We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good hotel”
Review of Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #78 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a good hotel”
Reviewed 20 September 2008

I always stay in Michelangelo when I come to Milan on a business trip. I like it because of a good service, nice rooms and a location. It is right next to the Centrale train station, you can get daily newspaper and the breakfast is great! There is a fresh orange juice, fruits, real Italian coffee, and a big choice of warm dishes (pasta, eggs, beans, etc.) and a variety of cheese and ham. The staff is very nice and helpful. The problems that I experience - as a business traveller - are two. No WIFI in the rooms (Internet connection in the bar is slow and you cannot really work there if needed); the other problem is that it is not easy to get a taxi when you need to go for a meeting in the morining. Even though there is a taxi stand right across the street, there is usally a long queue there.
In general, this hotel is an exellent value for money and I can recommend it to tourists as well as business people. I stayed in other hotels in Milan and I know that it is not easy to find a hotel like this.

  • Liked — service, breakfast and room comfort
  • Disliked — no WIFI internet
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Miauova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    808
    193
    46
    30
See reviews for
284
492
126
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We have stayed three times at the Michelangelo during the past 15 years. The hotel is very comfortable and the rooms are very quiet. The quality of furnishing and decoration is superb, and the rooms have very thoughtful design ideas, especially the closets and shelves for suitcases. Electric curtains block out all the light. A quiet buzzer at the door means no pounding on the doors to waken you. Maid service was superb with a little mat for your feet on getting out of bed and slippers provided. A single whirlpool bath with a power shower. Breakfast is huge with everything you can think of to eat, including pasta! We ate one night in the restaurant and it was very good. We did not think the place looked scruffy at all, although there are a few scratches if you look hard enough. These are more than compensated for by the beautiful marble and wood everywhere. There is high speed internet access available in a room off the bar, but not in the bedrooms, which is a little annoying in a hotel of this quality. You are 3 minutes away from the Centrale Station where there are buses to all the airports. I would definitely stay there again, and heartily recommend the Michelangelo.

  • Liked — Comfortable and quiet bedroom
  • Disliked — No internet access in bedroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We really enjoyed our two night stay in hotel michelangelo, having stayed in several other 4star hotels around italy it is definitely of a higher class than some!!! The staff were very friendly and the room was fine. The bath with the jets was a great touch and complimentary mini bar snacks and refreshments are suppllied. It is across from central station so this was handy for airport shuttles and for getting the metro during the day.
The hotel bar was pretty expensive so i would adivse bars off the beaten track as bars in the gallaria area are just as expensive.

  • Liked — the bath and location
  • Disliked — the bar prices
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank samanthadublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

Stayed for a couple of nights really close to Milan central station making it really easy to get about.
Staff extemely helpful, room and bathroom of a good size, bed very comfortable.
Breakfast was great lots of choice.
Would highly recommend.
Got a good price on lastminute.com

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2008

Before today ,my last stay at the Michelangelo was in 1998 or so. At that time it was an impressive luxury hotel with many amenities and an excellent option for business travel. With this in mind I booked a few days in Milan on a business trip this month. The hotel has not had a face lift in 10 years and it really, really shows. There is no longer room service other than for breakfast and, unbelievable as it is, the only Internet access in the guest rooms is via dial-up service. To top this off, the air conditioning/heating system in my room was not functional. On a Sunday night, it appeared unlikely that anyone from maintenance was going to fix it. We found accomodations at the Westin Palace and left the Michelangelo before staying a single night. We will now have to work with Expedia to get our prepaid nights refunded. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

  • Liked — Locatiom
  • Disliked — Lack of Internet access, worn out guest rooms and public areas, inadequate room service
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TX_Road_Warrior_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

We stayed here for five nights in November, hotel was great, had a lovely big room for three of us, only problem was the hairdryer but we had a free mini-bar stocked daily with water and minerals and chocolate, the bathroom was lovely and big too.

The location was perfect, great for getting around Milan and out of Milan. The staff were very helpful and friendly and great to recommend places to go.

Hotel was excellent value and I would definitely return.

  • Liked — location and rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridmc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Given the very reasonable rate at which we booked this hotel, I was truly impressed by the quality of the hotel. The location was as promised- a stone's throw from the Stazione Central, the central train station in Milan, with super easy access from Malpensa airport. The location is also central to most of Milan's major attractions- either walking distance, or a short subway ride (subway is also located inside stazione central). The room was also wonderful- a decent size, and outfitted with amenities that would rival many more expensive hotels (tons of bath products, free mini-bar re-stocked every day with juice, water, cookies, crackers, chocolate, and more). The room and bath were nicely decorated in a clean, contemporary style that efficiently used every inch of the room to maximize space. The breakfast that came with the price of the room was also very impressive- no continental breakfast here. It was a full, Italian hot breakfast with so many choices in hot and cold entrees, pastries, fruit, etc, that in a three day stay, I was not able to try everything. Overall, I was very impressed. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, and plan to visit again soon.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lordoftheonionrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#56 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#38 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#80 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,324 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#83 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelangelo Hotel

Property: Michelangelo Hotel
Address: Piazza Luigi di Savoia, 6, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Milan
#41 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#51 Business Hotel in Milan
#64 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelangelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Michelangelo is an impressive building around the corner from Milano Central Train Station. It has well-designed, modern rooms with free minibar, free Wi-Fi, and free wired internet. Most rooms have a spa tub. Rooms are soundproof, and equipped with air conditioning and a TV with satellite channels. The private bathroom is complete with soft bathrobes and slippers, and a hairdryer. The generous buffet breakfast includes a variety of pastries and fresh fruit, and a selection of cold and hot dishes and organic products. Michelangelo Hotel's staff can provide expert advice on the city, as well as tourist and travel information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelangelo Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing