We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Questionable”
Review of Hotel dei Fiori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel dei Fiori
Ranked #330 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 26 September 2008

The Hotel Dei Fiori is a few metro stops out of the city centre, but the metro is easy to use, convenient and cheap (particularly if you buy a 48 hr ticket if you are stopping a few days).
However, there is virtually nothing in the immediate surround of where the hotel is based.
The rooms are basic, a little shabby but adequate for a few days stay.
The staff are friendly and polite enough, although not the quickest and most responsive you will find, and it was difficult finding information out.
Breakfast was a good variety of food, although not always the freshest. But there was very little room to eat in, it felt cramped and uncomfortable. Whats even worse is that to clean the tables after use they simply changed the cutlery and ran a dust buster across the top...didn't leave us confident about the hygiene procedures.
Fine for a rocky few nights there, but anything longer or those looking for comfort, I wouldn 't recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2008

we chose this hotel as we needed to park our car as well... and it was on our way to downtown, right at the end of highway.

price was reasonable for milan, breakfast good, room ok, and quiet (we asked for one facing the backyard/alley

bathroom could be better functioning, but no big deal...

also as we went out with our car in the night, we returned finding no more space within their secure car park !!!! after we complained a little , as we told the receptionist that secure parking was the main reason we stayed there, he instructed us to squeeze our car between his and a wall... so that was settled .
so be warned ...limited car spaces !!!

other than that ...ok (stayed just 1 night anyway as we had to move on)

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 31man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

We booked a weekend trip to Italy which was VERY cheap so we didn't have very high expectations of the accommodation. The hotel was clean & the rooms had all of the usual stuff - tv's hairdryers, etc. However ! - there are no restaurants near by, apart from one above a bowling alley which admittedly does nice pizzas, so if you want to go out to eat at night then you have to catch the underground and to get to that you need to go under a couple of underpasses - not good if you're travelling alone! Breakfast is basic although there was plenty of it. All in all, if you don't want to go out at night & you don't mind catching the underground to get anywhere then this hotel would be fine for you! Probably wouldn't stay there again myself though!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2007

The hotel was like Fawlty towers - the manager was definitely a Basil! It is not near the city centre as advertised. It is 5 stops out on the metro. It is not near bars and restaurants - there is one restaurant in a bowling alley - which the manager would not direct me to. Other guests told me about it.

The wak from the metro to the hotel is through underpasses - not advised when on your own and at night.

The rooms were very basic although the bed was fine. The colour scheme left a lot to be desired. I had a pair of underwear and a sock in the room with me - which was not mine and only appeared after the bed change on day two! The shower left a lot to be desired.

The breakfast was actually very nice, well presented and tasty.

I suppose you pay for what you get and it was cheap but the location is definitely much further out of town than suggested.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank JJTRIPLEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

Hotel ok but not the best myself and my 5 friend's went to milan for a 3 day short break, we were glad it was only 3 days as milan itsself is not the place we expected as it is a dirty place with graffiti everywhere and as for the hotel where do u start the reception staff were the most rude and un helpfull people we had ever met, they refused to serve us a drink from the bar at 8.30 pm and told us the bar was closed and would not open again till 7am the following morning, we complained to [--] manager the following morning to be told they could open the bar when they felt like it and not to suit the guests, he also told us that for all the hotel made out of our booking we could like it or lump it. they also refused to let one of our party who has a disability that she could not use the toilet on the 1st floor and made her go back up stairs to her room which was totally unacceptable. so you can make up your own minds whither to use this hotel but we will most certainly wont be back.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank neilmcdade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

The rooms were really small. Everything was really packed so that it could fit in the room. The hotel area was not much to look at. The receptionist was a bit rude and the breakfast room was really small. On the plus side the breakfast was good and the hotel was close to a metro station.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank biribilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

Firstly, the famagosta metro station is 3 mins walk from this hotel. However, this metro station is tacky looking. Between the metro station & the dei fiori hotel there are 3 short road underpasses ( well lit at night ) which are heavily sprayed with grafitti ( see my pic above ). Not very inviting for females!!.
I was always back at the hotel before dark, so i had no problem there. During the days, I never encountered any threathning types either.

The hotel staff were all friendly, and the reception staff spoke reasonably good english. The hotel itself, and my own room were clean & nice.
However, the bath/ shower was a tight squeeze for a 5'5'' person like me. It was funny, the toilet is flushed by turning on/off a tap like flusher. There was also a bidet.
External sound proofing was very good. Internal sound proofing was as adequate as other hotels, and i slept well enough.

Breakfast consisted of croissents, yogurt, bread rolls & good quality ham (not spam). There also was a machine which made nice latte, expresso,cappacino and tea. The morning greeting is 'Bonjourno'.
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE.
The hotel pics are accurate.

The Milan experience ?.
Milan & paris catwalks may be the fashion capitals of europe.
However, milan city appearance does NOT compare to either paris or barcelona. Milan city needs a facelift. This is obvious the moment you arrive at stazione centrale.
Also, Milan has some degree of problem with grafitti. Its not at terrible levels, but its there. Sad for a european fashion capital.

The metro all day tickets are €3 for 1 day ( Abbonamento Giornaliero Urbano), or €5.50 for 2 days ( Abbonamento Bigiornaliero Urbano ). The Metro ticket vending machines in metro stations DONT have an english language option.
Just like in Rome, the metro stations generally look downbeat, and the passangers look poor. You also get buskers on carriages, who send their kids around with a cup to collect money. Just like in Rome.

The milan tour bus is €20 for 24 hours, and departs from outside the Mc Donalds in front of the duoma ( across piazza duoma ).
It also departs from outside the castello sforzesco.
Also the duoma looks smaller than you expect ( not as grand as La Sacrada Familla in Barcelona).

Gallaria vitorio emanualle is just off piazza duoma. La Scala is just at the other end of Gallaria vittorio emannalle.

Nobody in Milan caused me any problem, despite the amount of grafitti.
NB. If you want to use an internet cafe in Italy, you must first produce your passport!.

I think I will not be returning to Milan, as it is only worth a 2 day visit.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank smiley70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.3 mi away
Plus Welcome Milano
Plus Welcome Milano
#264 of 431 in Milan
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marte Milano
Hotel Marte Milano
#370 of 431 in Milan
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Spezia - Gruppo MiniHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#343 of 431 in Milan
109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercurio
Hotel Mercurio
#371 of 431 in Milan
217 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alga
Alga
#224 of 431 in Milan
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Fiori

Address: Via Renzo E Lucia 14, 20142 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £58 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Fiori 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in South of Milan near the subway green line exit Famagosta, two minutes walking, and having a car parking free. From our Hotel, by subway, it's possible to reach every part of Milan,the centre of the city, Milanofiori Business Center, Fairs,the Mediolanum Forum for sports and concerts, Universities,Railway stations and San Paolo Hospital in a few minutes without car.Our Hotel is a three stars with all soundproofed rooms and wi-fi connection free.Inside the rooms air conditioning, safe, minibar,hairdryer,tv led with flat-screen, wi-fi connection free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel dei Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Fiori Milan
Dei Fiori Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing