We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berna The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Wolfenbuettel
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Berna The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I chose this hotel through Tripadvisor and my husband and I were more than delighted with our stay here. All the positive comments can only be confirmed. We arrived early feeling very tired after getting up in the middle of the night so it was sheer bliss to be informed that our room was already ready at 11.00. The smiling staff at reception made us feel immediately welcome, the smiling duck in the lovely bathroom also ( that shower is to die for) The fridge held soft drinks which were free and there were always biscuits to go with the complimentary tea and coffee.Breakfast was unbelievable, there was a huge arrray of everything possible, even a juice maker for fresh carrot juice.The breakfast staff could not have been more attentive. On my birthday I was presented with a cake and the staff all sung Happy Birthday. We were given excellent tips for superb restaurants which were all quite close, having walked for miles each day we did not want to walk miles for our dinner. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I will be returning for the EXPO next year and have already reserved a room, I would not want to stay elsewhere. I will be recommending this hotel to any of our friends going to Milan. It is lovely in this day and age to find people who genuinley seem to enjoy their job and to be so keen to be helpful and friendly. This place cannot be beaten: good, better, Berna

Room Tip: We had room 424 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitchcock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,080
    1,675
    276
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,049
2,632
671
782
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We visited twice on our return to Italy as stop overs on our trip. Hotel Berna never fails to impress. The staff are fantastic, the location to the station simple, safe and easy and the breakfasts are amazing. We stayed in a renovated rooms and one that was not and have to say the renovated room much much better. Both rooms clean, wonderful beds, tea and coffee, biscuits and lovely towels, but go for the renovated room with its huge shower. At night the bar has the most amazing food that is free with drinks and on a late arrival served as dinner for us. Can't fault this hotel, especially the staff who re always happy, helpful and seem to enjoy working at the Berna. If in Milan, especially coming by train then this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: Go for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumanddaughter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Armagh, northern ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have just returned home from a 4 night stay in this beautiful hotel. I booked directly with the hotel website and from the outset, they couldn't have been more helpful. I was slightly apprehensive about staying so close to Central Station as it is a busy, noisy area.....but I shouldn't have worried! The hotel is within a 5 minute walking distance of the station but is situated on a quiet side street and as soon as you walk through the door it is like an oasis of calm in a busy city. As soon as I walked through the door I knew that I had chosen the right hotel for my stay.

The check in process was very smooth. The reception staff were very friendly and speak fluent English. We were told by email that we could check in from 3pm but we arrived at the hotel early, expecting to be able to leave our bags in a luggage room for a while but our room was ready and we were able to access it straight away.

The rooms are beautifully decorated, very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is a real treat. I was expecting a basic continental breakfast but the beautiful buffet that is presented every morning is far from basic! There is a variety of savoury options, many types of bread, croissants, cakes, fruit, yoghurts and many other delicious treats. Hot drinks include tea, hot chocolate, coffee and also expresso and cappuccino which are freshly made to order.
It is also worth mentioning that free tea and coffee is available all through the day and night in the reception area.
The staff in this hotel are all very welcoming and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they really go the extra mile. Their attention to detail is evident in everything......there are lots of little treats and extra surprises.....but I will let you experience these for yourself!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Was nervous at first about a hotel near Milan train station read that it was not the greatest area. What a gem this hotel turned out to be. Only one block from the station - we walked with our luggage. Received a warm greeting from reception ~ they spoke fluent English after hearing my sketchy Italian~ modern, albeit smaller, room with a "rubber ducky" in the bathroom. Includes FREE buffet breakfast with more food than you can imagine. The front desk sells train passes - Milan Centre was a quick 10 minute metro ride away. Free wifi and printing to a central printer. Late checkout was no problem. Great rate through Expedia. One catch was that the hotel adds a 30 euro supplement for children over 12 (not 18 as Expedia notes). They didn't charge me, but did point out the discrepancy.

Room Tip: The "Superior" rooms on the 5th floor cost a bit more, but are bigger and decorated in a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ehill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a brilliant stay at Hotel Berna. Hotel is just few minutes from Milan Central.Rooms and decor is good too.Staff in the hotel do take care of you. We had a early flight to catch to London. They even packed our breakfast.

Room Tip: There are very good restaurants nearby too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iashaiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was my third stay at Hotel Berna. The location is superb. Staff and service are superb. Breakfast is more than superb. They give you complimentary soft drinks at the mini bar. The bathrooms are good.

Room Tip: I was in 505. Perfect for solo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The service here was amazing from start to finish. The staff could not be more helpful, and gave us lots of useful advice on places to eat, where to shop, what apps to use for transport etc. breakfast was fantastic and seemed to cater for all tastes including giving us extra bananas because we were running the marathon. Rooms were very comfortable, loved the free rubber duck and the free mini bar. Location was near Central station and only a few stops from the main tourist centre.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 505, was very spacious and located across the road in the newer building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayray0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing