We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal hotel in Milan”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Grange-over-Sands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An ideal hotel in Milan”
Reviewed 19 August 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Berna, for the second time, at the end of July 2008. We would not have returned if we had not enjoyed our first visit, of course. The hotel seems to have the advantage of Swiss ownership but with the great benefit of a largely Italian staff who are efficient and at the same time welcoming and friendly. The hotel is immaculately clean and well presented. Despite the comments of a previous reviewer we have always slept very well here (would prefer that a bed was firm rather than excessively soft). Air conditioning works very well in the hot Italian summer, the rooms are by any city standard quiet and the breakfast buffet , in our experience, offers the best choice of any that we have found in Italy. The location is excellent, close to the grand Stazione Centrale and the Metro line (just a few stops to the Duomo and the centre of the city). Several room qualities and tariffs are available. On-line booking discounts make the tariff very reasonable for this excellent hotel.

  • Liked — Perfect welcome and convient position
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,288
    1,729
    281
    77
    38
See reviews for
1,088
2,770
705
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Pleasant staff, eager to help and genuinely pleased we choose to stay at their hotel. We stayed in an Executive room which was across the road from the main hotel. The hotel rooms were very clean and well planned. Would choose this hotel again for my next stay in Milan.

  • Liked — Clean & comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing to comment
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MelissaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales, uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Stayed here for three nights in a triple room in July 2008. The hotel was fantastic from the moment we got there! Reception were very friendly and polite and our room was clean, spacious (especially the bathroom) plus the free minibar was a wonderful touch! I found that very impressive as the drinks came in extremely handy for us. The breakfast was just as good as the other reviewers have made out. The lobby area is great with coffee for guests and daily papers laid out. Free internet also in the lobby, you just need to get a password from reception to use your 30minutes.
There are a number of nice restaurants around the hotel to get food and a supermarket within the station that is very handy.
I'd definately stay here again without any hestitation!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank syllabub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Excellent location for 4 night stay. Easy walk to trains/metro and trams. Pleasant walk up to Duomo one evening.Train to Venice one day. Short train ride to the lakes another day. Local transportation system is very reasonable and efficient. Room was fine and free mini bar a bonus. I would rate Breakfast 8 out of 10 but it excelled with its fresh fruit and fresh juices. Staff were very pleasant , attentive and helpful.

  • Liked — Location/Staff and breakfast
  • Disliked — View from room windows
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 30yearsmarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

We booked the Berna based on previous TA reviews. It was easy to get to from the train station. Check in was good and we were made to feel very welcome.

Breakfast each morning offered a very good selection...it couldn't be faulted.

Complimentary soft drinks were available in the mini bar.

The hotel is an ideal base to explore Milan due to its proximity to the Metro - Milan centre is also a comfortable 30 minute walk.

We had great service in the bar in the evening, complete with little snacks!

All in all, recommended because of the price, service and location.

The only issue was the renovation work going on which meant loud noise from 9am.

Would we recommend? Yes....most certainly!

  • Liked — Convenience to train station
  • Disliked — Renovation noise!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucklers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of a tour of northern Italy. I'd contacted the hotel directly in advance to make sure we got a double bed (rather than two singles pushed together - I always fall in between them!) and they assured me we would get one. No such luck. So, after a grumble they did move us to another room but we had to pay extra because it was a 'superior' room. Both rooms were dated and the bathrooms very small.

The breakfast was good, large selection of food which would please anyone from anywhere!

It's close to Milano Centrale station and about 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. The immediate area doesn't have much going for it but there are some nice restaurants if you keep an eye out.

So, OK for one night I think but if you're staying longer book something nicer!

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Tired decoration, tiny bathrooms, not the best service
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBerna, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 11 August 2008
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment and remarks; we truly believe in guest’s help to always improve our services.

Our main challenge is to satisfy all guests’ wishes such as bed requirements, room location, view, etc. and as you can appreciate we try very hard.

In order to be as clear as possible to all the guests, it has become now a common practice for all hotels worldwide to specify at time of reservation (in our case on all booking channels) that special requests are upon availability and have to be reconfirmed by the hotel.

Despite our efforts, we are not always able to guarantee these additional services due to different factors not strictly under our control: the hotel might be fully booked or some guests may extend their stay at the very last moment, decreasing drastically the variety of choices while allocating the rooms.

In hope to welcome you soon again in Milan, we wish you a very pleasant summer!

Hotel Berna Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harwich
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Not the greatest size rooms but comfortable and a very reasonable rate. The location is fine for both the Train Station (worth spending time looking at in detail) and the Metro to the Centre. Breakfast was good with very friendly staff.

Lunch wise in the City we had two very good ones; Peck's restaurant (next door to the Michelin starred Ristorante Cracco) has great fresh ingredients and a real feel for the pace of the City. Next day we had a nice lunch in the Food Hall of la Rinascente, with spectacular views over the Duomo.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank peterharwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#35 of 428 in Milan
1,753 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#157 of 428 in Milan
6,101 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
600 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing