We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done!”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #12 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well done!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Staff couldn't have more attentive. Great location. The suggestions they made for restaurants was right on. Cozy comfortable rooms. Well maintained and clean. Very charming. Many lasting memories. Thank You Hotel Berna for a wonderful experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,392
    1,756
    282
    78
    38
See reviews for
1,120
2,831
724
814
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is within 5 minutes walk to Milano Centrale Station and Metro and airport shuttles. The staff are extremely professional and pleasant and at all times offers a warm welcome and good recommendations for local restaurants and other traveller trips. The rooms are cosy and comfortable with a spacious bathroom. The newly renovated rooms are fresh and modern. The breakfast buffet is generous and extensive. This is a wonderful smaller hotel in this area being great value for money. Parking is available.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel on 2 separate occassions in June. We enjoyed both our stays. The mini-bar with free soft drinks was handy. The breakfasts were enjoyable and the staff at breakfast were very helpful and attentive. All the staff were all very helpful and professional which made it a very pleasant stay. The rooms were nice and clean. The location was a very easy walk from the railway station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europe2010006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, everything was better than expected, very friendly and helpful staff, room was immaculate and tea making facilities provided, rare in European hotels. Breakfast included was very good, wide choice available, great location from train station and able to walk to all other destinations, highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This has been our second stay in Milan in the past couple of months, this time we needed a hotel close to the train as we arrived late afternoon and had to leave by 11am the next morning. Location to the train station is superb. Breakfast is great. Reading through reviews previous to mine will reiterate this.

What sets this hotel apart though is its customer service. Considering we only stayed the one night, and I have stayed at countless hotels now over the past 3 months of our travels, Hotel Berna has impressed me the most with the incredible customer service, totally unexpected for the reasonable price we paid!

From the first booking 6 months ago, we have received personalised emails preparing for our "customised" stay, through to a text the previous day of our arrival letting us know that our stay was anticipated, I was very impressed! Not to mention the very generous drinks in our room fridge, large chocolates on our pillow, Free Happy Hour supplying nibbles for 3 hours and on and on.

You can see that this is a very well run hotel, emphasising customer service, and it is appreciated by weary travellers!

Our welcome after a very long day of travel was lovely, from the Bellman through to the gentleman on reception checking us in. The staff on our departure was also excellent.

The only blight on this was one staff person at reception, when I asked for advice to travel to the Duomo was a bit abrupt? I ordered a taxi at first which is what he did, then when I found what the cost was, I decided to cancel the order. Well, he was not happy about this, and I was made to stand and stay there like a naughty child until he had cancelled the order, his attitude was not in keeping with the rest of our experiences there. We came away from that feeling very belittled, and did put a dampner on the rest of our morning.

Other than that, everything else was very good, and I would definitely stay there again if needing a convenient and very comfortable hotel close to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel based on recommendations here and in other sources and am glad we did. From front desk check in through the room amenities and hotel location everything was top-notch. Upon check-in we were upgraded to a superior room. It was very quiet and we never heard noise from surrounding rooms or the street even though we were on the first floor. Wifi was great throughout the hotel. The room refrigerator contains free sodas, water and juices, which was a real plus. There is also a round the clock coffee and snack bar near the lobby that we visited frequently. Papers available in other languages there too (though we didn't see English). You also get coffee service in your room. I'm told the breakfast is very good, but we didn't use it. It is not included in the room price and is about €15 I believe. Desk staff very helpful with directions and other matters. Highly recommend the Hotel Berna.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The location is ideal! The hotel is really close to train station about 600 feet. The room was abit small, but the bathroom was a good size. The breakfast in the morning was the best we had during our 3 week journey throughout Italy. The staff were helpful and nice. During our stay, they brought to our room a platter of fruit , and several bottles of cold water and Coke light- on the house . They also helped with transport to airport .would stay there again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DLJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#164 of 427 in Milan
6,218 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,819 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 427 in Milan
815 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#78 of 427 in Milan
2,610 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 427 in Milan
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#11 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing