We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, convenient choice with many amenities”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #11 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Wonderful, convenient choice with many amenities”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel based on recommendations here and in other sources and am glad we did. From front desk check in through the room amenities and hotel location everything was top-notch. Upon check-in we were upgraded to a superior room. It was very quiet and we never heard noise from surrounding rooms or the street even though we were on the first floor. Wifi was great throughout the hotel. The room refrigerator contains free sodas, water and juices, which was a real plus. There is also a round the clock coffee and snack bar near the lobby that we visited frequently. Papers available in other languages there too (though we didn't see English). You also get coffee service in your room. I'm told the breakfast is very good, but we didn't use it. It is not included in the room price and is about €15 I believe. Desk staff very helpful with directions and other matters. Highly recommend the Hotel Berna.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,385
    1,753
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,118
2,828
720
813
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The location is ideal! The hotel is really close to train station about 600 feet. The room was abit small, but the bathroom was a good size. The breakfast in the morning was the best we had during our 3 week journey throughout Italy. The staff were helpful and nice. During our stay, they brought to our room a platter of fruit , and several bottles of cold water and Coke light- on the house . They also helped with transport to airport .would stay there again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DLJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is conveniently located to the central train and bus station. It turned out to be a really nice hotel with friendly helpful staff, clean rooms and delicious breakfast. Coffee , tea and snacks were always available both in the lobby and rooms.. ( mini bar was free in the rooms). If you're going to Milan this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were a party of 6 with 3 rooms, staying for just 1 night. All were well appointed and the bag (not just one) of chocolates on each pillow was a nice touch. We were also provided with information on the city as well as complementary metro tickets and if that wasn't enough, a welcome drink in the bar. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was more the adequate. All staff were very helpful. We were also allowed to leave our cars in the parking garage well after the normal check out time at no extra cost. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Hotel lifts are tiny and slow, so a room on a lower floor so you can use the stairs is a time saver
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twin waters
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel looks just OK from the outside, but the rooms and staff inside were great. The rooms were small, but typical of Europe. But the service was 5 star, from the room attendants, to the front desk, to the bar and breakfast. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located very close to the station, an easy walk (even with kids).

Room Tip: We had rooms 509 and 512 which could be opened up to become 1 room with 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericTwinWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was my second stay at the Milan Berna, this time in the annexe which is directly across the road. This hotel is comfortable, quiet and in a convenient location very close to the main railway station. Guest relations staff member Cesare again greeted us and provided extremely helpful assistance during our short stay, especially when a tooth malfunction at breakfast (breakfast at the Berna is normally a highlight of the stay) necessitated emergency dental treatment. Following Cesare's advice, the tooth was repaired nearby within several hours. Recommended - especially if Cesare is on the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Traveller0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel has everything, Charming reception staff. Wonderful updated rooms, Plenty of space. Easy walk to everything Milan has to offer. Its just around the corner from the train staion so no "Rip Off Taxi" required. The breakfast is that of a swanky 5 star hotel with charm of yesteryear. If I return to Milan I will stay here again definitely

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#162 of 427 in Milan
6,210 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,815 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#77 of 427 in Milan
2,605 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 427 in Milan
651 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 427 in Milan
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing