We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you plan on sleeping.. stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Ranked #65 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

this hotel was truly awful in regards to noises. I'm assuming it's aware of that considering each room has complimentary earplugs.

there was the metro underground you could hear come by every 5 minutes. the walls are paper thin and you can hear every door slam... nightmare. the lobby is nice but the staff isn't that friendly or helpful.

the one redeeming quality is the 2 hour free spa for sauna and baths

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NAmbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This is a 3 star pretending to be 4. While I didn't get to the spa, the breakfast quality and room quality were just fair. However the reason I won't ever return is that you can hear the constant rumbling of the subway below even from the 3rd floor. When I asked the reception if there are rooms where you can't hear the subway they said no. There are too many other nice hotels in Milan to stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank NYTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A two-sided experience. Stayed there for one night on a business trip. Very friendly and service-oriented staff. Nicely furbished entrance and lobby. Central location. All of that partners with too-noisy-to-open windows, the subway humming from underneath and small rooms which need overmaking especially the baths. Not cheap.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank FrancoisFels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel in central Milan - about 20 mins walk from the Duomo and very close to the metro. I found it relatively modern (for being inside an old building) and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The room I had on the 4th floor faced into a central "courtyard" and whilst quiet, was not at all scenic - but the window opened fully, which was good. The room itself was really very small - little space round the bed and a small bathroom - care had to be taken in the order you open doors to avoid a clash. It was clean, with new(ish) furniture and the bathroom (shower not bath) was fine too. There was not disturbance on either night. I could not get the aircon to work - the room was rather hot, but as the window opened and it was February, this soon sorted itself.

Breakfast was good - pretty standard international hotel fare, but plenty of it, and fresh coffee on demand. The stay also came with use of the spa, which I did not try.

All in all, pretty good - except the price - a bit steep, but I did chose a rather "bad " week.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mad_scotty_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I took my boyfriend to Milan as a Birthday prezzy & stayed at Worldhotel Cristoforo Colombo. I took a long time deciding where to stay and I made an ok choice.

When we arrived we stepped staright off the metro & it was a few steps to the entrance (very handy). Although there are many exits at the stations so if you come out of the wrong one you may be a little further away.

The reception area was very nice, newly reburbished. We were welcomed by friendly staff.

The room - Small, dark & noisy - I have to say that I was dissapointed with the room. The bathroom was very small with a toilet, sink, shower and beday (see pic), my boyfriend is 6ft9 & his knees knocked on the sink when seated...... not very comfortable.
There were only four lights in the bed area and they were uplighters, nothing over the mirror (ladies will understand how important this is). On a dark wet weekend like we had it made it hard to see. The room was very hot, and we could'nt seem to get the aircon to work so we has the window open on a very busy and noisy main road on the 1st floor, but it drowned out the metro line that ran under our room and was like a motorbike rumbling past every minute. The safe in our room was no bigger than an ipad mini so if you had your laptop or anything bigger then this wound't fit (ie my boyfriends camera).
But for £90 a night in a standard room it was ok. If I was to return I would pay a little more for a bigger bathroom and to be higher up, maybe on the 5th floor.

The breakfast was lovely, nice selection and the hotel itself was very clean. Staff more than welcome and quick to clean or fetch you something. We didnt manage to use the spa, but it look really lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high lever to help drown out the metro line, also ones that are not facing the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danni_essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for a few days in their newest room. The property is very clean and well preserved. The new rooms are astonishing, even though we've been in the only one at the time. The price for this is totally worth, and it's a quick walk away from the center, about 15 min to the Dome.
I would totally go back when I get the chance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabsep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Spent a night here whilst seeing Milan.

Hotel is a 20-25 minute straight walk to the Duomo. Public transport (metro) right outside the hotel if you should choose to skip the walk!

Room was tiny - had the small double room.. and boy was it small! Since we only spent 1 night here, it was fine.

The spa was quite good - you get two hours free if you are staying in the hotel. It had a sauna, steam room, rain shower, hamman, pool, etc. Quite relaxing after a long day of sightseeing!

Dinner in the hotel restaurant was ok- overpriced and not great. Can find better restaurants in the area.

The breakfast was divine.. had everything you could ask for. Eggs, sausages, bacon, bread, cakes, muffins, patisserie, cereals, etc. etc!

There is a parking lot just around the corner for EUR 25 a day - about 500m from the hotel.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meereeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#52 of 430 in Milan
1,969 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#6 of 430 in Milan
6,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
711 reviews
Ramada Plaza Milano
#75 of 430 in Milan
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo

Address: Corso Buenos Aires 3, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Milan
#24 Family Hotel in Milan
#50 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#67 Business Hotel in Milan
#70 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £78 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Worldhotel Cristoforo Colombo is located in the heart of Milan, in Corso Buenos Aires, one of the city's most important shopping streets. The MM1 'Porta Venezia' metro stop is just 20 metres from the hotel, linking it to many of the most important places in the city, including Piazza Duomo, Leonardo da Vinci's Last Supper, the fashion district and the new trade fair centre. The 138 guest rooms of the Hotel Cristoforo Colombo offer a perfect place to relax during your stay in Milan. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our guest rooms,recently renovated and graced with elegant parquet floors,for your comfort. Provided with services like air conditioning, a safe, a free minibar, free Wi-Fi, a kettle for coffee and tea, a SMART TV to connect your mobile phone and view movies or your photos, SKY Movies and SKY Sport, dressing gown and slippers,our guest rooms offer a special oasis of tranquillity in the heart of this vibrant city. The use of the SPA is free of charge ( Guests booking standard room need only purchase the health and safety Kit which can be kept and reused for € 9.00 ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cristoforo Colombo
Best Western Milan
Milan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing