We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice, we stayed twice”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So nice, we stayed twice”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What a beautiful hotel. The first night in Milan, we stayed in the "older" part of the hotel, which is more plush and traditional. Since we liked it, we booked it for the end of our trip and were put in the more modern addition across the street. (Wow, the security is TIGHT!)

The breakfast was pretty expansive by Italian/European standards with plenty to choose from.

As we arrived too early for dinner, we curled up in the comfy lobby bar with amazing service from Max. Every few minutes, he'd go back to the kitchen and emerge with some new amazing hors d'oeuvres - flatbread pizza, prosciutto wraps...He made lovely drinks and lovely food to hold us over until we went out to dinner around 8 PM. Super friendly & helpful with dining suggestions in the area.

It was my husband, my 8 yr old daughter and me. We had a double room and it was not spacious, hello, it's Italy, but it was just right. My first night, I couldn't sleep and I went down to the computer area, a tiny, but just out-of-the-way comfy corner and worked on my MBA group work. There was coffee & tea available at all hours so that was helpful.

As you may know, Milan is a more industrial city than say, Florence. Walking into the Berna was like walking to a beautiful haven of plush carpeting and lavish décor. The staff were generally friendly.

Do take their service to Linate airport...it was cheaper than the cab I took from the airport on the way in.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues, ask for a room in the main building, not the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kcoombs1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,281
    1,728
    281
    77
    38
See reviews for
1,085
2,766
704
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Out of all the hotels we've been around Europe this has to be the best by far! Love the service, everyone was so helpful, the rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was AMAZING! Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo-an P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Again chose Hotel Berna because of Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. A short walk from the Milan Central station but was a bit confusing for 1st time travelers. We were given the annexe unit opposite the main building. The rooms were of decent size, very clean and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was huge and the best in our trip to Italy. There is lot of attention to detail here for a four star and the staff very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunner365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights in October 2013 after a trip around Sicily and a week on Lake Como. Arriving by train, once we found our bearings we had only a short walk to the hotel. We had booked the Discover Milan package and also ordered a fruit basket, which was there in our room and full of a variety of beautiful fresh fruit to eat during our stay. The breakfast room was always busy but very well run with an excellent variety of dishes and many staff ensuring everyone was well looked after. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. with As previous reviewers have commented, everyone goes out of their way to be helpful here and the added services provided make for a great stay. In particular the number of computers (plus printer) in the lounge area for guests to use was a real bonus, plus coffee, cold drinks and biscuits in addition to the free minibar in our room. We walked and used our tram ticket to explore a wide area of Milan and found excellent cafes and restaurants nearby. We had a very early plane to catch to San Francisco but this was smoothly handled by the reception staff who booked a taxi and even provided breakfast provisions. We thoroughly recommend Hotel Berna and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele482014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in Sept 2013. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we couldn't agree more. The staff were welcoming, which was appreciated after a 24 hour flight. Great room with a very comfortable bed. The room and bathroom were not huge, but fine for our needs and the free mini-bar was a nice touch. Breakfast was good. We chose the hotel for it's proximity to Milan Centrale Station and the metro. Easy, short. flat walk to and from the train station with bags. The Hotel website provides great directions to walk/drive to the Hotel. The area is quite safe to walk around and there are lots of places to eat. We spent the evening in the Navigli district, via the metro - which is such a lively place along the canals with great bars and restaurants everywhere. Would definitely return to this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

One of the most impressive things with this hotel was that the staffs were trying to do their best. You can find such a passion anywhere: email notification, free drink service in the hall, daily newspapers in several languages and personalized room. As many people reviewed, the breakfast was superb. I could feel hospitality and professionalism from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoshiepaulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I was amazed how this hotel is client-oriented... everything you can possibly want appears to be at your hand, from WiFi access data put on your bed with a personalized greeting, to free refreshments in your minibar. Impeccably clean, good variety for breakfast.
The price-quality ration is excellent, especially with their often happening special offers.

Excellent for a short stay in Milan!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rumpleteazer495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,752 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#156 of 428 in Milan
6,089 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
594 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing