We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely would stay here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starhotels Business Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels Business Palace
Ranked #111 of 430 Hotels in Milan
atlanta
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Definitely would stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay here very much, we had a large suite with very comfortable beds and nice bathroom, while the carpet is a little dated, the air condition worked well, it was quiet, clean, attractive lobby and bar with live music some nights, and only 1 block to the metro at a reasonable price for a big city. It was a little confusing to find it by car so be sure and get directions and the parking garage underneath the hotel was a tight squeeze otherwise we were very satisfied with the staff and accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buttondeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    638
    245
    63
    31
See reviews for
309
370
42
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We (me and wife) stayed here for four nights during begining of September. The hotel is not in the best location in the city nor the best looking from outside, but once inside, it is a clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. Rooms come in a variety of shapes and sizes, from quite small to vary spacious (this was my second stay in the hotel). Reception staff is friendly and efficient and try to accommodate your requests as much as they can. Initially the room they had given us was very small and dark, overlooking a closed small inner courtyard. The room was also non smoking. After moving in, we decided to request for a change to a better room. No hassles, the lady at the reception was quite willing to make the change and even showed us a couple of other available rooms to choose from. The room & the toilet were clean, the double bed was comfortable and spacious, the room had an electric kettle for making tea / coffee. The room we finally moved into had sufficient natural light, but the Airconditioning was not very good. The breakfast was very good, with a wide variety of items to choose from. The hotel has one restaurant which also serves as the breakfast room, so each service is available for a limited time. The menu in the restaurant is quite limited, but the food is good and the service is always with a smile. The neighbourhood is proletariat and there are no choices for family restaurants nearby. However, the neighbourhood did not feel unsafe. My wife moved about quite freely on her own buying stuff from small neighbourhood stores and never felt threatened. The metro station is a couple of minutes away and one can be at the Duomo in 10 minutes, or Porta Romana in even less time, which have a variety of choices in good restaurants. Wi-fi is free in the lobby area, but charged if used in the room. Each Wi-fi voucher lasts for half an hour and the reception staff will happily supply more if you want to continue beyond the half-hour period. Overall, it was a comfortable stay

Room Tip: Opt for rooms with an outside view for well lighted rooms. Some rooms have toilets with only shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Ghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed two days at this hotel at the end of a vacation in Rome. The room was average, but clean. There was a small, old style TV in the room with limited channels. The hotel is very close to the metro, but not close to anything else. Common areas were outdated, the fitness center was a joke, and had no air conditioning. The windows were left open which made it even more stifling hot. The phone did not work, the shower leaked, and the employees in the dining room were complete idiots. They constantly asked how many we wanted when we ordered dinner. I ordered spaghetti and the waitress asked me two nights in a row how many I wanted. On the second night, I finally asked why would I want more than one meal? Food was below average, breakfast was not good and upon leaving, we were told by two different employees that a ride to the airport would be 15 euros. The taxi company that they called for us sent a very rude driver who ended up charging us 28 euros and then stood there when we didn't tip him. Needless to say, we were not impressed with this place and expected more of a so called "business palace". Would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileytheragdoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

after traveling with tight budget to paris, amsterdam, and dusseldorf, finally we arrived in Milan. we always booked the hotel in these cities with rate 55-80 EURO, and we always get OK hotel, not too fancy, sometimes it less than OK. but when i arrived in Milan.. horrayyy.. i did not expect this hotel would be this great with such an affordable price. the location is perfect even though is a bit far from the city center, but the Underground train station is 2 minutes walk from the hotel so it did not really bother me at all.
the room was perfect, toilet, clean, breakfast, services, everything was just excellent. very recommended.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Andes132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel itself was nice and the staff was very friendly, helpfull and professional. It looks like this hotel focuses on business meetings during the week and converts to a tourist hotel in the weekend. The metro station is very close to the hotel and it was safe, clean and fast to get you to downtown Milan. Breakfast was excellent, especially when we compare it to other hotels we visited in Italy. The distance to Malpensa Airport is long though. I had a 7am flight and there is no way to get to Malpensa from this hotel at such a time without spending 120 Euro's in taxi or private car (it takes about an hour and a half regardless of method of transportation). I actually checked out and booked another hotel closer to Malpensa Airport for my flight. Overal it was a good hotel if you don't mind using the metro to get back and forth to downtown Milan as there is not much to do in the hotels neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guest72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I chose this hotel because we are family of 4 wanting to have a single room. Although the review was not that great, we thought the location and the value for the money were enough.
The location was great since it is near the subway...about 7-11 stops from the Duomo station. There is a bank across the street so exchanging money is not difficult. A pizza parlor at the corner so food is not a problem. For the supermarket, you have to ride the subway(1 stop) to reach CarreFour Supermarket (big one), however it is not a hassle since the hotel is few minutes walk away.
The room we stayed was the unrenovated one, however, i find it clean and big. A king size bed in the room, sofa bed in the sala and another extra bed. We even transferred the extra bed in the room so that the 4 of us can be together. The rooms have 2 tvs (big ones), however, there were only few english channels (BBC was one).It was not a big deal for us since we were always outside anyway and want to return to a nice, homely style hotel.
The breakfast was excellent with lots of choices to choose from. Their hot dishes consists of egg, bacon, potato to name some. They have Salad, Bread and Dessert corner as well. Breakfast is typical with every 4 star hotels in europe (3 star hotels in europe offers bread and jam only by the way).
Given another chance, i would book again in this hotel especially for comfort and value for money. If however, i will need a hotel for a night, then a hotel in the city or near station will be recommended then.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffee072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here after an all night flight from the USA into Milan-Linate Airport and returned to stay again the night before our flight out of Milan-Linate 2 weeks later at the end of out trip.
The hotel is a convenient 10 minute taxi ride to the Milan-Linate airport.
The Milan metro/subway is right around the corner from the Hotel so you have easy access to see the few sites available in Milan.
We stayed in a suite to have a pull out sofa for our children.
Our rooms were nice standard busines hotel style.
The breakfast was adequate.
There were a couple of restaurants close by but a few blocks away from the Hotel the area became a little scary to walk through at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelopalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
4.5 mi away
Best Western Antares Hotel Concorde
6.2 mi away
Starhotels Tourist
Starhotels Tourist
#105 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Milano
Ramada Plaza Milano
#55 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Acca Palace
Acca Palace
#50 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
5.8 mi away
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
#68 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
6.1 mi away
Milan Suite Hotel
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Business Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Business Palace

Property: Starhotels Business Palace
Address: Via Pietro Gaggia 3, 20139 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Milan
#69 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#91 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Business Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Starhotels Business Palace. Our friendly and natural home for business travellers in Milan is just six metro stops from the centre in the South East business district, only minutes from the highway and Linate Airport.The Starhotels Business Palace is a superb conversion of an old early 1900s industrial building, an imposing facade with dramatic arched windows and the benefit of generous space throughout. We offer 11 large meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 340 delegates - one of the largest conference rooms in Milan.In all, there are 247 spacious rooms and suites, Borromeo restaurant and bar and a superb Fitness Room with a stunning panoramic view over Milan. And the pleasure of "Offering hospitality" The Business Palace offers a wonderful choice of options for dining in Milan. Sample world-class international dishes and local favorites at our Borromeo restaurant. Or head to the La Corte bar for welcoming buffets and delicious tapas. Open day and night, La Corte is a wonderful spot to relax with a coffee and paper, or perhaps enjoy an aperitif before lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Starhotels Business Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Business Palace Milan
Starhotels Business Palace Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing