We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and cleanliness”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #11 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights.

Pros:
- We got a free upgrade
- Our room was lovely decorated
- Bathroom was superb and very clean. We even got a little duck to take home with us.
- The beds were comfortable and we slept well during our visit
- Near the train station, easy to move.
- We could leave our baggages to secure place before our departure.

Cons:
- Miss birdie was not able to join the breakfast without constant disturbance only because she was not eating anything. It was sad that we couldn´t be together even though there was plenty of room in the breakfast lounge.
- The service could have been better. Couple of smiles would not hurt anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAndMissBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,940 - 1,946 of 6,758 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at Hotel Berna in July for four nights while exploring Milan. The hotel is clean, quiet, and run by expert hoteliers who understand the meaning of service. The location is near the Centrale station which allows for quick access to the Metro lines (and also the express bus and train service to Malpensa). We used the metro to travel all around the historic center of Milan and at the end of the day, the trip back to Centrale and the Hotel Berna was simple and quick. The front desk staff are top-notch and the bartender, Max, was especially helpful with suggestions for dinner (elegant or casual) and travel tips around the city. Definitely stop down in the bar for aperitivos and some delicious Milanese "snacks" - you may never leave the bar! The breakfast buffet was uniformly delicious and the wait-staff were prompt and warm. Overall, a great place to base your explorations of a fascinating city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We chose this hotel because it was rated as family friendly. We loved it! While the rooms are small (typical tiny European rooms) - they were fine for a family of four. We were greeted by friendly hotel staff that took care of every detail - including a rubber ducky for our kids in the room (a gift to take home). The little things really matter and they know how to do it - even down to when we departed - they offered us waters to take along with us. The hotel breakfast was great - good selection and service. The location was fantastic - just a 3-4 minute walk to the central train station. They also suggested a great restaurant for dinner that was fantastic (again a great attention to detail and service). If we return to Milan - we will definitely stay there - so much to be said for friendly service!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islands4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

One night stop over in Milan to see the " Last Supper " selected Hotel Berna as the reviews were good and it's close to the train station and it proved to be a great choice. Given an upgrade at booking which always a bonus , our room was located across the road from the hotel in a new section, our room was spacious and very comfortable with lovely big bathroom ( love the complimentary little yellow duck and toiletries ) Staff were excellent ,helpful and friendly, went out of their way to make our stay a happy one. Breakfast and Wifi were excellent . Would recommend highly for comfort, service and it's locality to a station .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JennyvGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Only problem is shower cubicle is a bit small and area is kinda sleazy. Staff is friendly and excellent location near Milan centrale which gets you to the malpensa airport easily. Oh and I like the duck

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamestjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

i stayed at Hotel Berna only for 1 night during my stay in Milan, and 1 of the reason why I chose this hotel, because it's only walking distance 3-5minutes to milano centrale station , my opinion : this hotel looks a bit old from outside, but actually inside the room isnt that old, still reasonable and kinda spacey , free minibar too . It's not extravaganza, but for the price I paid, and the location, i think it's worth to stay, staffs was pretty helpful and friendly too, so if U're looking for smthng affordable and easy access to everywhere, this can be the option

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Herman_wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Berna for our last 2 nights on a 2 week Italy vacation. This was by far the nicest place we stayed in. The service was excellent. The room was comfortable and pretty quiet. Our room overlooked the street and we heard a little road noise, but not bad because it is not a busy street. The bathtub was delightful. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful. And easy walking distance to the central train station made accessing Milan a piece of cake!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank tamijud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
684 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 428 in Milan
2,732 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#39 of 428 in Milan
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 428 in Milan
732 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#22 of 428 in Milan
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £85 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing