We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Milan City Center
Ranked #107 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel itself is wonderful, the rooms are spacious, clean, well maintained. The breakfast is excellent for a 4* hotel. No complains regarding the staff either.
However, unless the hotel does not change its location, we will NEVER come to visit again. We did not feel safe at all, walking alone in the dark streets, just to reach the hotel. We would rather stay at a 3* hotel in a safer neighborhood, rather than here. We didn't feel neither comfortable nor safe!!!

Room Tip: The rooms do not have a good view. But they are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katenaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    271
    83
    16
    8
See reviews for
62
205
26
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Each year a group of us travel to a European city for a weekend and this year we went to Milan and stayed in this excellent hotel. The hotel was sourced by a friend and we weren't sure of the location however it was really good, despite being in Chinatown. Milan centre, the parc sempione with lovely cafes, the castle and duomo were all within reasonable walking distance (15 -25 minutes) and we felt very safe walking home late at night.

The hotel itself was spotless clean, the rooms were a good size, although ours was smaller than some of our friends, it was still more than adequate. The hotel seems to be quite new but is decelerated in a traditional style. . The staff were all friendly, especially the waiting staff. There is an excellent terrace outside which was very comfortable. Breakfast was good and varied and included gluten free options. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was also good.

In Milan it seems to be traditional that in the evening when you buy a drink at a cafe you get offered a buffet style 'snack' (l'apertivo ), this meant there was one or two evenings we didn't actually get round to dinner! The cafes at the parc sempione had a good selection of snacks.

I would definitely stay at the hermitage hotel again. .

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the 'curve' are slightly smaller than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMRS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 10 nights at Hotel Hermitage. We caught the train from the airport to Garabaldi train station (10 euro) and then a taxi to the Hotel (10 euro) as it was quite late/dark and we were unsure where we were going and how safe it would be to walk. We needn't have worried on either score. The Hotel is a 15 min walk from Garabaldi train station and on subsequent nights we walked back to the Hotel around 2300 hrs and felt very safe.

As stated in other reviews the Hotel is in China town area of Milan. This caused us no problem other than we found all the local restaurants to be serving traditional Chinese fayre and not a pizza in sight!!!! As we love Italian food we just ate out during the day and took a snack back to the room at night. Directly outside the Hotel is the Harley Davidson garage which is worth having a look at, even for non bike enthusiasts like us. Its quite spectacular to see hundreds of gleaming bikes lined up and the staff are quite happy for you to nip in and take a couple of photos etc.

The Hotel itself was spotlessly clean and the room was of a good size with a large comfy bed. Towels were changed every day and toiletries were also replenished daily. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage (looked like skinless cocktail sausages but hey ho!), cereals, toast, croissants, fresh fruit etc and tea/coffee was served at the table by the waitress. Special mention must go to Rosela who took a shine to my husband and made him try numerous different coffees (each time she would come back and ask if he wanted more .. not a service extended to other diners). Whilst she couldn't speak English and he couldn't speak Italian they still managed to understand each other and she, along with all other restaurant staff, couldn't do enough for you. A couple of reviewers have indicated reception staff were rude/unhelpful - well I totally disagree. I fell ill whilst at the Hotel and at 0730 hrs Roberto was ringing for a Dr (Dr was knocking on my bedroom door 30 mins later). On another occasion one of the girls on reception researched a particular town for us on the internet and then printed off all the information we would need for our day out. Whenever we returned at the end of the day we were acknowledged by whichever member of staff was on duty (unless they were dealing with someone else). The staff are most definitely friendly, helpful and polite. The hotel has a peaceful seating area in a courtyard where drinks can be enjoyed at night, or breakfast can be taken in the morning.

The Hotel appeared to be used mainly by professional people and their companies for conferences. We used it merely as a base from which to explore other parts of Northern Italy (Bergamo, Bologna (fantastic), Lake Como, Lake Maggiore, Turin and Positano) and for any other reviewers who are doing similar to us I would recommend that, if using the train to get around the region, you go to Garabaldi, get on the underground and go to Milan Central Station. For some reason train tickets to the afore mentioned places were a lot cheaper leaving from Central and only took 5 mins longer for using the underground. We also took in a football game whilst there, tickets can be obtained from the banks or Inter Milan have a shop near the Cathederal where tickets can be purchased (37 euro for men, 27 euro for women) on production of your passport.

Cannot fault this hotel and would definitely use it again if we ever returned to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caramac282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in this wonderful hotel. The room was a nice size, well appointed and spotlessly clean, ours overlooked the front entrance but despite the hustle and bustle of Chinatown we had no disturbances . We enjoyed walking into central Milan (Duomo) via the park and castle which took about 25 minutes which was very pleasant, although some may prefer a tram which also runs frequently close to the hotel. The hotel restaurant (Bistrot) served nice food at a very reasonable price, although it was a bit quite during our stay. Would definitely stay here again should we return to Milan.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Igualada, Spain
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Well, this is a very good hotel, but it is not centrally located, you need to take the tram to reach central Milan. If you arrive when it's dark, it doesn't look like the best place in Milan to stay, lot of chinese shops and people. Good breakfast for italian standards. Good value for money. I would repeat if back in Milan.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanetJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned from 3 night stay in this lovely hotel. It looks modern from the outside but the decor of the entrance and the rooms has character. We had a room overlooking the terrace which was very quiet. Rooms are a good size as is the bathroom. The breakfast is continental and the coffee is excellent. Friend travelling with us required gluten free products which the hotel has.

The hotel is in the middle of Chinatown and as stated already there are many choices of authentic restaurants nearby. We ate in the hotel for dinner one night also and it was excellent.

The hotel also organised a minibus to pick us up from the airport and return journey which was very welcome and a seamless journey.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking terrace are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiesonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Had 2 nights here and had a great time. The location in the middle of China Town was great. China Town was so interesting, always very busy and bustling but absolutely no problem to walk around. So many restaurantss close to the hotel that it was difficult to choose where to go. Numerous very good street cafes and bars. Take your walking shoes if you stay here as it is so convenient to walk everywhere.

The hotel was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyPaphos_Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Enterprise Hotel
#31 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#154 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Milan City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Milan City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Milan City Center
Address: Via Messina 10, 20154 Milan, Italy (Formerly Hermitage Hotel)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Milan
#68 Business Hotel in Milan
#86 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#87 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Milan City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Milan City Center provides 130 elegant designed rooms and makes you profit from excellent facilities and its perfect location between Corso Sempione and Porta Garibaldi. The fairground Fiera Milano and the Expo area can be reached in only 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Milan City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing