We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel in an area with nothing around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel
Ranked #193 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Pros - excellent front desk staff, free WiFi, free breakfast, only a 10 minute walk to a metro station (line 1), OK bed.
Cons - terrible location (not scenic), no restaurant in the hotel and only ONE restaurant in the area (Lo Zenzero, just an average place), uncomfortable plastic chair in the room to sit in while working, heavy old-school room key.
In the end, with so many other places to stay in Milan, I might look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenVerona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Overpriced (220€) as big convention in Fiera Milano. Very very noisy: you hear all noise from next door room! Small twins beds. As I was staying 4 nights, I gathered the twin beds, every day they took them apart. Poor breakfast, some of the receptionist were nice but not flexible nor accommodating

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathGrandvaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Everything about this hotel was just ordinary, from the reception staff to the rooms, the bar (if you can call a counter with two stools a bar), the television channels and the rooms. I had booked this hotel largely for the free wi-fi which was supposed to be available in rooms and all public areas. We had no wi-fi whatsoever for the first two days, which is when I needed it. Wi-fi was restored by day three. The neighborhood had zero personality and I was not very comfortable walking from the subway alone at night time. Other reviewers praised the breakfast bar, but the only frill I saw was a slice of prosciutto. Not even boiled eggs are offered for a 200 Euro a night room? The only positive experience came from the night desk clerk who went out of his way to open a bottle of wine with a butter knife, as he couldn't find the corkscrew.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minihotel2, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear Madam,
We would like to thank you for staying at Hotel Portello and we are sorry that the experience did not match your expectations.
The hotel WI-FI service did not work correctly due to technical issues related to the service provider in this part of Milan. Unfortunately we were not able to solve the problem ourselves as the outside company had to intervene. As you mentioned in your review the problem was solved and we would like to add that it has not occurred again since your stay at the hotel.
The style of the hotel is a modern style characterised by clean lines, natural light and a relaxing , uncluttered, environment. The décor of the bar reflects this style.
The location of the hotel is generally appreciated by guests as it is opposite the MICO Conference Centre and at walking distance from the metro station. The area is a safe residential part of Milan with no particular risks associated with walking in the street.
As you noticed other reviewers have reported that they enjoy having breakfast at the hotel as the breakfast room boast natural light and a rich assorted continental buffet breakfast. As you point out we do not offer an American buffet with hot food, but neither do we advertise this type of breakfast. The buffet does offer a choice of ham, cold meats and sliced cheese.
We would like to point out that we applied a discount to you at check-out because of the problems you experienced with the WI-FI system; even if this was due to technical issues caused by the main provider of this service in Italy, and was not due to a failure on our part.
We hope that you will give us a second opportunity to impress you and we look forward to welcome you back to Milan.
With best regards
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed here whilst on a road trip to Italy. The hotel had a very safe, but small car park. However, we were only there one night so it wasn't an issue. The receptionist who dealt with us during our stay was lovely. I had written some postcards which he promised he would post himself, and he did! The room was clean, spacious and had a decent sized shower room. The breakfast was average. There was occasional street noise during the night but it didn't stop me having a great nights sleep. The hotel is quite far from the centre of Milan but the metro is fairly close by and easy to use.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I was on a business trip and the reason for my visit was at being held at MiCo (Milano Convention Center), which is a few steps away from the hotel. I was extremely happy with the location. The nearest subway station is 5 min walk and I went to downtown everynight for dinner. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The noise insulation wasn't the best and I was hearing people's conversations, which was quite annoying. The breakfast they served was extraordinary. They had a big variety and the staff was very kind. Overall, I was satisfied with this hotel and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debbie9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

the rooms are not very big, but enough for a one night stay. Free fast internet.
breakfast is basic. not that much to do around but you can get the bus to the airport (10€ instead of the 90€ for a taxi) 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingTuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I came to Milan for a conference at the Marriott (rooms there being ridiculously expensive), and booked this room in advance, not really realising how far away it was from everything! However, I managed to get here relatively easily (bus 73 from Linate airport, then metro (subway) from San Babila to Lotto and a 5minute walk - much cheaper than 45E for a taxi). The room was small, but very clean and perfectly adequate for what I needed. Good, quite fast internet connection (free for guests), comfortable bed and a clean bathroom. There is a trattoria a short distance down the road, which serves reasonable food and a supermarket (Esselunga) close to the metro station which is convenient. You can get to central Milan easily on the metro for shopping/sightseeing.

I wouldn't stay here if I'd come on a holiday, but it was more than adequate for a business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queen_bee275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tiziano - Gruppo Mini Hotel
0.6 mi away
Enterprise Hotel
Enterprise Hotel
#30 of 427 in Milan
1,676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wagner Hotel
Wagner Hotel
#323 of 427 in Milan
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oro Blu
Hotel Oro Blu
#172 of 427 in Milan
238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#62 of 427 in Milan
237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel

Address: Via Guglielmo Silva 12, 20149 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Milan
#134 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £69 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern hotel is located opposite Fieramilanocity and Milan Convention Centre MIC, close to San Siro Stadium and benefits from easy access to public transportation. The spacious rooms are air conditioned, soundproofed, furnished with care and provide modern services. The Superior Rooms have been refurbished and boast large images of Milan. Enjoy buffet breakfast in the large and luminous breakfast room. The hotel has a private garage, Free Internet WI-FI connection and an Internet Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mini Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing