We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel”
Reviewed 28 November 2006

The location and service at the Berna Milan was great. The breakfast was outrageous. (Chunks of Swiss chocolate and every kind of coffee you can imagine - in addition to the exquisite and plentiful buffet). We arrived a bit early and got our superior room with a jacuzzi. The room was spacious, parquet floors, and really beautiful. The location's great if you want to be outside of the Duomo area. It took 10 minutes by tram to get to that area. We were there mid week and wanted to stay over the weekend but the room we were in was over twice the price for the weekend, and the hotel was fully booked. The front desk guys (forgot their names) were very helpful, advised us where the hotspots are, and really made our stay super. Try it, you'll love it, but don't spread the word too far, the hotel may be fully booked.

  • Liked — The room and the breakfast.
  • Disliked — Location - the area is not very vibrant after 8PM
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank debsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,288
    1,731
    281
    77
    38
See reviews for
1,088
2,772
705
805
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2006

I went to Milan to visit some manufacturers in the Lake Como area and asked them to recommend a hotel near the Central Station. They recommended the Berna Hotel, and I found it to be excellent. Having just paid 230Euro per night in Amsterdam, it was refreshing to find a centrally located hotel in a major city for 89Euro per night, including breakfast. The hotel staff was ultra efficient and helpful. I agree with one comment that the rooms are small, but they are clean, and the bathrooms are larger than is common in European hotels. The breakfast is very nice, with some American dishes and then a wide variety of the normal European breakfast stuff (hard boiled eggs, rolls, cheese, yogurt, etc.)

I was able to walk to Central Station in about 3 minutes, then take the Metro to Cadorna Stn, the take the Malpensa Express, all in under an hour.

I don't know if I got an especially good deal, but I found this to be one of the greatest deals I have encountered in major European cities. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Clean, great location, professional, high value
  • Disliked — Relatively small rooms.
  • Tips/Secrets — Use public transporation and you won't have to walk far.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuck, Santa Cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2006

hotel is a great location, close to the city centre and subway and train station. Rooms were lovely as we requested a double room but got a massive massive bed! The staff were lovely and really helpful. The hotel was clean and very modern and pretty. Breakfast was amazing as it had food for everyone even the most fussy eater. The drink prices wern't overly priced either and you could even have a free snack at the bar. I would definately visit this hotel again as would my partner. The only problem i found was that the rooms were not soundproof as stated on the net, and there were only 2 english channels on the t.v. But overall a brill stay in hotel berna!

  • Tips/Secrets — do not visit gianinnios restuarant!!!!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank dupiatza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset,England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2006

I booked this hotel for my self,my husband and his American work colleague as we were on a business trip. My husband and I stayed in the tower opposite the main hotel. The room was very comfortable, the furnishing were of exceptional quality.The hotel has paid alot of attention to detail, free soft drinks and snacks in the mini bar,bathrobe & slippers etc. There was tea & coffee in the room (but no milk) but we only had to ask at reception.My only complaint would be that we did not have our chocolate at night as they did in the main hotel! The breakfast was amazing and the choice better than any hotel I have stayed in. The staff could not do enough for us and so friendly. I was even given a gift on departure and offered water for our return journey. This hotel was the best I have stayed in for a long time and I travel alot. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Milan and will definately return next year.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank susip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
248 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2006

very nice hotel. good location.
very good service.
fabulous breakfast.
helpful staff.
bad point: room is very small

  • Liked — brakfast, free bar service
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stan1668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington, texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2006

We stayed at Hotel Berna in Milan in October 2006. It was very convenient to the train station, 3 minute walk, and very close to shopping and resturants. Rooms were very nice, down top beds, very comfortable. The reception hour and free breakfast was excellent. Nicest layout of food we had of all hotels in Italy. The staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly and helpful. I had other family members staying at the Hilton for double the price and would say the Berna was just as nice. Not as big of rooms but the quality was as nice. I would will stay there again when I go back!!

Dean
Arlington, Texas

  • Liked — The great food!
  • Disliked — Got only 20 minutes of internet time.
  • Tips/Secrets — Pack Light!!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanosborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2006

I found a really good rate online for a triple room at this hotel so I was very excited. However, when my family and I arrived at the hotel they gave us a double room with a cot. When I called the front desk, I was told that they were overbooked so we had no choice. There was no apology or explanation. I know hotels in Europe are small so I paid for a triple because there were three of us and we had a lot of luggage. Instead, we were crammed into a small room meant for two people. Additionally, our room looked nothing like the ones in the pictures. It looked like it hadn't been renovated in years. The furniture looked worn and the bathroom fixtures were old. It was very disappointing. I couldn't believe this was a 4 star hotel.

In general, I thought people at the front desk were snobby, rude, and completely unhelpful. They couldn't tell me where the closest supermarket was. While they did call a taxi for us, they made no attempt to help us communicate with the taxi driver. Initially, the taxi driver thought he couldn't fit all of our luggage into his van. We asked the guy at the front desk to ask the driver to try to get everything in. However, he refused to help. We were forced to communicate with the driver through hand signals. Fortunately, the taxi driver understood. We were able to get all of our luggage into the van.

Given all the negatives, I have to admit that the breakfast at this hotel was excellent. Also, the hotel is very close to the train station. It's about a 5 minute walk. The neighborhood looked OK. However, when we first arrived there, I could have sworn we passed a prostitute leaving a nearby building with a client.

Overall, I was very disappointed. I've probably stayed in one or two star hotels in Europe with better service and accomodations.

  • Liked — Breakfast.
  • Disliked — Front Desk Staff & Not Getting the Room We Paid For.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ytrinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dantecenter, Customer Relationship Manager at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 13 November 2006
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing us a comment, comments are always a source of energy for the hotel. In the name of the Hotel Berna I would like to apologize for the inconveniences during your staying at our Hotel.

The hotel has being renovating since March 2006 and we are looking forward to terminate the constructions. Unfortunately, we consider this period of improvement a challenge to everyone. Obviously, in your case, we did not manage to provide you with the type of service from you expected. We are sorry!

Differently from standard prices, "really good rates" are followed with certain restrictions and only 2 or 3 rooms per day are reserved for this price category. We believe that the price in relation to quality of our rooms’ category is reasonable.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Tatiana Lucchini
Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,754 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#156 of 428 in Milan
6,105 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 428 in Milan
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
600 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Via Napo Torriani 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
#12 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Berna 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you intend to stay in Milan for work or pleasure, the Hotel Berna is clearly your preferred choice. The Central Station, the subway, the shuttle terminals for the airports are at 200 m from the Hotel. The hotel services include 116 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more... First of all, our welcoming smile. However, the smiles after will be many: when we welcome you and during your stay. And there will also be your smiles when you discover our qualities, the cuddles that we have reserved for you and the surprises prepared just for you. From the breakfast to the cleaning, from the choice of the room temperature to the silence. In the heart of Milano you will discover the atmosphere of one of your second homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Milan
Hotel Berna Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing