We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent four days over New Years in Milan and stayed at Hotel Berna. Foremost, hotel is in a great location for metro, trams and airport shuttle from Bergamo. Hotel itself is nice, we stayed in the Tower building across the street from the main hotel, which was recently renovated and nice. Great bed, nice room and staff was friendly. Only two issue and nothing that would prevent me from coming back. Two nights at 2 am loud "discussions" fro people at the restaurant across the street were so loud it would wake the dead. Lasted about 1/2 hour each night then stopped. Second issue, after walking through Milan all New Year's Day we came back to the hotel and planned to eat in their restaurant. Surprise, no restaurant, only room service from place outsourced from the hotel. Max in the bar did recommend 18 Settembrini 18 a few minutes away. Had seen review of this place on TA and since it was the only place open went there. Would not recommend this restaurant, at best a 3 rating but it was New Year's Day. Better to go to Mama Rossa at Cincinato Piazza, which is also only a few minutes away. Had lunch there and it was great.
But to stay with Hotel Berna, would stay there again and likely do so in Oct/Nov. Good staff, great location, clean and friendly hotel. Listed as 4 but would give it 4+. Book through the hotel website, we booked through Hotels.com and got the same rate as through hotel, only their's came with breakfast. We paid 12 euros each, and while breakfast was good it was nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,290
    1,731
    281
    77
    38
See reviews for
1,088
2,773
705
806
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here 16-17 October 2013, and were very impressed. It is only 5minutes walk from the Milano Centrale train station, so its great for travellers.

The service was great. The really treat you like if your family. This was from the moment we walked in the front door. Our Room #453 was in a building across the street, and an elderly porter took our bags up to the room and showed us the entire room and how to use things like the door security system. Bar staff, and breakfast staff were all just as good. You can see they all love their job. From the time I booked online they sent me a few emails just giving me updates.

Our room was something like old style Italian. And when we arrived there was a little packet on our bed with an Australian flag. Real special. And the bed was very comfy.

The breakfast room is quite large and does get busy, but the selection and service is awesome. This was in the top two breakfasts in our 13week tour of Europe!

Would definately stay here again... It was good value and great service... To be honest this hotel was the best thing in Milan other than the Duomo...

Room Tip: Room #453 was had very good decor and is quiet as faces a court area, with very good security system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I just returned from staying in Milan at Hotel Berna in late December. Everything went well. Great service, friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet with many options, great Wifi and a couple of channels on the TV in English. The room was a bit on the smaller side, but it had everything we needed including complimentary water and sodas in the fridge. The shower was very nice and was a big. It is ideal if you have luggage to haul from the train stop because it is a quick 5-7 minute walk max. You can get to anywhere in Milan by taking the metro. Some pretty descent restaurants were right nearby. Elevator was small but fit 2 people + luggage. I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I travel to Italia once or twice each year. Milano is usually our starting or end point, not just because it is a great city, but because the Hotel Berna has become like a family member to us. The entire staff at hotel Berna are friendly, professional, and the service is First Class! The rooms are well kept and very clean, and you can't miss out on the phenomenal buffet breakfast each morning. We know first hand that they are always searching for ways to improve because each time we stay we are fortunate to get one of their newly remodeled and modernized rooms. All transportation (eccept airport) is within a few walking minutes away. Milano Centrale Train (the gateway to all of Italia and Europe for that mater) is only a five minute walk.
Yes, there are many hotels in Milano, but we have found a real Gem at Hotel Berna, and can't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were in Milan for the first time and travelled from the airport to the city by train, from the Central Station, Hotel Berna was just a short 7 minutes walk. On arrival we found front office staff efficient and friendly. Our rooms were well furnished and comfortable, the house keeping department is obviously doing a good job. The Wi Fi worked well, to our pleasant surprise we found our room mini bar was complimentary. At breakfast the buffet spread was beyond our expectations, the restaurant staff were friendly and attentive.

We found a good range of restaurants, cafes and bars nearby. Our eating experience was marred by a restaurant at 13 Nova Torriani , which is located directly opposite our hotel. The prices charged for house wine were very high. At nearby restaurants, typical prices were €20 per bottle, at this particular restaurants t hey charged €48 for a bottle or €12 for a glass. Their food was quite mediocre and also over priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Although our first impressions of Milan weren't great - this hotel sure made up for it! Conveniently located within a few minutes walk of the train station in Milan which is great when travelling by Train in Italy. We were given a free upgrade and were pleasantly surprised that the mini bar in our room was free. Rooms were adequately sized and very clean. Tea, coffee, biscuits and sweets were available downstairs which was also nice. The breakfast buffet was absolutely amazing - it had EVERYTHING and more and the food was delicious. The staff were so friendly and welcoming it felt like a second home. Staff suggested places for us to visit and also had subway tickets available for purchase at the desk which I strongly recommend rather than buying it at the station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbrah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We chose the hotel because of the location and TripAdvisor rating. Location was great. At the one end of the street is a subway and the railway station, at the other end of the street stops the tram nr 1 which takes you through all the center. Tickets available in the reception. Some good eating options nearby. Such a high TripAdvisor rating a quite puzzling as the hotel was ok but nothing sensational. Makes you wander what the other hotels must be like.The reception area is quite tacky. We are the lucky ones who got the upgrade to the new building and room was nice. I guess it was a renovated room although a pink sink and fake marble tiles on the bathroom walls gave it happy 70-es look. Room itself was nice and tasteful and free beverages were great. Everything was clean which is a big plus. Bed was great and we slept quite well despite the trash pickup at 6 a.m. one morning and some screaming on the street at 2 a.m. for an hour two other mornings. Wifi worked fine with our 4 devices. We had breakfast only once as it had plenty of sweets but very little other options. As we slept well and room was nice and clean and location was great, it was overall a quite good experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reesepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,754 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#158 of 428 in Milan
6,110 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
602 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing