We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Platinum Guest Felt very mistreated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Milan Marriott Hotel
Ranked #147 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After two nights in the Milan Marriott I asked about an additional night and was told there would not be a problem because Tuesday the 17th of September had 10 rooms available., when I approached Titiana at the front desk on Monday the16th to book the extra night she told me that they did not have a room...That I would have to leave , she "did not care" that I was Marriott Platinum and American Express Platinum. I will never stay here again, and I will advise everyone I know to avoid this property. I called the Marriott customer service and complained and ask them to please explain to their employees how difficult it is to become Marriott Platinum. And yes, my room smells like cigarettes and the hotel is very dated (and expensive for what you get).

Room Tip: avoid this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

I am a loyal Marriott stayer for 15 years (Gold status), and have had excellent service at most of their properties. I harbor no grudges here, just giving an honest review -- maybe the folks at Marriott will read this (sorry Marriott, but if you've visited this property you'll agree). This hotel needs to be gutted and 100% renovated. This is a rare Marriott miss. I stayed on the Concierge Level, in a big suite, so it should've been putting their best foot forward, but it was horrible.

Do not stay at this property unless you are willing to put up with:

Moldly smells and cigarette-hiding smells. It feels like it's been smoked in for decades (Italians love to smoke) and they never really got rid of the smell

Decor from the 1960s, garish, ostentatious, often with scratches and in need of replacement

Carpet and wallpaper that should've been replaced at least 10 years ago

Poor phone service - sometimes I called and it would take an hour to get a human)

Smelly, uninviting concierge lounge

I wouldn't really trust the positive reviews of this hotel. The negative ones reflect my experience. Unfortunately, I had to book my hotel quickly and didn't check TripAdvisor first.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Front Office Manager at Milan Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Marriott and for taking the time to evaluate us on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our service and guest satisfaction.

We truly apologize for the inconveniences during your stay. Please be assured that your complaint has already been carefully analyzed and discussed within the management department and first steps are being done to avoid such complaints in the future.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again to the Milan Marriott hotel and will make every effort to better meet your expectations next time.

Warm regards,
Katia Di Martino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The husband had a 4 day meeting in Milan and we planned a 15 day trip out of it. We stayed at 3 smaller B&B's in Rome, Florence and Venice which were excellent, but the Marriott in Milan was a complete and utter disaster.

Husband is a Marriott Glod Rewards Member. We had requested a doublebed room 3 months in advance when this meet was scheduled. When we arrived at 11pm, we were given a twin room and told that there were no queens available, but they would shift us in the morning. (In the morning, I took a look at the Queen sized bed room, but that was much smaller than the twin room, so I elected to stay put in the room we were originally given, even though we were there for 5 days.)

While most people attending this conference were booked for 5 nights. My husband and a few others had booked for 5 nights. The Hotel claimed that they had not been intimated of the extension.

The next thing they told us was that something was wrong with their credit card system, so instead of blocking the amount, before the stay, they would charge us before the stay.

Next we were told that the wifi was under maintainance and would not be working. It took over 14 hours for the wifi to be up and running, which was when we were told that we would be charged 12 euros per day per device for accessing wifi in our room. Every other place we stayed in, in Italy gave us free wifi in our rooms with excellent speed.

They said that they provided free wifi in the lobby, but after a long day of work (husband) sightseeing (me), who wants to go down to the lobby to surf basic news, mail and fb? We just want to lounge in bed for an hour or so in our pyjamas, read up on whats happenning in the world before we crash in bed. Given how well dressed people in Milan are (a lot of them visiting the bar opposite the lobby) it felt embarassing to come down in slippers, but in a day or 2, we just couldn't care anymore. I neeeded to access the internet to plan my next days trip and mail family back home.

After checking into the room, we realised that there was no tea / coffee maker in the room, which was a pain because Milan was really cold and all I really wanted was to constantly sip on some warm water in the room, so I wouldn't catch a throat infection.

Breakfast was the only bright spot at this hotel. A wide range of good tasting food.

One night we ordered soup (you have to order before 11, if you want any hot foods, otherwise your options are cold sandwiches or soup) because husband wanted some hot liquid down his throat. The soup was more solid than liquid. It was tasty, but chock full of vegetables, potatoes and pasta. It was barely 10% liquid and 90% solid. Not what he wanted at all.

The staff is sweet, but something seems seriously wrong with this Marriott. We have stayed at other Marriotts across the world and the only Marriott that could compete with this one for last place is possibly the one in Luxor.

If you are forced to stay here and don't want to pay 4Euros + service tax for water, walk across to the supermarket opposite and pick up half liter bottles for 25p

Also the hotel is quite far away from the Duomo and the City center, so it isn't ideally located for sightseeing either.

We would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel itself as far as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karishma-Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Front Office Manager at Milan Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor following you stay at the Milan Marriott hotel.

We do apologise for the misunderstanding at the check in time regarding the typology of the rooms, the inconvenience you had regarding the internet connection and the pre-payment that my colleagues asked at the check in time.

Unfortunately during those days we had serious problem with the server and could not guarantee a good internet service to our client. This caused the slowness of our system and the malfunction of the credit card apparatus.

All of your comments have been taken on board.

As we strive to constantly provide a high level of service, we are always keen to hear about your experience as our aim is to offer our guests an excellent service. We are happy that at least you appreciated our delicious breakfast

Probably the overall of your stay did not meet your satisfaction but we hope to have the chance to welcome you again to the Milan Marriott hotel and will make every effort to better meet your expectations next time.

Best regards,
Katia Di Martino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

we are loyal Marriott customers but this was quite disappointing. the hotel is old, tired, very oddly laid out. the rooms are small. the executive floor was unimpressive. The hotel is not conveniently located to anything unless you are going to the convention center. It actually was the most un-Marriott I have ever stayed in. would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Front Office Manager at Milan Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at the Milan Marriott

We hope that even though the hotel was not meeting your expectation because of the style, it has not affected your opinion of the quality of service we offer everyday to our customers.

In the last year we have already started to refurbish some areas of the hotel and already have a plan for the executive floor, we are just waiting for the final permission from the local council.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again to the Milan Marriott hotel and will make every effort to better meet your expectations next time.

Warm regards,
Katia Di Martino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Milan Marriott offers very nice rooms and amenities, and excellent service. Easy to reach if you are driving to Milan, located on a wide pleasant boulevard. The only downside for those planning to explore the city center: it is some ways from it; at least 30 minutes on foot to Duomo, or a few minutes walk followed by 6 stops on the subway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlyaBurlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Front Office Manager at Milan Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Milan Marriott hotel and sharing your experience.

We are thankful for your detailed feedback and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our service.

Looking forward to welcoming you at the Milan Marriott hotel again in the future.

Best regards,
Katia Di Martino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

All in all, this is a very good property. As others have pointed out, it isn't terribly close to everything, but it's fairly easy to get around Milan and there's enough to do in the area to entertain yourself. Clean, well maintained and service that is both good and consistent. The breakfast is outstanding, and the restaurant is good or a little better for other meals.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritzco97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Front Office Manager at Milan Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure that I will share your comment with the whole staff: please accept our gratitude for choosing our property and our services.

We hope to give you again a warm welcome very soon!

Kind regards,
Katia Di Martino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel was nicer than I expected it to be. We stayed here for just one night at the end of our vacation before flying home. The location isn't the greatest, about a 15 minute taxi ride to the Duomo and train station and about 45 minutes to the airport but the surrounding area was quiet and felt safe.
The rooms were good size and were clean with comfortable beds. We did not have rooms that were near each other but they were still on the same floor which was helpful. We ate breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and it was pretty good. If we ever return to Milan I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeline13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest R, Front Office Manager at Milan Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you so much for your positive review.

Thank you for sharing your recent guest experience via Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us and we are that you are already planning to come back to visit us.

We are truly looking forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Katia Di Martino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Magna Pars Suites
Magna Pars Suites
#35 of 428 in Milan
323 reviews
Brera
Senato Hotel Milano
Senato Hotel Milano
#46 of 428 in Milan
207 reviews
Brera
Hotel Milano Scala
Hotel Milano Scala
#25 of 428 in Milan
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
AC Hotel Milano
AC Hotel Milano
#100 of 428 in Milan
984 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 428 in Milan
2,726 reviews
nhow Milano
#28 of 428 in Milan
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milan Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milan Marriott Hotel

Address: Via Washington, 66, 20146 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#116 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £86 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milan Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milan Marriott Hotel is a contemporary hotel in Milan, Italy with glass & marble facade, and situated within walking distance of underground station & historical center near fairgrounds. Stay with us an enjoy our perfect setting near the Fashion District and City Life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Milan Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Milan
Milan Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing