We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Ranked #61 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good for overall”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We've stayed at the hotel for a night as Milan was our stopover before other towns in Italy. The hotel offered good service incl. Valet parking which was€30/day, excellent breakfast, good location near city centre and underground station. Room was rather small but not an issue. The only minus was the size of the shower which was very small.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    452
    153
    42
    22
See reviews for
140
411
88
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

An overall disappointing experience and not worthy of 4 star status.

The hotel is on a main shopping road. Hotel entrance is not fantastic and fairly small. You have to go down a corridor to get to the main hotel reception, which is ceiling covered. This corridor is also deemed the “smokers lounge” and really does smell like cigarettes. Not a fantastic first impression of the hotel. They should really move the smokers lounge into the courtyard. You will also get a glimpse of the spa entrance along the corridor. Upon entering the hotel and thereafter, it always has some kind of disinfectant smell, can’t quite put my finger on it…

Reception is confined within a small area. Command of English for all is rather poor. The hotel lounge is very basic, not very exciting. Quite bland. Lobby is clean. We stayed in a room on the 5th floor. Lift was spacious (quite surprised at this). Like other travellers, rooms are on the small size. The problem is that the rooms look old, paint fading in areas, desks and shelves look dirty. Windows do open (if you like natural air).

For women, please take your own hairdryer –the hotel provides low power/low voltage types that are “stuck” to the bathroom wall. Towels have a musky smell cleaned or not cleaned, as if they have been hard boiled?!

I do not think the walls are paper thin but I do think the plumbing has a lot to be admired as when your next door neighbours wants to shower or use flushes, well you can hear everything. Simple toiletries provided, shower gel, shampoo etc.... OK.

Here is the major let down: You have complimentary use of the spa. Good concept. Good idea. The spa is small. Sitting in the relaxation room – you can hear the “thudder” of the trains going past. To get to the spa you must be in in your robe and walk through the main lobby of the hotel! This is absurd as guests at the lobby or guests just arriving will see you in your robe and hotel slippers (which you must wear to the spa). Having people walk through a so called “4 star” hotel dripping wet coming back from the spam sends out a rather “second rate tone to the hotel – just my opinion I mean ok for a resort I suppose, but not in a “City hotel”. Guests must get changed in their bedrooms, walk down to the spa in their robes and towels and only arrive at the spa in a bathrobe. You are not allowed to get dressed in the spa! This is to save on locker space for those who are not guests on the hotel – but for external users. This I find extremely poor and the logistics and traipsing from hotel lobby to spa entrance with many guests gawping at you is unpleasant and well frankly quite distasteful. Call me a prude. I don’t care. The woman receptionist at the spa was rude and quite patronising. English was poor and not very helpful.

The spa itself was small and it appears they were saving on electricity and the “bubbles” were not turned on. Three days in a row. Similarly there was a lack of towels. However, changing rooms were rather good and meet the standard of a good spa. Otherwise – the whole spa experience was not what I liked. Lounge chairs were okay.

I suggest if you want to stay in this area try the Star Hotel Ritz or the Sheraton Diana Majestic. Pricier (try to find a good deal) but has the entrance and ambiance of a hotel with a large lobby, large sitting area, bigger rooms. If you want something with the Colombo price range I hear the Mecure on the same street is good. I have not stayed there.

If arriving from Linate airport. Come out of the airport – only one exit, look right and you will find the 73 or X73 bus to the centre. This is great. Get the X73 as it does not stop at that many stops – 3 in all when (as oppose to 73 which has a few more stops). I was on the X73 and it only takes 15-20minutes. Buy ticket from the newsagent inside the airport.

Overall good location, extremely close to the underground, small rooms, spa logistics poor. There is a “Carrefour express” behind the hotel (5 minutes walk). If you walk down the side streets of the hotel, you will find quite a few eateries. The main shopping street is fairly poor for eateries.

Room Tip: Higher level floors, facing courtyard is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel in May this year, not having been to Milano before I was a bit unsure of the location. It was amazing, very central for all you want to do. Hotel was lovely only down size rooms were a bit small.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettybooW3861NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed there on business trip. It is small hotel wiht nice location. And for me was really important that the Red line metro stop was right outside on the street. Walking distance (one way) to the doumo and nice shopping around. Would recommend a slice on the place called Spontini, 1km of walk from hotel. During the fieras and events in city the price might go very high but otherwise good hotel for city trip!

Room Tip: I had 210 facing street, no problem with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niterói, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The room is ok although the bathroom is worse than we expected. It has a very small box for the shower.... We definatly expected more from the hotel !!! The wi-fi is awful and therefore I could not read my emails, the shower is very small and the breakfast is so so ... To expensive for what it offers. The hotel staff, as most Italians, are not at all friendly.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here as a group of friends for four nights over a weekend in September.

The rooms were spacious with large, clean, well equipped bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and we got a good nights sleep. The air conditioning wasn't great but was perfectly serviceable. Breakfast was extensive with both hot, cold, cereal and pastry options. Guests can make use of the spa which was a great extra and a relaxing way to spend a few hours.

The thing that really made our stay was the helpfulness of the staff. We asked various Reception staff for restaurant recommendations and they came up trumps on several nights, they also booked on our behalf and suggested alternatives when our first choices were full. We really appreciated this.
It was also reasonably priced and minutes from a major metro stop and within walking distance of the Duomo and shopping streets. It was also in easy reach of several aperativo bars.

Would definately return to this hotel when in Milan again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada, Texas, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at the end of our two-week multi-city Europe adventure. Hotel was recommended by travel agent, and she picked very well. Not overly expensive, but well maintained and well-appointed. We had a queen room on the second floor with a stone balcony overlooking the Corso Buenos Aires. It's the longest shopping street in the world, with "everyday" stores mixed in among the designer names. A bit noisy at afternoon nap time but very quiet overnight. Fun to people-watch from the balcony. Room was comfortable; A/C quit working first night but they immediately fixed it in the morning. Breakfast was great and served by friendly staff. Lobby bar is a pleasant place for a nightcap. Room came with two hours for each of us at the spa but we didn't take advantage, silly us! Hotel is a block from a beautiful public garden with childrens' rides and games, dog areas, walking trail and plenty of shady spots to sit and enjoy the scenery. At a major metro stop. Subway is very easy to get around on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#44 of 428 in Milan
1,100 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Plus Hotel Felice Casati
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Machiavelli
NH Milano Machiavelli
#51 of 428 in Milan
1,033 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#36 of 428 in Milan
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo

Property: WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Address: Corso Buenos Aires 3, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Milan
#50 Family Hotel in Milan
#52 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#67 Business Hotel in Milan
#70 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worldhotel Cristoforo Colombo is located in the heart of Milan, in Corso Buenos Aires, one of the city's most important shopping streets. The MM1 'Porta Venezia' metro stop is just 20 metres from the hotel, linking it to many of the most important places in the city, including Piazza Duomo, Leonardo da Vinci's Last Supper, the fashion district and the new trade fair centre. The 138 guest rooms of the Hotel Cristoforo Colombo offer a perfect place to relax during your stay in Milan. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our guest rooms,recently renovated and graced with elegant parquet floors,for your comfort. Provided with services like air conditioning, a safe, a free minibar, free Wi-Fi, a kettle for coffee and tea, a SMART TV to connect your mobile phone and view movies or your photos, SKY Movies and SKY Sport, dressing gown and slippers,our guest rooms offer a special oasis of tranquillity in the heart of this vibrant city. The use of the SPA is free of charge ( Guests booking standard room need only purchase the health and safety Kit which can be kept and reused for € 9.00 ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cristoforo Colombo
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing