We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We just stayed at Hotel Berna for 2 nights for our stay in Milan. What an excellent experience we had at this hotel. The room was very good. It was spacious and the shower and bathroom was very good. The breakfast here was the best we have had in our three weeks in Italy.
The staff was very helpful if we had any questions. Also, the location is perfect for a quick getaway from Milan by train.
I would recommend this hotel for anybody going to Milan.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,105 - 2,111 of 6,781 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here at Hotel Berna. We were relocated to the block opposite the main hotel and we loved it.. On level 1, there is hot water and free flow tea bags with a pc for you to surf the internet! How thoughtful is that!
The room is clean and new.. we wouldn't have minded staying another night there!
Located really close to the Train Station, like 5 mins walk only! That was a saver for us!
I can't remember the breakfast >.< So I can only say it was average? I think in europe they don't serve eggs during breakfast.. eggs are chargable... so it was only ham, jam and bread...juices, tea, coffee, milk and cereal i think? not very memorable >.<
It is a 15-20 mins walk to the Duomo.. we got around the town mostly by walking.. The staff was really kind and helpful... They helped us keep our luggages while we explored the city till it was time to go.. my luggage broke down and we need to get a new one.. the hotel staff told us exactly where we will be able to find a luggage store (as the next day was a sunday and most of the shops will be closed). We were really really thankful and we managed to get a luggage and make it to our train on time :)
The security at the opposite block was tight.. it was a double glass door.. one have to wait for one door to close before the door will open.. at first we thought.. erm.. such tight security is it very UNSAFE? yet we did not meet any rowdy crowds or drunkard men when we went back late at night..it was just a quiet street with a few restaurants located around the hotel street. But we only stayed there for 1 night so can't comment much I guess?
I will stay here again the next time I'm here! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room. Room that is not located on the main block :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xmEex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel graciously reached out to me seeking any special requests prior to my arrival. This grace and hospitality continued throughout my visit. The room was expectedly small for a single, but the bathroom was as large as the stylish sleeping chamber with a large bath fit for my 6'2" frame. Great buffet breakfast, well stocked bar, efficient and friendly front desk that helped me to maneuver my first trip to Milan. I have already booked again with them when I return from Croatia in two weeks. Very near central train station and Metro lines. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Bob92103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We are very impressed with Hotel Berna. From the front Desk, Breakfast room,
Cleanness of room, Excellent location, Luggage services and Parking arrangement.
I have no negative comment whatsoever. Good Job, Hotel Berna staff!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnT641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The service at Hotel Berna exceeded our expectations. Starting with emails days before our arrival allowing us to customize some of our room features (pillows, etc). You can buy your Metro tickets at the reception desk, which makes it really easy to use the Metro. Berna is four short stops to the center of town...very convenient. It was also only five minutes from the train station, which makes it easy to get to the hotel when travelling by train. We stayed in their annex building across the street from the main hotel. Only four rooms per floor, nicely appointed, excellent breakfast. We had an early train on our last morning and they provided us with a nice breakfast to go package to take with us on the train. My only negative was that the Wi-Fi was on the slow slide.

However, all in all, Hotel Berna was superb.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just a few days before my trip, I switched to this hotel based on the good reviews I read about it. I'm glad I did. Before my stay here, I was able to pick and choose online exactly what I wanted in my room during my stay. For example, the kind of pillow I wanted, if I wanted an iron and ironing board, etc. That was a nice perk. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Milano Centrale and just a 2 minute walk to the metro system. When I arrived, I was greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk. I was shown to my room, which was in a building across the street. My room was on the 6th floor, and I had a nice view of the city. The room was clean and comfortable, the bed and pillows were perfect (and I'm picky) and the bathroom was nice and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was very good and they even had gluten free items for me. Everyone was so nice and helpful, and it just made for an enjoyable stay in Milan. I loved this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. the staff is courteous and helpful; whatever we needed, they were able to help. the breakfast was plentiful, and the breakfast staff went out of their way to assist. the location of this hotel is extremely convenient, we walked everywhere! our room was clean and for european standards on the larger side. we asked for a quiet room and were given a room on the 5th floor and it was very quiet indeed. would be happy to return to this hotel given the opportunity!

Room Tip: higher floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
689 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#72 of 428 in Milan
2,745 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 428 in Milan
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#37 of 428 in Milan
1,905 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
nhow Milano
#28 of 428 in Milan
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £83 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing