We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalised hotel”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Personalised hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked Hotel Berna through their website at an early bird rate, which made it more value for money. The ability to personalise your room is quite an innovative and fun idea.
The hotel is located near the train station, pretty easy to find, on a street with many other hotels. We arrived quite early at 11.30am and were pleasantly surprised to find that our room was ready, even with the personalised items. We were not so impressed with the mini bar though, as it was not fully stocked but it came only with the one item which we picked during personalisation.
The room and toilet are a decent size, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a good spread. We liked it that they sold train tickets and passes, so we didn't have to buy at the machines in the station, where tourists looked like they were being harassed possibly by pickpockets. The hotel lobby also had 4 computers and 2 printers which were freely available for guests to use. In all, it was a lovely place to rest at and we could tell that a lot of thought was put into the hotel to make the guests feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qiao O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,345
    1,743
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,108
2,802
714
809
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Berna in late April. We paid extra for the Discover Milan rate which included a Milan card (for unlimited travel on public transport for 48hrs, and discounted entry to major attractions ).
Front Office staff very helpful and provided useful info when requested.
Good location within 5 mins walk of central station (which suited us) and 50mtrs from a Metro stop for the 4 stops (20 mins) to the Duomo.
Excellent bar and breakfast service. Free substantial bar snacks offered with paid-for drinks - Discover Milan rate provided one free drink for each of us.
Good internet facilities and free wi-fi for those with a smartphone/tablet etc.
All in all, a very comfortable and friendly hotel.
Since the Berna has no restaurant we ate both nights at the Osteria Fara (10 min walk max), which was recommended by Max the barman, who was also happy to make reservations for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The team, the atmosphere, the location, the breakfast, we stayed for 2 nights (2 adults 1 child) and it was great and welcoming hotel.
the room was nice, clean and well setup for the 3 of us. We will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyE1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I entered the first stop on a two and one half week trip to Italy. Our first stop was Milan after a direct flight from New York, arriving at 7:30 AM. We took the train from Malpensa to Milan, and we had booked the Berna because of its location near the train station. After arriving at the hotel weary from our journey, we were pleased and appreciated that we were able to immediately access our room for a much needed rest. The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient, and the breakfast was excellent. Although we only stayed one night before taking the train to Venice, the Hotel Berna proved to be a welcomed respite.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leoedward1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Needed a hotel close to Milan centrale station & had a very pleasant stay. Easy 5 minute walk with luggage from Centrale. Very pleasant & helpful staff who even treated us to an upgrade! Nice room on 1 st floor with windows opening to road view for fresh air. Many cafes & restaurants a few metres away. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very good location, great staff, very good breakfast, clean and nice rooms. I'll stay here next time for sure. If you have possibility to choose the floor, so don't choose the ground floor, noisy. But still very nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Everything was wonderful. They really put a lot of effort into making sure you are comfortable during your stay. They provide many complementary items (wifi, drinks, cookies, rubber ducky) that work wonders to make you feel at home. This hotel has the most thoughtful hospitality services I have ever experienced. I highly recommend this hotel if you must come to Milan for some reason. (Note: I am recommending the hotel, not the city itself)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scrapbook99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#159 of 428 in Milan
6,164 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
642 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
807 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing