We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Everything that the other reviews has said about the attentive staff was our experience as well. Everyone from the clerk behind the counter to the staff in the dining room were smiling; this seems to be the philosophy of the hotel. The many extras such as the quality of the breakfast, the free drinks and juices in the room fridge, and the free coffee and pastries in the lobby after a tough day sightseeing were more than we expected. The helpfulness of the concierge in giving advice about the subways and selling the day transit passes was particularly appreciated. The only caveat I have, and one which did not really affect us, is that our room was small and the shower booth was very small. If you weigh 100 kilos you may find you have to be a contortionist to fit in the booth. But for us the room was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2trex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,125
    1,682
    277
    74
    38
See reviews for
1,059
2,652
676
791
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Too seldom you visit hotels that leave you without anything to complain. Hotel Berna is one of them. The staff was really friendly (nost just the receptionists but everyone) and from the first moment you got the feeling that they take this business seriously, but with good humour. Check-in was really easy, you was able to input all details online beforehand. The room was clean and comfortable, there was at least 100 channels on tv (I didn't have time to check how many there actually was), free WLAN was working prefectly, minibar was complimentary (no alcohol, though), breakfast buffet was really great... However, they didn't have a proper restaurant to have dinner at. But they did have a small evening buffet (which was complimentary for customers who buy at least one drink) in the bar in the lobby.

The location of the hotel just 300 meters from the main railway station is either ideal or remote. If you are going to spend your whole time in central Milan, the site is probably too far away from the main sights (well, it's four stops by metro to the Duomo and the nearest metro station is really close). On the other hand, connections to Milan airports are really good (buses and trains from the railway station) and if you are taking some day trips outside Milan (for example, Lake Como is only one hour away and Florence two hours by high speed train), the location near the station is ideal.

Be warned, though: City tax is not included in the price of the room. Not sure, if this is a common way in Milan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel Berna is now my #1 choice in Milan - excellent price/quality. Pretty much one of the friendliest staff I have met in a hotel. Good breakfast. Perfect location, next to then main train station.
Room were not that big, but nice, new, clean and had all we needed.
Special thanks to Max - he was really helpful!
Next time in Milan - for sure will stay in Hotel Berna!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeriMaaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
254 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff, well priced air conditioned room which was very quiet, valet parking in a secure garage opposite the hotel for the car. Overall a great place to stay with good subway and tram connections nearby into the centre. Don't be put off by the proximity to the train station, the area around the hotel is very nice with a good choice of places to eat and drink, and feels very safe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie_Cup_Refil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hook, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Hotel Berna is a perfect place to say for anyone who wants easy access in and out of the city. 3 minutes to the train station on foot. It is clean, and the staff is courteous. Very quiet. Nearby restaurants are good enough for one on a reasonable budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We chose this well,priced hotel largely because it is an easy walk from the train station from which you can also get a bus to the airport. The hotel is modest but suited our needs for a one night stay. Staff were very helpful and made a terrific restaurant recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

After a long day of travel from Venice, this hotel was our last stop before returning home. We had looked at the reviews on trip advisor and booked our room several months in advance. When we arrived at about 4...our room was still not ready, we had asked for some softer pillows....( we are not high maintenance people at all....but we had been traveling for a month and we know all about standard pillows)...these were not provided and it seamed a hassle for the staff to provide them. Upon check out we had to store our bags for about 5 hours....this was not a problem, however we had already stood in line after a large tour bus arrived and the front desk clerk told us to bring our bags from across the street. ( we had large heavy back packs....not a problem with us....but if your elderly and need some assistance....this will be a problem)....we then got back to the front desk and the clerk was quite rude and told us to get back in line and wait your turn.......not the best way to end your trip.....All in all we will DEFINATLEY return to Milan.....but not to Hotel Berna.

Room Tip: Easy location from the train station....bit of a hike to the shops though
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waikai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Waikai1,

We thank you for your feedback.

We are saddened to know that you were not fully satisfied with the quality of your stay.

We realize that when expectations run too high, because of other comments, it becomes more and more difficult to satisfy our beloved guests.

At the same time, we are honestly a bit surprised of your comment.

We try really hard to make our guests feeling welcome and appreciated from the very first moment they pass through our doors. Upon your arrival at 4.00 p.m. you were immediately checked - in and escorted to your room, which was ready and customized as per your requests (extra pillows and nordic bed). We wonder why you say that „the room was not still ready…“

With regard to the check-out and baggage storage, I apologise if the fact that the receptionist has invited you to wait in the queue in order to serve the guests waiting before you could seem rude and impolite (waiting time was between 3 and 5 minutes). This is clearly the last impression we would like to give.

We pride ourselves on the courtesy and friendliness of our Staff Our Staff, which are always on hand to assist our guests in any way possible. We know we are not perfect and that there are areas where we can always improve, especially when the counter is under pressure, and it seems the majority of our guests appreciate our customer service.

I’m really sorry this was not your experience and your comment will be taken into our next general meeting in order to further improve the quality of our hospitality.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 431 in Milan
1,695 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
527 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 431 in Milan
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 431 in Milan
605 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#153 of 431 in Milan
5,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing