We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very thoughtful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very thoughtful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Everything was wonderful. They really put a lot of effort into making sure you are comfortable during your stay. They provide many complementary items (wifi, drinks, cookies, rubber ducky) that work wonders to make you feel at home. This hotel has the most thoughtful hospitality services I have ever experienced. I highly recommend this hotel if you must come to Milan for some reason. (Note: I am recommending the hotel, not the city itself)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scrapbook99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,071
    1,672
    276
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,048
2,626
671
777
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I used Milan as our entry and exit point to Italy recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Berna.
Every effort was made by the hotel to ensure an enjoyable stay.
The hotel is within two blocks of Milan's Central Train station which has buses every thirty minutes to Milan's Linate airport for 5 euros.
We had a small but very pleasant, well-appointed, quiet room upon our arrival with twin beds.
One of the best breakfasts we've seen at any hotel anywhere. Eggs, bacon, cheeses, cured meats, assorted buns, special raisen-hazle nut bread, assorted vegetable and rice dishes, deserts, croissants, various coffees, juices, wide range of fruits. Even a juicer machine to make your own carrot juice. Breakfast includes changes in accompaniments daily to ensure variety.
Lots of computers in the lobby area, that work fine to access emails etc. Free wi-fi.
Free waters and juices, soft drinks in the mini-bar.
We enjoyed two fine restaurants in the immediate area which staff can recommend.
We stayed again, at the hotel on the night before our departure from Italy, and enjoyed a very modern "luxery" room on the fourth floor.
If travelling to Milan again, we would most certainly stay at Hotel Berna again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I had a short 2 night stay in Milan and stayed at Hotel Berna mainly for it's location near the central train station (Centrale). We flew into Linate airport and there are a couple of shuttle buses that travel from the Arrivals terminal straight to Centrale station for €5 and take around 25 mins.

We were delighted with the service that we received, from the email a couple of days before we arrived where we could "customise" our room (by choosing the temperature we wanted the room set at, what type of pillows we wanted, what we wanted in the mini-bar (most basic items were offered free), any newspapers we wanted etc), to the check-in, room cleaning and obviously our stay.

The room was very comfortable and extremely nice, having been recently modernised and refurbished. The bathroom was very, very sleek, with all modern fittings and fixtures, though one slight negative is that the bathroom door is a sliding door with a gap all the way around the sides which makes privacy in the toilet a little difficult.

We walked from the hotel to the town centre (around 20/30 mins) and restaurants, but the Centrale train station is on the metro and is only a few minutes walk away, and there are loads of buses from there to all the different areas of the city.

The hotel was more than happy for us to borrow umbrellas when the rain came, and the breakfast was very good with a nice selection of hot and cold food and drinks.

We were very, very happy with the hotel and would give 5 stars if not for the bathroom door!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgelardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I did not hesitate to give this petty hotel five stars rating for its value, amazingly dedicated staffs, cozy environment, impeccable rooms, outstanding extras and a great location near the train station. it by far the best hotel experience I had on my visit to Italy. The staffs gives attentions to little details that make our stay memorable with little features like, a warm and professional welcome at the reception, a COMPLEMENTARY mini bar (no alcohol), free wifi, an area in the lobby with free coffee, cake, water, newspapers, etc. The breakfast buffet is very good and it include a fresh juicer to made your own fresh carrot juice. One of the staff gave us a recommendation us to dine at a restaurant nearby, it turn our to be of our most enjoyable meal too. Not to forget a rubber duck was siting in our bathroom which brought laughter to us on entering. I would recommend this lovely hotel to all those who which to have a home away from home feel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We were positively suprised of the service that we experied during our four nights stay. In every possible situation staff was friendly and utmost service oriented - we haven't experienced that in this price range.

Everything also worked very well at the hotel, breakfast was good, rooms comfortable - absolutely nothing to complain. We were suprised by the free minibar (no alcohol), complimentary buffet at the bar in the evening, and then offering water bottles when leaving and also inquiry beforehand of the room's temperature, extra pillows etc. Free wifi was one of the fastest (and easiest to use) that we have experienced.

Location is also quite good, since it is really close to the railway station and one of the bigger metro stations. We highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Petri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Everything that the other reviews has said about the attentive staff was our experience as well. Everyone from the clerk behind the counter to the staff in the dining room were smiling; this seems to be the philosophy of the hotel. The many extras such as the quality of the breakfast, the free drinks and juices in the room fridge, and the free coffee and pastries in the lobby after a tough day sightseeing were more than we expected. The helpfulness of the concierge in giving advice about the subways and selling the day transit passes was particularly appreciated. The only caveat I have, and one which did not really affect us, is that our room was small and the shower booth was very small. If you weigh 100 kilos you may find you have to be a contortionist to fit in the booth. But for us the room was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2trex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
251 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Too seldom you visit hotels that leave you without anything to complain. Hotel Berna is one of them. The staff was really friendly (nost just the receptionists but everyone) and from the first moment you got the feeling that they take this business seriously, but with good humour. Check-in was really easy, you was able to input all details online beforehand. The room was clean and comfortable, there was at least 100 channels on tv (I didn't have time to check how many there actually was), free WLAN was working prefectly, minibar was complimentary (no alcohol, though), breakfast buffet was really great... However, they didn't have a proper restaurant to have dinner at. But they did have a small evening buffet (which was complimentary for customers who buy at least one drink) in the bar in the lobby.

The location of the hotel just 300 meters from the main railway station is either ideal or remote. If you are going to spend your whole time in central Milan, the site is probably too far away from the main sights (well, it's four stops by metro to the Duomo and the nearest metro station is really close). On the other hand, connections to Milan airports are really good (buses and trains from the railway station) and if you are taking some day trips outside Milan (for example, Lake Como is only one hour away and Florence two hours by high speed train), the location near the station is ideal.

Be warned, though: City tax is not included in the price of the room. Not sure, if this is a common way in Milan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#10 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing