We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problem with the water temperature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Ranked #61 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times before and have always been very satisfied, however this stay was disappointing because the hot water temperature in the bathroom was tepid. I complained after the first night and was moved to another room, but the water was no hotter, so I assume it is a policy of the management not to keep the water hot (cost cutting??). I had this problem once in a hotel in Mexico and came back with a serious ear infection which was due to bacteria in the water because it was not heated enough to kill off the germs. I was therefore very nervous of having a similar problem after my stay at this hotel and indeed have suffered from red and itchy eyes during my stay and for a couple of days after. If the management could just heat the water to a higher temperature, the problem would disappear, and I hope they do solve it because the hotel is a nice one. The rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet and the breakfast is excellent, as is the location just a few metres from the metro station. The water problem really put me off though and I think next time in Milan I will stay at the Best Western Galles just up the road as I think it now has the edge over this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid looking onto the main street which can be very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel is such a lovely building. Rooms were clean and well cared for. Food we had was not so good, but we ate out most of the time. However, when my son thought he'd lost his passport Nicolas, the man on reception could not have been more helpful. He contacted the embassies in Milan and Rome for us and was so polite - even when we found the passport! Would definitely go there again. Drinks were rather expensive though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The hotel is located on the subway and therefore the trains can be heard and felt passing under it every two minutes or so. If you are a light sleeper this could affect your stay. The rooms to the front are nice and the bathrooms have been updated. There was unfortunately an occasional sewer smell coming from the plumbing or the ventilation of the restrooms. We did get a very generous late check out at 4p.m. The staff was super helpful and patient with answering all questions and helping with directions .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84alib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Good location. Walking distance 20mins to duomo or you can catch metro two stops. Loved loved loved the breakfast and the sweet maitre'd who was proud to please us! Clean rooms, spacious too. 24hr concierge is great, very helpful. Note that city tax of 4euros pp is on top of quoted rate per day.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank foodiechatcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Disappointed with the room for the price. It was very small and cramped, so much so I could not open my suitcase fully on the floor. The bathroom only had a shower and was so small you kept banging into other bathroom units whilst trying to use it. The hotel appears to be directly over the underground Metro and even into the early hours of the morning, every couple of minutes the whole place rumbles.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed here and the end of August on a business conference, I had been upgraded to a room at the front of the hotel which was lovely and had french windows overlooking the street below - I was slightly concerned when I saw the earplugs in the bathroom but whilst you could hear the noise of the traffic and the tram, it didn't keep me awake - the room attendants though did. Every morning they were banging up and down the corridors and a couple of afternoons when I wanted a quiet hour, I put my do not disturb light on and they to absolutely no notice and knocked on the door whenever they needed access.
Breakfast was ok - powdered scrambled egg and soggy streaky bacon was the extent of the cooked and a selection of the usual cererals and tinned fruit, with pre sliced bread was about it.
Reception staff were great and very helpful but often they had to serve at the bar as well which sometimes led to delays, very small bar area in the main reception so not somewhere you would meet for a drink.
Fantastic location - for sightseeing and shopping and for that alone I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank Medron5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights.
The locations is good, subway station right outside the hotel - however I had read from previous reviews that the rooms can be quite noisy because of the subway and other traffic so I specifically requested a room facing the inner courtyard, and the room was very quiet (in fact, during check-in I was upgraded to a better room than I had booked which was very nice). Lots of shops on Corso Buenos Aires and access to the Milan central station was convenient with the tram.
The room (on the 5th floor) wasn´t very big but since I was travelling solo it was ok. Air-con was a definite plus as the weather was boiling hot.
Breakfast was good, all the normal breakfast foods were available.
Staff spoke English and were quite friendly.
The free wifi was excellent, there is also a computer in the lobby for the hotel quest.
The only thing that was strange and quite annoying was that the maids wanted to clean my room every day even though I specifically put the do-not-disturb sign on my door every morning. I´m a very private person and I don´t want people touching my stuff so I always put those signs on my door whenever I stay at any hotel. And yet every afternoon when I returned my room had been cleaned. What´s the point of even having those signs available if they are of no use?
For the money I payed per night (66€) this was a real find and I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kp1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#39 of 428 in Milan
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
680 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#73 of 428 in Milan
2,726 reviews
Ramada Plaza Milano
#71 of 428 in Milan
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo

Address: Corso Buenos Aires 3, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Milan
#50 Family Hotel in Milan
#55 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#67 Business Hotel in Milan
#70 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £83 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worldhotel Cristoforo Colombo is located in the heart of Milan, in Corso Buenos Aires, one of the city's most important shopping streets. The MM1 'Porta Venezia' metro stop is just 20 metres from the hotel, linking it to many of the most important places in the city, including Piazza Duomo, Leonardo da Vinci's Last Supper, the fashion district and the new trade fair centre. The 138 guest rooms of the Hotel Cristoforo Colombo offer a perfect place to relax during your stay in Milan. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our guest rooms,recently renovated and graced with elegant parquet floors,for your comfort. Provided with services like air conditioning, a safe, a free minibar, free Wi-Fi, a kettle for coffee and tea, a SMART TV to connect your mobile phone and view movies or your photos, SKY Movies and SKY Sport, dressing gown and slippers,our guest rooms offer a special oasis of tranquillity in the heart of this vibrant city. The use of the SPA is free of charge ( Guests booking standard room need only purchase the health and safety Kit which can be kept and reused for € 9.00 ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cristoforo Colombo
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing