staff!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was on the fourth flour and it was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

The best experience ever. Clean, friendly and the location is great. We got a free upgrade for our room
Thank you Stefano who has taken care of our reservation :) I recommend this hotel for everyone who is planning to go to Milano you will have a nice stay and comfortable experience

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdullah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#1 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#10 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing