We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service at a boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service at a boutique hotel”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Berna for one night. The hotel is in a quiet area, within walking distance of the Milan Central Station. Our immaculate room was very large, with comfortable bedding and all of the amenities. In the lobby, there is a snack station with coffee, tea, bottled water and delicious pastries. We greatly enjoyed the extensive, well-prepared breakfast buffet. The Hotel Berna's staff was very pleasant; even giving us bottled water to take with us when we walked around Milan. Additionally, there is a nearby grocery store and several restaurants. For those travelers going or coming from Milan Malpensa Airport, train or bus service is available. We used the train service to arrive in Milan; the cost was about 16 euros per person. For our return to the airport, we used the bus service. The bus is located outside of the Milan Central. The tickets are 10 euro per person and can be purchased at various outlets in the area. We would recommend the bus as it was just easier to handle our luggage without having to enter the train terminal. Both transportation options take about 40 minutes. Also, we did use the subway to visit the Duomo area; it is fast, efficient and easy to use. We would recommend Hotel Berna to visitors of Milan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,394
    1,756
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,121
2,832
724
814
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenwood, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We chose Hotel Berna because we wanted to take the train from the airport and go to sleep before exploring Milan (The train is much better than taking a taxi and is easy to navigate). The Hotel Berna is a short walk from the station but do use the excellent directions on the website (we had no problem finding it). The hotel staff were simply outstanding in their efficiency and hospitality. You will be able to perceive their approach when you use the website. Someone did a management study for this hotel! We really appreciated how well they handled a very large number of visitors and attended personally to everything we needed. It is a fairly large hotel with many guests but we felt personally attended to because of the staff. The free breakfast buffet was the best of any hotels we stayed in in Italy (can you say chocolate crepes in addition to eggs, fruits, meats and pastry) and again, there was a very efficient and welcoming staff. The rooms were comfortable, clean, spacious, air conditioned and had free wifi. The bed was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex across the street which may have had newer rooms--we were very happy with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Its really difficult to imagine to have more care from all the staff, than we had. Excellent personnel! Location is also good. Breakfast was quite rich and delicious. Free minibar with soft drinks was provided.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel near to the station but situated in a very quiet street. We were in the annexe across the road from the main hotel. The room was small but beautifully finished. A lovely touch was the duck left in the bathroom to take home. Fantastic breakfast and very helpful staff who explained how to get to the duomo and how to use the metro.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliki57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Berna for three nights at the end of our European vacation. We were thoroughly impressed with the staff not only at the front desk (they were amazing) but everyone from bartenders to breakfast staff and housekeeping. Friendly, professional and helpful. The location is ideal for exploring Milan using the Metro system, close to the train station, and the local neighborhood is pleasant to walk through on the way to some fantastic restaurants (recommended by the staff). Rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet. We would look forward to staying at Hotel Berna again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor in a double room. It was quiet and comfortable. I don't think there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junolouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

From the first time we made our reservations, the staff was extremely helpful to our actual arrival on site, I can not say enough about the helpfulness of the staff. I would stay at this hotel again just because of that. It is located close to the train station but. It was difficult to find because of the lack of street signs. The room was small but typical of European hotels. The room was well stocked and clean. We stayed in the main building. I found this hotel to be reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very close to the train station but not so close as to have to deal with the usual sorts you find near train stations, and very convenient to the rest of Milan. The hotel actually has two buildings, we were in the newer construction across the street from the main building. There was no front desk there (again, the front desk was 10 seconds away across the street so no issue at all) but the entry to the building was very secure (two doors both of which required your key card, and the outer door needs to close before the inner door can be opened) and there was a small area in the entryway that always had tea and cold water. Rooms were basic but very nice. All in all great value for the money and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceeebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#164 of 427 in Milan
6,220 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,820 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 427 in Milan
816 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 427 in Milan
2,612 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 427 in Milan
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing