We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST EVER - FOR SERVICE AND FRIENDLINESS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEST EVER - FOR SERVICE AND FRIENDLINESS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

After travelling in Europe for 2 months Milano was my last stop. I couldn't have asked for anything more. From the time I walked into the door the smiles were sincere, welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. My luggage was carried to my room and then the attendant took the time to take me through all of the things I needed to know about the room thoroughly. Looking at the booklet they even offer an option of pillows!! In the bathroom they had a yellow ducky as a gift and for the reason to make me smile. Simply nothing is too much trouble and the price was very very reasonable!

The breakfast was excellent and the coffee was the best... 10 out of 10 from me!!!

Room Tip: Certainly well located. I don't think you could get better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irenakirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,080
    1,675
    276
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,049
2,632
671
782
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I chose this based on TA reviews. Very accurate. As a solo traveler, female, I appreciated the availability of both a breakfast buffet and a happy hour buffet. The rooms are small but very clean and sweet. This hotel is quite close to Centrale train station and I lugged a roller and day pack to the hotel by myself with no problem. Not close to major attractions but I was only there for a very short stay. I did walk to the Duomo and that took a LONG time! But, it was fun, safe, and if I hadn't been too cheap to buy Euros (spent most of my time in Suisse), I would have taken a taxi back! Again, very convenient to get to train station and then to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpal4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 for 2 nights. This hotel is really close to milano centrale. We stayed at the family room and it was huge and very clean. The room was quiet and they have the most comfortable bed you can every imagine. You can customize your stay before you arrive: choose the type of pillow, the temperature of the room or the beverages you prefer to have in your minibar. The minibar is free and replenished daily.
After we checked in to the hotel, we decided to go to duomo using the metro. When we were outside the hotel, one of the hotel staff who had just finished his shift (a Filipino guy - Earlie?? sorry about the spelling) asked us where we were going. He was going to duomo area too and offered to accompany us until we reached duomo. Wow!! With 11 people in our group and mainly children, this offer was a big plus!! He showed us where to buy the tickets and dropped us safely at duomo. Thank you again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vien_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a great hotel in a good location close to the metro. The staff were very friendly and helpful and this made our stay more enjoyable. The breakfast was great and had a lot of choice. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamcm1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed getting the emails from Hotel Berna in the lead up to our stay.

Stefan checked us in and I found his service to be impeccable. Give this guy a raise! I was so happy to have the valet take care of our vehicle as well.

Our room on the 5th floor was great. Upgraded bathrooms. Nice lighting (groovy blue option in the bathroom).

We had a quiet room overlooking a side street. Noise was not an issue.

And as the others have mentioned, the breakfast is almost worth the price of the stay. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BipedalJuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We chose Hotel Berna due to its excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. As other guests have pointed out, the location is good near Milano Centrale. You can reach the city centre easily by underground. We also liked the good breakfast, which offers something to everyone, and the free minibar in the room was a nice bonus.

All in all, however, the hotel was a disappointment for us. The biggest problem in our case was the noise. We had a quality room on the third floor. We could not hear anything from other rooms, but the street noise was horrible - I had to sleep with earplugs on to get at least some sleep. You could hear everything from the street: people talking loudly, ambulances, delivery trucks - just like it was happening right next to you.

I don't know about the other rooms, but our quality room definitely needed an update: the carpet and the armchairs were stained, and the bathroom was probably the ugliest I've ever seen in my life (and we have travelled a lot). The towels looked like they had been used too many times and the hairdryer seemed like one from the seventies. The bed, though, was quite comfortable, and there was a lot of storage place for your clothes.

The service via e-mail was good - you get mails before and after your holiday. However, I think it would be more important to have good service at the hotel. There was nothing wrong with the service in the breakfast room - the staff was always friendly there - but I can't say the same about the reception. The man who worked at the reception when we checked out didn't even bother to ask whether we had enjoyed our stay or not, or whether we needed help with our luggage. So unfortunately I have to conclude that on our next visit to Milan, Hotel Berna will not be our choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Anna,

thank you for reviewing the Hotel Berna. We are saddened to read that you were not totally satisfied with the quality of your stay.

We are a small family owned hotel, the rooms are all different and not standard like generally found in chain hotels. Even the decor and the interiors defer. This means that you have different room types to choose from – from Comfort to Superior – and for a small supplement you can book the room, which better meets your needs and willingness to pay.

Common to all room types are our complimentary extras such as the buffet breakfast (except the "room only" product), in room nonalcoholic minbars (8 soft drinks), free Wifi, 24 hour tea and coffee corner in the main lobby, "Good Morning News" sheets in 8 different languages, room customization and a nice antipasto happy hour buffet free with purchase of a drink.

We wished you only had infomed the Staff and we would have certainly offered you another solution. With regard to the street noise, we are not located in a busy area or with a lot of traffic and I’m wondering if you have kept the windows open, knowing that the garbage collection in the central area of Milan generally takes place between 6 and 7 a.m.

We thank you for informing us about the check-out procedure, as asking our guests if they need help for the luggage and their opinion about the stay is part of our standards. For this behavior I truly apologise. Your feedback will be talked about in our next general meeting, in order to further improve the quality of our services.

We are indeed very glad you appreciated our location, which makes us a perfect base for visiting Milan, as well as the great variety of our buffet breakfast and the friendliness of the Staff.

We would appreciate the possibility to have a second choice to welcome you back and show how important you are to us.

Best regards,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel, with a charming personal touch. The room came with a rubber ducky and some heart-shaped chocolates (perfect for me on my own :P) to keep. There's no decent restaurants or amenities nearby, although there is a small supermarket to get essentials or cheap food. It's ideal if travelling to Milano Centrale by train, as it is very close. It's also close to a metro stop which will get you to the centre of Milan in a few minutes. Highly recommended.

My room did have the hotel's brightly-lit sign right outside which buzzed annoyingly, but I didn't notice with the window closed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing