We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy with this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very happy with this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here and really liked it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is excellent. We had to make a last minute change of booking and they were very helpful and accommodating. We would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcarans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,071
    1,672
    276
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,048
2,626
671
777
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The staff were all very helpful. They all went out of their way to assist. I was very impressed by how much they really try to help you to navigate your way around the city and accomplish your aims on your trip. Much needed when you are not an Italian-speaker. Also the breakfast buffet is excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gg1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

First of all the good points. The staff are very friendly and give excellent service. The breakfast is very comprehensive and should cater for all tastes and nationalities. We had a fridge with free soft drinks/water. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from Centrale Station and with easy access to the underground system. The bathroom/shower room, though small, was excellent with high quality fittings.
However, the Superior room, with two small single beds,that we had on the 5th floor was very small and the only storage space was a curtained-off area in a corner of the room. So we lived out of our suitcases for our 4 night stay.
Also, because the room faced the road, the noise from the delivery trucks and garbage collections early in the mornings was a nuisance.
As my title says this was a bit disappointing and I don' think that I would stay at this hotel if we visited Milan again.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road and check the room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Woolas,

we appreciate your comment.

We apologise the size of your room didn’t meet your expectations and would like to say that they are generally similar to what you may find in other European cities.

We are not a chain hotel where rooms are all the same and if you would have only informed the reception we would have certainly done all our best to show you another solution.

We apologise for the noise caused by the garbage collection in the morning, which is clearly out of our control: in effect in all central areas of Milan, the public pick-up and cleaning service takes place between 6 and 7 a.m.

We are very glad to read that you consider our location and general services to be excellent, this means a lot to us.

Hope to have another occasion to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have now stayed at the hotel Berna on quite a few occassions.I Isend all my AUSTRALIAN friends there,The service is excellent friendly and very helpful nothing is too much trouble.As well the location is so good walking distance to the station ,restaurants and shopping areas and a short train ride to the Duomo I will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms quiter and more modern and still very affordable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful 4-star hotel that's very convenient to the train & metro stations and easy access everywhere in Milan. Amazing assortment & great service for breakfast. Perfect spot for our first few recovery days after arriving in Italy for a three week vacation.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sleeshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in three locations this trip and Hotel Berna's breakfasts were by far the best! The selection was extensive and the staff was attentive.

Helpful?
Thank MrP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A quaint hotel within walking distance of the train station makes it the perfect choice for travelers. The staff couldn't have been more friendly, especially Max, the bartender. The breakfasts are incomparable. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#10 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing