We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel. Great location”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #10 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We chose this well,priced hotel largely because it is an easy walk from the train station from which you can also get a bus to the airport. The hotel is modest but suited our needs for a one night stay. Staff were very helpful and made a terrific restaurant recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,173 - 2,179 of 6,867 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

After a long day of travel from Venice, this hotel was our last stop before returning home. We had looked at the reviews on trip advisor and booked our room several months in advance. When we arrived at about 4...our room was still not ready, we had asked for some softer pillows....( we are not high maintenance people at all....but we had been traveling for a month and we know all about standard pillows)...these were not provided and it seamed a hassle for the staff to provide them. Upon check out we had to store our bags for about 5 hours....this was not a problem, however we had already stood in line after a large tour bus arrived and the front desk clerk told us to bring our bags from across the street. ( we had large heavy back packs....not a problem with us....but if your elderly and need some assistance....this will be a problem)....we then got back to the front desk and the clerk was quite rude and told us to get back in line and wait your turn.......not the best way to end your trip.....All in all we will DEFINATLEY return to Milan.....but not to Hotel Berna.

Room Tip: Easy location from the train station....bit of a hike to the shops though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waikai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Waikai1,

We thank you for your feedback.

We are saddened to know that you were not fully satisfied with the quality of your stay.

We realize that when expectations run too high, because of other comments, it becomes more and more difficult to satisfy our beloved guests.

At the same time, we are honestly a bit surprised of your comment.

We try really hard to make our guests feeling welcome and appreciated from the very first moment they pass through our doors. Upon your arrival at 4.00 p.m. you were immediately checked - in and escorted to your room, which was ready and customized as per your requests (extra pillows and nordic bed). We wonder why you say that „the room was not still ready…“

With regard to the check-out and baggage storage, I apologise if the fact that the receptionist has invited you to wait in the queue in order to serve the guests waiting before you could seem rude and impolite (waiting time was between 3 and 5 minutes). This is clearly the last impression we would like to give.

We pride ourselves on the courtesy and friendliness of our Staff Our Staff, which are always on hand to assist our guests in any way possible. We know we are not perfect and that there are areas where we can always improve, especially when the counter is under pressure, and it seems the majority of our guests appreciate our customer service.

I’m really sorry this was not your experience and your comment will be taken into our next general meeting in order to further improve the quality of our hospitality.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very kind staff. The location is only a few yards from Milan Central Station and the metro, however it is very quiet. The room is very clean, with full service provided. The best hotels I stayed in Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keaton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I chose this hotel through Tripadvisor and my husband and I were more than delighted with our stay here. All the positive comments can only be confirmed. We arrived early feeling very tired after getting up in the middle of the night so it was sheer bliss to be informed that our room was already ready at 11.00. The smiling staff at reception made us feel immediately welcome, the smiling duck in the lovely bathroom also ( that shower is to die for) The fridge held soft drinks which were free and there were always biscuits to go with the complimentary tea and coffee.Breakfast was unbelievable, there was a huge arrray of everything possible, even a juice maker for fresh carrot juice.The breakfast staff could not have been more attentive. On my birthday I was presented with a cake and the staff all sung Happy Birthday. We were given excellent tips for superb restaurants which were all quite close, having walked for miles each day we did not want to walk miles for our dinner. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I will be returning for the EXPO next year and have already reserved a room, I would not want to stay elsewhere. I will be recommending this hotel to any of our friends going to Milan. It is lovely in this day and age to find people who genuinley seem to enjoy their job and to be so keen to be helpful and friendly. This place cannot be beaten: good, better, Berna

Room Tip: We had room 424 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hitchcock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We visited twice on our return to Italy as stop overs on our trip. Hotel Berna never fails to impress. The staff are fantastic, the location to the station simple, safe and easy and the breakfasts are amazing. We stayed in a renovated rooms and one that was not and have to say the renovated room much much better. Both rooms clean, wonderful beds, tea and coffee, biscuits and lovely towels, but go for the renovated room with its huge shower. At night the bar has the most amazing food that is free with drinks and on a late arrival served as dinner for us. Can't fault this hotel, especially the staff who re always happy, helpful and seem to enjoy working at the Berna. If in Milan, especially coming by train then this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: Go for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumanddaughter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have just returned home from a 4 night stay in this beautiful hotel. I booked directly with the hotel website and from the outset, they couldn't have been more helpful. I was slightly apprehensive about staying so close to Central Station as it is a busy, noisy area.....but I shouldn't have worried! The hotel is within a 5 minute walking distance of the station but is situated on a quiet side street and as soon as you walk through the door it is like an oasis of calm in a busy city. As soon as I walked through the door I knew that I had chosen the right hotel for my stay.

The check in process was very smooth. The reception staff were very friendly and speak fluent English. We were told by email that we could check in from 3pm but we arrived at the hotel early, expecting to be able to leave our bags in a luggage room for a while but our room was ready and we were able to access it straight away.

The rooms are beautifully decorated, very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is a real treat. I was expecting a basic continental breakfast but the beautiful buffet that is presented every morning is far from basic! There is a variety of savoury options, many types of bread, croissants, cakes, fruit, yoghurts and many other delicious treats. Hot drinks include tea, hot chocolate, coffee and also expresso and cappuccino which are freshly made to order.
It is also worth mentioning that free tea and coffee is available all through the day and night in the reception area.
The staff in this hotel are all very welcoming and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they really go the extra mile. Their attention to detail is evident in everything......there are lots of little treats and extra surprises.....but I will let you experience these for yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Was nervous at first about a hotel near Milan train station read that it was not the greatest area. What a gem this hotel turned out to be. Only one block from the station - we walked with our luggage. Received a warm greeting from reception ~ they spoke fluent English after hearing my sketchy Italian~ modern, albeit smaller, room with a "rubber ducky" in the bathroom. Includes FREE buffet breakfast with more food than you can imagine. The front desk sells train passes - Milan Centre was a quick 10 minute metro ride away. Free wifi and printing to a central printer. Late checkout was no problem. Great rate through Expedia. One catch was that the hotel adds a 30 euro supplement for children over 12 (not 18 as Expedia notes). They didn't charge me, but did point out the discrepancy.

Room Tip: The "Superior" rooms on the 5th floor cost a bit more, but are bigger and decorated in a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#20 of 431 in Milan
708 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#38 of 431 in Milan
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#78 of 431 in Milan
2,799 reviews
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 431 in Milan
1,463 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 431 in Milan
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#9 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £97 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing