We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good in fairness but 1 black mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of UNA Hotel Cusani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Hotel Cusani
Ranked #38 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty good in fairness but 1 black mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Ok- the hotel is a pretty good hotel: here are the good points:
excellent location
excellent breakfast
It's modern and clean

Not so good points:
Room was very small and the bede was 12 inches directly in front of the toilet (this is weird).

Bad point:
I asked for advice from the front desk for a restuarant and explained that it was a special occassion and that we did not want a tourist trap (so to speak) but somewhere with a good atmosphere and where Milanese would eat. The desk obviously has some deal with a nearby (<5 minutes walk) restaurant L'C************ (I'll save their embarrassment and business for now) as they also tried to send us there for lunch. Basically it is very expensive, no atmosphere and only tourists in it. Avoid this restuarant, just walk around the nearby streets and there are plenty.
Also taxis from the front desk arrive with a fair bit on the clock. There are plenty outside.

So the hotel is fine, I would stay there again but the front desk who in fairness were very polite really let the place down with the bad recommendation for the restaurant. Overall it is probably a 3.5.

Last point, if you are heading to La Scala and you are tempted to call in to a little cafe/restaurant "Pizza and Pasta" with lots of framed movie pictures outside- don't bother, had spagetti carbonara and had to send it back as it was just spagetti- no bacon. So that's it folks.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_Irish_Bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    325
    81
    17
    11
See reviews for
89
303
56
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

I decided to book this hotel as it seemed to have a great price and excellent reviews. I couldn't have been happier with my decision. The hotel is really well located, and you can walk to all major sightseeing spots from it. The breakfast was the best we've had in Italy and the room was really modern.
Just loved it!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaPSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantsala, Finland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed there for a week and were very satisfied. Hotel is very well located, next to the metro station in a nice area. Personnel was helpful and arranged anything we asked for - excluding iron, that is not allowed to get to the room.
Room was comfortable, large, well-arranged with a very comfortable bed. Huge choice of pillows, clean bathroom.
Only two minuses - Internet connection for 25€/24h (!) and regular coffee at the breakfast made from some instant type. But you can always ask for cappuccino or espresso. Really good choice of dishes for breakfast and nice personnel.
We can strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

Perfect location, comfortable, wonderful atmosphere, decor, service, etc...
Breakfast is one of the best I encountered in Europe, and it was included. Location was ideal for me: walking distance from Cadorna train station (where you get the Malpensa Express : the only sensible way to get to the airport); also walking distance from most tourist attractions; Taxis easily reached if you must, and there is a subway station very close by, as well as two "Bike Mi" stations.

Only concerns:
- Firm beds: did not bother me too much, but may be an issue for others. Maybe they have alternatives or mattress toppers available - I did not ask.
- They changed my towels and beddings daily even though they have a green policy that allows you to opt out... I complained and the hotel manager wrote to me as follows:
"I have received with pleasure your comment, as the respect for the environment is a crucial issue for us, and we would like that our impact on it is minimum. I have spoken in this regard with my staff in order to avoid the recurrence of similar events."
This is enough to make me consider them again for my next visit!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

My room was not in the new refurbished section, didn't have tea/coffee making facilities and my mini bar was not stocked, Very average hotel for a 4star rated hotel and very unhelpful staff,

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaffeOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

We stayed two nights from 24 August. The hotel is walking distance from Malpensa Airport train station, the Duomo, shopping, galleries and the castle. We visited Milan before travelling driving to Lake Como and found the hotel lived up to previous reviews. It has well equipped and maintained rooms and facilities, excellent service, a good breakfast and is in a great location. If I needed to stay in central Milan I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

The hotel is well located and is very close to the Castle, Zani Viaggi tour operators and Open-Top tour bus stop. It was also a nice walk to the Duomo Catherdral which is a great area for taking photos in the large plaza surrounded by lovely buildings. To the left-rear of the cathedral is a very fashionable department store called Rinacente, with 2 trendy balcony cafes on the top floor with great views overlooking the cathedral. The hotel itself was pleasant, and the air-con in the room was really good on a hot day. The bathroom had a speaker in the ceiling so you could hear the TV. The TV had CNN and a Sky movie channel in english. When I arrived there were a few clear plastic wrappers from the soap on the floor and the cleaners didnt notice them the following day either which I found strange. Otherwise a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Hotel Milano Scala
Hotel Milano Scala
#27 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#25 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Centro Storico
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#130 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Cusani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Cusani

Property: UNA Hotel Cusani
Address: Via Cusani 13, 20121 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Milan
#32 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#42 Business Hotel in Milan
#52 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Cusani 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant UNA Hotel Cusani lies in a very central position between the Castello Sforzesco and the Duomo. Its 92 refined rooms and the welcoming lounges of the hall provide exclusive comfort. The hotel features 6 meeting rooms equipped with the ultimate technologies accommodating up to 90 delegates. The well-known restaurant offers a taste of the best gastronomic specialties of traditional and international cuisines. Private garage is available for customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Cusani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing