We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel with tiny rooms”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2009

After having read the generally extremely positive reviews on this website, I must say that the hotel disappointed a little bit. It's an okay hotel with some definite pros, but there are also some downsides which deserve more attention here. The main problem I found to be the size of the room. My room was of the "comfort" type, which is the 2nd of 5 levels of luxury that the hotel offers. I would estimate the size of the room to be 10 square meter, roughly 3 times the size of the bed. That includes the desk and the wardrobe. The bathroom is not very generously proportioned either: no bath and a tiny shower. Two other smaller problems: water temperature in the shower not constant in the morning, no socket for a laptop near the desk (and all sockets in the room too small to hold my Dutch laptop plug - the only was was to use a socket in the corridor that the cleaning staff use for the vacuum cleaners).

But there are also several good things about the hotel. As other reviewers have remarked, the breakfast buffet is very good, certainly by Italian standards. Also great is the vicinity to the central station, which is litterally just a 5 minutes walk. The drawback is of course that the city center is far away, but the metro is only a 3 minutes walk away and it takes you there in 4/5 stops. Other pros: free wifi, good and quiet aircon, good noise isolation both from the street and from other rooms and the corridor, and very friendly and helpful staff. If I were to visit Milan again on a business trip then I would not object to staying here again, but I would first browse the web to see what other options there are because I find it a bit hard to believe that this hotel is really the nr. 5 of Milan, as TripAdvisor suggests.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Jetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2009

Dear Chris_Jetten,

Thank you so much for your review. We see you are a very experienced traveler and we appreciate all guest feedback and view it as a tool from which we can learn and hopefully improve upon.

As mentioned in your comments, you noted that you booked our Comfort room which is the 2nd level of 5 room categories. We are not a standard chain hotel where all rooms are the same. We offer 5 room tipologies and rooms vary in size, furniture, upholsteries and amenities. Next time, may we suggest trying one of our Executive rooms? As for the PC sockets in the rooms, if you would have called down to reception, we would have been happy to send up an adapter. And the same for the water temperature, we urge all of our guests to report any issues with the room while they are with us. That way we can take care of the matter at once and not have to try and figure out which room number or have another guest experience the same problem.

We were delighted to read your "friendly staff" and "breakfast is very good" comments. We hope you also benefited from our other free services offered; 1 hour WiFi when using your own laptop, or 30 minutes at our four computer stations complete with printers in our lobby, coffee/tea station in the main lobby and a complimentary nonalcoholic minibar available in all rooms. These are a few ways we like to say "thank you" to our guests.

Hotel Berna has the highest number of reviews in Milan (600) and thanks to our guests, we continue to improve the quality of our services through all guest feedback. We are very proud of the fact that we are ranked among the top 10 hotels in Milan. We realize this can sometimes create very high expectations, therefore making our mission more challenging. However, the majority of our guests do appreciate our efforts and realize the value/money aspect of our hotel as well.

Please come back and stay with us again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Berna.

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,433 - 4,439 of 6,787 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2009

I booked the trip to Milan as a suprise for my boyfriends 21st birthday and was so pleased that i chose the Hotel Berna! The location is perfect, 2 minutes from the central station and walking distance to all the shops and sightseeing places like the cathedral. The hotel is stunning and you are made to feel really special, the room has a free non alcoholic mini bar which has coke, water, orange juice etc and is refilled when required and your room is kept extremely clean. The hotel staff are so helpful and friendly with free maps to help you find your way about and they have great advice regarding eating out etc, they even let us borrow an umbrella when we went out for our meal at night and it was raining!! The breakfast is delicious with lovely fresh food and has a great selection so that there is something for everyone! I would definetly stay at the Berna again if i was to return to Milan and i would recommend the hotel to everyone, it really does feel like you are staying at a 5 star hotel and is perfect! Thanks to all the staff at the Berna for making my boyfriends birthday present a truly brilliant experience!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

Dear Scottish36,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. We were delighted to read your comments about our staff and hotel. Our main goal is to try to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable while they are with us. That is the reason for the complimentary non-alcoholic minibar, 30 min. free internet stations, and coffee/tea snack corner in the lobby. We are so glad you liked your assigned room and wrote "your room is kept extremely clean". We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotel and realize how important it is today. Our breakfast buffet is controlled daily for quality, variety, freshness and service, before it touches our guests plates.

Our convenient location makes it easy for guests to visit Milan, via metro, train, or by walking. Milan has so many things to do and see anytime of year. We are so grateful you chose Hotel Berna to celebrate your special occasion.

Please come back and visit us again soon! It was a pleasure to have you as our guests!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Great service, great staff, efficiency everywhere you look. The breakfast is a joy and the staff are once again efficiently keeping everything supplied and tidy. The location is terrific and easy to get to from the airport shuttle drop-off and just a block to the metro entrance. I think it was 5 stops to the Duomo, close and uncomplicated. The rooms are very clean and well serviced. Maybe it's time for a little redecorating only because the fabrics seemed tired, not tattered. The wi-fi was inconsistent and we found that to be true in all our hotels this trip. Also, I'd like to thank the staff for forwarding the package I left in our room to our next destination. I have written and posted a review on Fodor's as well. http://tiny.cc/Krc6Q Thanks for a great stay and I appreciate what good management it takes to provide such service.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

Dear Nettieo,

Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Berna. We were delighted to read your opening comments, "Great service, great staff, efficiency everywhere you look". Our main goal is to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable and we always try our best to assist our guests anyway possible. It was our pleasure to forward the item you left behind.

We are so glad you found our location "terrific" and easy to get to and from the airport via shuttle bus. We are not a chain hotel where every room is the same. We redocorate somewhere in the hotel quarterly. We just underwent a large renovation project in our tower across the street. We currently offer 5 different room categories. Rooms vary in size, upholsteries, furniture and amenities. All rooms offer a nonalcoholic mini bar, 30 min. free Wifi and 24 hour coffee/tea stations in the lobby. We currently have 4 computer stations complete with printers and offer a hi speed WiFi connection. We always ask that you report any problems with internet service and we will contact our provider immediately.

It is our pleasure to offer our guests an array of food and beverage on our breakfast buffet. We feel it is the best way to start off your day. It is controlled daily for quality, variety and service. And is pretty much the same all year round, except for the seasonal fruit and vegetables which vary with the different seasons.

Please come back and visit us again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Berna!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

This is an excellent hotel 200m from the Milano Centrale Station. The hotel staf is extremely friendly and helpful.
I just could not be happier as we where travelling with two children and the staff was always willing to help and assist with a big smile on their face. This made our weekend in Milan a more enjoyable place due to the hotel and its staff. Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgirb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

Dear Birgirb,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. We were delighted to read you comments about our staff being "extremely friendly and helpful". We know that traveling with children is not always easy and we want our guests to feel at home when they are with us. Children are always welcome at Hotel Berna and we will always try to assist parents in anyway we can.

We hope our convenient location made it easy for you to really enjoy Milan. Milan has many things to do for families; museums, concerts, sporting events, great restaurants, etc. Our staff are always on hand to help assist in making reservations or in recommending places to go in Milan.

Please come back and visit us again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Berna!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We spent two nights here and we really liked it. Today many hotels are nice but the people working there makes the difference. Thats the thing about Berna Hotel. Nice and welcoming people all over the place. We loved it. Keep up the good work. If we are going back to Milano we know where to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3amigosNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2009

Dear 3amigosNorway,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. We were delighted to read your comments especially the one "We loved it". We think our guests are what make the difference and we hope they feel welcome and comfortable their whole stay with us.
That is the reasoning behind the complimentary nonalcoholic minibars, free 30 min. WiFi and coffee/tea stations on each floor. We hope you tried our delicious breakfast buffet while you were with us. It has an array of food and beverage and there is something for everyone guaranteed.

We would love to have you back and hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at the Berna. No complaints at all about the room (we booked an executive which was very spacious and beautifully decorated/furnished). Lovely staff and great breakfast. Yes there are ladies of the night and it can be a bit noisy early in the morning but it's a big city and these things should be expected.
Being so near to Stazione Centrale was great - the tube system is the only inexpensive thing in Milan, you can buy a 48 hour travel card for 5 euros.
Sadly the staff at the Berna were the only nice people we encountered. We found the people of Milan to be mostly miserable and very rude. I have travelled a lot and have never come into contact with so many miserable people before! I will NEVER go back.
If you want to find somewhere reasonably priced to eat and/or drink - forget it as everything is extortionate. Go to Brera, it's definitely the nicest area and they have the best aperitivo. Don't bother with the market at St Augustino, it's all cheap rubbish and the place is full of pick-pockets.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
Thank debsod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2009

Dear debsod,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. We were delighted to read that you liked your executive room and found it "very spacios and beautifully decorated/furnished". We hope you also enjoyed the complimentary non-alcoholic minibar and the soft drinks refreshing and welcoming.


We are so glad you found our location convenient and benefited the underground metro. We are sorry you didn't encounter any nice Milanese on your adventures about the city: we know that the caothic daily city life doesn't help human relationships... But we are grateful for your compliments about our staff being "lovely" and "nice people". Since you weren't very impressed with Milan in general. Can we interest you in our sister hotel, Hotel Lugano Dante in beautiful Lugano, Switzerland? It is about 50 minutess north of Milan in the Swiss Italian Alps in the pedestrian city center of Lugano. Come and let us pamper you!

We hope to see you again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Berna!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana - GM & the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We have just come back from two nights at this hotel, it is very well located to the Central Station and underground (Line3).
As we walked down the street to the hotel and saw the sign our hearts sank, it reminded us of cheap two star hotels in the UK, but once inside it was a total relief to find a very nice and well appointed reception.
The reception staff were very helpful and provided us with an upgrade to an executive room, which was across the road in a newly refurbished building, once we were through two entrance doors (for security reasons) we followed the porter to our room, he was very helpful and pointed out all we needed to set our stay off on the right foot.
Our room was compact with an on suite shower room, as city hotels go the size was pretty good I have been in a lot worse for more money, it was all very clean, the bed was maybe a bit big for the room as it imposed a bit too much, the mirrored wall was an interesting feature. A flat screen TV with various channels, but no BBC World Service, the mini bar was free for soft drinks.
Our only complaint about the room was the air conditioning it says on the hotel website “The air-conditioning system can be regulated individually and will allow you to have exactly the temperature you desire”, not if wanted it to go below 20 degrees, so we had to have the window open all night, fortunately we had a back room so the noise was not intrusive, but this would have been an issue had we had a road facing room.

A must for any traveller a safe was provided in the room. As well as bathrobe, slippers and bathroom products.
Back at reception they provided maps and directions to all the places to see, there is also internet access which is very useful, and so we began our journey in Milan centre, just jump on the underground from Central Station Line 3, which takes you to all the best bits of Milan Central.
Having read earlier reviews about this hotel and its location, I cannot understand why people do not research more before they book about were a hotel is located and how to get around, the internet is a great place to do this. Yes the Berna maybe away from the centre but the underground was very clean and seemed a safe place to be, the trains very efficient, a 2 day ticket cost us just 8 euros
Breakfast the next morning was tremendous, with a massive variety of foods from a buffet; it also stayed open until 11:00am which saved us having to have lunch in what is a very expensive city.
Overall this hotel was excellent, the staff very friendly, very clean and a pleasant place to be. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prs54fmpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, General Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2009

Dear prs54fmpu,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. We were delighted to read that you found our "staff very friendly", rooms "very clean" and "would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel". We are grateful for your comments and hope you will come back and visit us again.

We are glad you liked your upgraded room in our newly decorated tower. We hope you also liked the complimentary minibar, bathrobe and slippers provided in your room. We are glad you found our free 30 min. WiFi at our computer stations complete with printers to be "useful". In regards to the air-conditioning, 20° C is a very cold temperature for a hotel in hot summer temperatures and we abide by strongly recommended general health rules concerning the delta between the inside temperature and the outside temperature, no more that 6/8° difference. Our air-conditioning units were not turned on at the moment of your stay, as they are switched on depending on the weather conditions, generally in Milan between May and June.

And yes, we are proactive when it comes to security. Milan is no different than any other large European city especially at night. Our guests safety is priority number one. Safes are provided in all rooms. 24 hour surveillance of all exits, halls and sides of the property. We were glad to see that you benefited from our convenient location and were able to get around Milan via metro. Our breakfast buffet is the perfect way for our guests to start off their days in busy Milan. Did you try our newly added 'to go' coffee/tea service at our buffet?

We hope to see you again soon! Thank you for choosing Hotel Berna.

Sincerely,
Carlo Fontana, GM & the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
694 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 430 in Milan
2,747 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#26 of 430 in Milan
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#37 of 430 in Milan
1,912 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
nhow Milano
#28 of 430 in Milan
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £82 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing