We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would stay at Hotel Berna again in a second!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #14 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We would stay at Hotel Berna again in a second!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

My husband and I just finished a cycling trip in the Piedmont region of Italy. We stayed in many fabulous hotels while on the bike tour. The hotels were very luxurious and expensive. We lived like royalty for the entire week. Our last night of our vacation was spent in Milan. My husband and I researched hotels and picked Hotel Berna mainly for the location but also because we had read good reviews on Trip Advisor. Being in a big city and close to the train station, we weren't expecting it to be too fancy and figured it would be quite a step-down from the other hotels we stayed at. We couldn't have been more wrong. It was a very short walk from Stazione Centrale. When we arrived, we were treated wonderfully by the hotel staff. We were upgraded into an executive room across the street. The room was beautiful and very clean. The mini bar was free and we took advantage of all the cold drinks and treats. No other hotel on our trip offered a complimentary mini bar. The air conditioning worked very well and it was very quiet. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious! We would definitely stay at Hotel Berna again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 4 August 2009
Dear Girofan,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. We were delighted to read your comments about our hotel and staff. It is our main goal to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable from the minute they walk through our doors.

We are glad you found our hotel location convenient. Being so close to the central station, make us the perfect choice for guests arriving from all Milan airports via shuttle bus. The metro is the fastest, most economical way to get around the city. Or, you can walk to the downtown city center in about 30 minutes.


We are also glad you liked your Executive room and found it to be beautiful and very clean. The complimentary nonalcoholic minibar, free 30 minute WiFi, and coffee/tea station in our main lobby, are ways we like to say thank you to all of our guests for staying with us.

Our breakfast buffet, is one of our most appreciated services. It is quality controlled for quality, variety and freshness daily.

Please come back and stay with us again! We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,078
    1,674
    276
    73
    38
See reviews for
1,049
2,632
671
779
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

Excellent location for the central station. Not so good for central town and most sites. Hotel staff reasonably friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MopsyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 4 August 2009
Dear MopsyEssex,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. Guest feedback is always appreciated, it is how we learn and hopefully improve upon our services.

We are glad you found our location excellent. Being so close to the central station means our guests have very easy access to the metro, a fast and economical way to travel in Milan. Milan has something to do for everyone all year round; shopping, concerts, expos, sporting events, museums, etc. Our staff are always on hand to assist our guests in anyway possible and are very helpful in suggesting where to go and what to do in Milan.

We hope you liked the complimentary nonalcoholic minibar in our room and tried our delicious breakfast buffet. These are two things guests tend to like the most.

Please come back and stay with us again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Berna!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
134 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We chose this hotel on the strength of the reviews here and were not disappointed. We made Hotel Berna our base and made side trips from here. We stayed for 5 nights.

* Good room & toilet size - we stayed on 3 occasions in 3 different rooms over 10 days & they were all more than adequately sized.
* Friendly and very helpful staff at the front desk & the restaurant. They are absolute gems. They really take pride in what they do & make you feel so welcome.
* Fantastic breakfast buffet. It was the best breakfast served compared to the other hotels we stayed during our trip. Scrambled eggs, hardboiled eggs, bacon, fried potatoes, vegetables, ham, cheese, range of pastries & breads, juices, cereals, fresh & packaged yoghurt, fresh fruit and even an iced chocolate dispenser! You can order cappuccino or espresso if you prefer it to the dispensed coffee. And 30 types of tea! There's cold & hot milk served as well.
* Free in-room minibar (depending on room category) - 2 bottles of water, canned drinks & packets of juice. This is most welcome when you come back after a long, hot & exhausting day of sightseeing.
* All day coffee, tea & water station in the lobby. Also has biscuits if you are feeling peckish.
* Free internet & in-room wifi connection. There are time limits depending on room category. This was the only hotel in our stay that offered this service.
* Abt 5 mins walk to Central Station
* Lots of good restaurants nearby. Do ask the front desk for recommendations. They were spot on every time!

If your schedule is fixed, their 30 day advance rate makes it even more economical.

I highly recommend this hotel without reservation if you wish to stay in a four star property without blowing a hole in your pocket.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 1 August 2009
Dear Strabo,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. We were delighted to read all the nice comments you wrote about our hotel and staff.
We liked the part best where it said you stayed with us on three different occasions.

We are glad you found all of your rooms and bathrooms to be adequately sized. Our main goal is make our guests feel comfortable and welcome from the moment they walk through our doors. That is the reasoning behind the complimentary nonalcoholic minibars, Free 30 minute WiFi at our computer stations, 24 hour coffee/tea/snack station in our main lobby.


Our staff are always on hand to give suggestions on where to go and what to do in Milan. The hotel is walking distance to many restaurants and to the central station. There guests can catch the metro, the fastest most economical way travel in Milan.


We were glad to read that you found us to be value for money. And yes, if your schedule is fixed, it is worth it to book our 30 day advance rate and receive the best room rate.


Please come back and visit us again soon! Thank you for choosing Hotel Berna!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

A fine Hotel in a quiet street 200m from Central Station and 100m from Metro. An ideal starting point for any city trip. Public traffic is very easy and very cheap.
No reason at all to enter Milan by car.
The Hotel has comfortable and quiet rooms, international TV and a fantastic breakfast! The service is very polite, quick and helpful. Nothing negative.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kormoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

lovely breakfast and very nice staff
the location is far from the city center ,, but we managed that by taking the Metro

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaden A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 1 August 2009
Dear Alajlan,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. We were delighted to read that you found our staff to be very nice. Staff are always available to assist our guests in any way possible.

Our location is only 4 metro stops or 30 minutes walking distance to Milan's city center. We are most convenient for guests coming to and leaving from all Milan airports. The shuttle bus pick-up/drop off is just steps away from our front door.

Once you are with us, our main goal is to make you feel welcome and comfortable. That is the reasoning behind the complimentary nonalcoholic minibars in all rooms, free 30 min. WiFi at our computer stations and 24 hour coffee/tea/snacks in main lobby.


We are glad you liked our breakfast buffet. We offer such an array of food and beverage in hopes to appeal to all of our guests that come to us from all over the world. We also offer a 'to go' coffee/tea service on our buffet so that our guests can have an extra cup while starting off on their daily adventures.

Please come back and stay with us again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Berna!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

We booked an executive room and was provided a very small room across the hotel in a separate building. To get into the building you had to ring a janitor to open the door for you. We didn’t like it. Anything you needed, you had to cross the street to walk to the hotel. It was annoying. The bathroom was very small and the hand towels were more kitchen towels than real towels. Imagine! We didn’t like the breakfast either. However the people serving breakfast were very nice and helpful.
Our friends stayed at the Windsor Hotel in Via Galileo and their room was large, including the bathroom, they had real towels, breakfast served in the same building and paid 50 euro less per night. We do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takeomega3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
Dear takeomega3,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. Guest feedback is how we learn and hopefully improve upon our services.

You were assigned an Executive room in our newly decorated Berna Tower. All guests are assigned a badge that opens the first door of the building, then guests must ring and the concierge (these gentlemen are not janitors) opens the second door. This is a security as well as comfort measures we provide to our guests. Imagine, if we put our guests in a separate building with no concierge services at all. Many of our returning guests actually prefer the Berna Tower because it is very quiet and private along with the facade being in a particular style. The reception staff would have more been more than willing to assign you a room in our main building if asked.

Regarding the bathroom, the size is standard for Europe. We only use fine linens in our hotel and laundry services are provided by the best known company in Milan that only serves 4 and 5 star hotels. We hope you benefited from the complimentary nonalcoholic minibar, coffee maker and 1 hour WiFi, as these are ways we like to say, thank you for staying with us.

We realize our guests come to us from all over the world and that is the reasoning behind the array of food and beverage on our buffet. It is one our most appreciated services. We feel there is something for everyone. Our buffet is controlled for quality, variety and service daily.

We hope you will give us another chance to show you we are the best value for money. Thank you for choosing Hotel Berna!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

the staff is very professional and friendly ...
the room is clean and quiet ...
it s close to everything ...
perfect place to stay

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddyMONTANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customerrelationship, GM at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 23 July 2009
Dear eddyMONTANA,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna. We were delighted to read your comments and to receive a 5 out of 5 from you.

We are so glad you found our staff very professional and friendly. We are proud of our experienced staff and the fact they are always on hand to assist our guests in anyway possible. Milan is a great city for culture, concerts, shopping, sporting events and expos. There is something to do for everyone, all year round.

Our location is most convenient for guests coming to and from all Milan airports via shuttle bus. We are very near to the central station and the metro is the fastest, most economical form of transportation in Milan. With just a few stops you are in the center of the city. Or, if you prefer, you can even walk to the famous shopping district, Corso Buenos Aires.

We hope you tried our delicious breakfast buffet. Our breakfast sets us apart from many other hotels in Milan. We offer an array of food and beverage and are certain that there is something for everyone. It is the best way to start off your day.

Please come back and stay with us again! Thank you for choosing Hotel Berna!

Sincerely,

Carlo Fontana, GM & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#21 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#13 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing