We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke free and convenient”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Smoke free and convenient”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel is 100% smoke free and the location is really convenient. 5 min walk from Central Station, metro is in the Central Station. Bus shuttle to both airports too.
Friendly service with free mini bar on non-alcoholic beverages make my days. I don't have to look for bottled water for my night consumption.
The breakfast service begins 6:30 am to 11:00 am. The attendants are so friendly that they'll bring you cappucino happily.
The room is comfortable and the power outlet is sufficient for all of our gadgets.
The only minor suggestion is the tiny shower.

Room Tip: Superior room is good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmontonAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,288
    1,731
    281
    77
    38
See reviews for
1,088
2,772
705
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My aunt and I started our Italy trip off in Milan this May 2014 and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very close to the central train station, which was nice especially since we were so tired from our long flight. Since they are doing construction on the main street the picture on their website to help you find the hotel wasn't as accurate as it could have been, but overall it was not hard to find. We arrive approximately 3 hours before checkin and our room was ready for us! It had 2 twin beds and a pull out couch (which we didn't need since we were only 2 people but it was nice). The bathroom was a pretty good size too. The Duomo is a 15-30 minute walk depending on how fast you walk and how good you are at directions. We stayed two nights. It wasn't very hard to get to and the staff was very helpful in giving us great directions to get there. The breakfast was great, lots of options. You could have different kinds of meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, breads, etc. I don't think I could list all the wonderful things they had. Also if you like carrot juice you could make your own!

It was very nice that they emailed us in advance to see if there was anything they could do to make our stay the most enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17KJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We just stayed at Hotel Berna for 2 nights for our stay in Milan. What an excellent experience we had at this hotel. The room was very good. It was spacious and the shower and bathroom was very good. The breakfast here was the best we have had in our three weeks in Italy.
The staff was very helpful if we had any questions. Also, the location is perfect for a quick getaway from Milan by train.
I would recommend this hotel for anybody going to Milan.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here at Hotel Berna. We were relocated to the block opposite the main hotel and we loved it.. On level 1, there is hot water and free flow tea bags with a pc for you to surf the internet! How thoughtful is that!
The room is clean and new.. we wouldn't have minded staying another night there!
Located really close to the Train Station, like 5 mins walk only! That was a saver for us!
I can't remember the breakfast >.< So I can only say it was average? I think in europe they don't serve eggs during breakfast.. eggs are chargable... so it was only ham, jam and bread...juices, tea, coffee, milk and cereal i think? not very memorable >.<
It is a 15-20 mins walk to the Duomo.. we got around the town mostly by walking.. The staff was really kind and helpful... They helped us keep our luggages while we explored the city till it was time to go.. my luggage broke down and we need to get a new one.. the hotel staff told us exactly where we will be able to find a luggage store (as the next day was a sunday and most of the shops will be closed). We were really really thankful and we managed to get a luggage and make it to our train on time :)
The security at the opposite block was tight.. it was a double glass door.. one have to wait for one door to close before the door will open.. at first we thought.. erm.. such tight security is it very UNSAFE? yet we did not meet any rowdy crowds or drunkard men when we went back late at night..it was just a quiet street with a few restaurants located around the hotel street. But we only stayed there for 1 night so can't comment much I guess?
I will stay here again the next time I'm here! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room. Room that is not located on the main block :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xmEex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel graciously reached out to me seeking any special requests prior to my arrival. This grace and hospitality continued throughout my visit. The room was expectedly small for a single, but the bathroom was as large as the stylish sleeping chamber with a large bath fit for my 6'2" frame. Great buffet breakfast, well stocked bar, efficient and friendly front desk that helped me to maneuver my first trip to Milan. I have already booked again with them when I return from Croatia in two weeks. Very near central train station and Metro lines. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob92103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We are very impressed with Hotel Berna. From the front Desk, Breakfast room,
Cleanness of room, Excellent location, Luggage services and Parking arrangement.
I have no negative comment whatsoever. Good Job, Hotel Berna staff!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnT641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
274 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The service at Hotel Berna exceeded our expectations. Starting with emails days before our arrival allowing us to customize some of our room features (pillows, etc). You can buy your Metro tickets at the reception desk, which makes it really easy to use the Metro. Berna is four short stops to the center of town...very convenient. It was also only five minutes from the train station, which makes it easy to get to the hotel when travelling by train. We stayed in their annex building across the street from the main hotel. Only four rooms per floor, nicely appointed, excellent breakfast. We had an early train on our last morning and they provided us with a nice breakfast to go package to take with us on the train. My only negative was that the Wi-Fi was on the slow slide.

However, all in all, Hotel Berna was superb.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,754 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#158 of 428 in Milan
6,105 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
600 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing