We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To sleep, this hotel is Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel
Ranked #198 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
“To sleep, this hotel is Ok”
Reviewed 14 November 2007

One night I spend in this hotel, To sleep is OK!...

The personnel has a kind deal with the client and, in my case, they helped me in clarifying some doubts about the city.

In another theme, this hotel is far from the Duomo but the subway is to few blocks.

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — The hotel ubication
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ary-ary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    147
    115
    24
    12
See reviews for
33
74
19
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2007

I reserved a double room in this hotel solely for its proximity to the San Siro (it's about a 20 minute walk) a full 2 months before the Italy-France game. Upon arrival at hotel, we were told that they had over-booked and would put us in their partner hotel, which was about 20 minutes away by taxi (thereby defeating the purpose of booking a hotel near to the stadium). I asked to speak to the manager and the manager kindly declined to speak to me - I found this totally unaccepatable, as I knew that they had triple rooms available (the guy behind the desk told me so) and would not give this to us since there was only 2 of us. Since when does a manager decline to speak to a guest? His solution was that he would be at the hotel at 5pm and we could speak to him then (it was 2pm, so we would have to wait 3 hours).

Non-existent customer service

  • Liked — Proximity to San Siro
  • Disliked — No customer service - did not honour 2 month old reservation when I know they had rooms available
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2006

I stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions last year, it having been pre-booked by the company I regularly work for in Milano. My first stay was dreadful - noisy and uncomfortable. My second visit wasn't much better - the hotel seems to attract budget travellers whose idea of a good time is to mill about just outside your room until 2am talking loudly about the Duomo. My third visit was the worst - I was given a single room at the back of the hotel that absolutely stank of old ashtrays, boasted the narrowest single bed I have ever seen, had no heating or aircon and featured a window that could neither be properly closed not properly opened. The real problem about this hotel is that you can't really escape it, unless you have a good taxi budget - it is situated in the sort of area you really don't want to be walking around in after dark! I subsequently requested never to be booked in there again.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't
  • Stayed May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Writehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 July 2006

As far as quality goes, this hotel is well up to par. Rooms are kept very clean and the bathrooms were the best I'd seen throughout my entire two-week excursion around Italy! The location is a bit far from the main city, but the Metro stop is just a few blocks down. When it comes to being family-friendly the staff is very cordial, however, there seems to be a prostitution ring occuring just outside the hotel doors-- not exactly what I would call the Disneyland Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2006

4 of us (lads) were going to the Inter Milan vs Ajax match and wanted accommodation in the vicinity of the San Siro, our first choice was fully booked and we tried Mini Portello as second choice. Rooms were clean enough with decent on suite vacilities. Breakfast on a buffet service was very satisfying with good service from the coffee waiter - fresh every time.

We arrived late on first night and the concierge gave us directions to a brilliant pizza restuarant just round the block - best meal we had. The area around is not up to much but we were made very welcome in the Bar Silva just across the road, good beers and plentiful nibbles. Getting to the match was no problem about a 25 minute walk straight up the road.

The standard of this hotel is a bit better than a Travelodge and ideal for a lads break but I would not go back taking our partners. Very good for our trip to the footy though.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thorntonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tiziano - Gruppo Mini Hotel
0.6 mi away
Enterprise Hotel
Enterprise Hotel
#29 of 427 in Milan
1,637 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wagner Hotel
Wagner Hotel
#332 of 427 in Milan
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#77 of 427 in Milan
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oro Blu
Hotel Oro Blu
#155 of 427 in Milan
223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Capitol Milano
Hotel Capitol Milano
#119 of 427 in Milan
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel

Property: Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel
Address: Via Guglielmo Silva 12, 20149 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Milan
#133 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern hotel is located opposite Fieramilanocity and Milan Convention Centre MIC, close to San Siro Stadium and benefits from easy access to public transportation. The spacious rooms are air conditioned, soundproofed, furnished with care and provide modern services. The Superior Rooms have been refurbished and boast large images of Milan. Enjoy buffet breakfast in the large and luminous breakfast room. The hotel has a private garage, Free Internet WI-FI connection and an Internet Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mini Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing