We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Find!”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Find!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Berna in December. It was a wonderful hotel with brilliant new amenities and a fantastic staff. The rooms are modern, crisp and well-done and the location is wonderful, close to the metro and a nice neighborhood. When we came in, the front desk and bell staff were helping a mom with her infant and toddler - and the warmth, care and concern they showed for her and her kids impressed us all.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hattrick56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,345
    1,743
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,108
2,802
714
809
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was traveling all over Italy and last minute decided to stop in Milan. After reading all of the wonderful reviews I booked the hotel online. The hotel itself was wonderful! We stayed in the building across the street in room 354. It was nicely decorated with a free minibar. I also loved the personal touches like the rubber duck and your name on the welcome cards etc. Milan personally to me was slightly disappointing.The castle and the duomo where the highlights of my trip. I was in Milan also on New Years day which meant a lot of stores, attractions and restaurants were closed. Also another plus is this hotel is a block away from both the metro and train station. If I ever return to Milan.. Hotel Berna would be my first choice!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for two nights in December 2013. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the train station. The rooms are clean and decently priced. Non alcoholic drinks from the mini bar are free, a nice touch. A little removed from the restaurant action, but a 15 minute walk or so brings a lot into play. The metro is close if you need to ride somewhere. The staff was also very friendly and the breakfast had many good things to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Spent four days over New Years in Milan and stayed at Hotel Berna. Foremost, hotel is in a great location for metro, trams and airport shuttle from Bergamo. Hotel itself is nice, we stayed in the Tower building across the street from the main hotel, which was recently renovated and nice. Great bed, nice room and staff was friendly. Only two issue and nothing that would prevent me from coming back. Two nights at 2 am loud "discussions" fro people at the restaurant across the street were so loud it would wake the dead. Lasted about 1/2 hour each night then stopped. Second issue, after walking through Milan all New Year's Day we came back to the hotel and planned to eat in their restaurant. Surprise, no restaurant, only room service from place outsourced from the hotel. Max in the bar did recommend 18 Settembrini 18 a few minutes away. Had seen review of this place on TA and since it was the only place open went there. Would not recommend this restaurant, at best a 3 rating but it was New Year's Day. Better to go to Mama Rossa at Cincinato Piazza, which is also only a few minutes away. Had lunch there and it was great.
But to stay with Hotel Berna, would stay there again and likely do so in Oct/Nov. Good staff, great location, clean and friendly hotel. Listed as 4 but would give it 4+. Book through the hotel website, we booked through Hotels.com and got the same rate as through hotel, only their's came with breakfast. We paid 12 euros each, and while breakfast was good it was nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here 16-17 October 2013, and were very impressed. It is only 5minutes walk from the Milano Centrale train station, so its great for travellers.

The service was great. The really treat you like if your family. This was from the moment we walked in the front door. Our Room #453 was in a building across the street, and an elderly porter took our bags up to the room and showed us the entire room and how to use things like the door security system. Bar staff, and breakfast staff were all just as good. You can see they all love their job. From the time I booked online they sent me a few emails just giving me updates.

Our room was something like old style Italian. And when we arrived there was a little packet on our bed with an Australian flag. Real special. And the bed was very comfy.

The breakfast room is quite large and does get busy, but the selection and service is awesome. This was in the top two breakfasts in our 13week tour of Europe!

Would definately stay here again... It was good value and great service... To be honest this hotel was the best thing in Milan other than the Duomo...

Room Tip: Room #453 was had very good decor and is quiet as faces a court area, with very good security system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I just returned from staying in Milan at Hotel Berna in late December. Everything went well. Great service, friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet with many options, great Wifi and a couple of channels on the TV in English. The room was a bit on the smaller side, but it had everything we needed including complimentary water and sodas in the fridge. The shower was very nice and was a big. It is ideal if you have luggage to haul from the train stop because it is a quick 5-7 minute walk max. You can get to anywhere in Milan by taking the metro. Some pretty descent restaurants were right nearby. Elevator was small but fit 2 people + luggage. I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I travel to Italia once or twice each year. Milano is usually our starting or end point, not just because it is a great city, but because the Hotel Berna has become like a family member to us. The entire staff at hotel Berna are friendly, professional, and the service is First Class! The rooms are well kept and very clean, and you can't miss out on the phenomenal buffet breakfast each morning. We know first hand that they are always searching for ways to improve because each time we stay we are fortunate to get one of their newly remodeled and modernized rooms. All transportation (eccept airport) is within a few walking minutes away. Milano Centrale Train (the gateway to all of Italia and Europe for that mater) is only a five minute walk.
Yes, there are many hotels in Milano, but we have found a real Gem at Hotel Berna, and can't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#159 of 428 in Milan
6,165 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
642 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
807 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing