We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bog standard hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Hotel St. George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Hotel St. George
Ranked #159 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Bog standard hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at St George for 2 nights last week. After reading all the positive reviews about how nice it is I was really looking forward to our stay.

The hotel itself is really very average. It could really do with a refurbishment and an update. The windows were terrible at noise control – I woke up at 6.30am to the sound of traffic which I wasn’t too pleased with. Also the room were very stuffy and it was an absolute nightmare to open the window as you had you manoeuvre the TV off its bracket on the wall to pull a giant pane of glass out.

In the bathroom the shower screen wasn’t designed ergonomically so water sprayed out onto the floor. My 6”2 tall partner barely squeezed in shower area. Also no smaller hair towels were provided which was a pain when washing my hair and the hairdryer was pathetic.

Another issue was that we booked a double bed but when we checked in only twins were available so we had to push the beds together and move all the furniture around ourselves. The lady took an hour to let us know all double beds were fully booked – surely this takes 10 minutes to check the booking system?

The positives were that it was fairly well located near the train and underground. As far as bog standard hotels go it was very average – nothing special just a bed in a room near a station. If this is what you’re after then it will be perfect for you but if you want a bit more from your hotel than just a bed in a tiny room look somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank czaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

it is our duty to always thank the guests who spend time at our hotel , recensendolo on TripAdvisor. Having said this, we can note that a number of complaints that , for our part , are definitely not objective and exaggerated . Do not respond to individual points because it follows a text too long and perhaps boring. We reply , therefore, inviting all those who stumble upon this judgment to consider the comments of other guests - often - have a positive view towards us. Comments fruit of nights and then direct and personal experiences that confirm what the opinions - even negative ones - can be subjective. In order , however, to draw positive lessons from what you have seen fit to express we have your full name, room number and date of stay to check what is expressed and , of course , ask where appropriate remedy .
The fact that an anonymous comment , however, leaves us in no doubt , that makes us believe that a complaint as " refined , detailed and virtually exclusive " may have the purpose to harm us for reasons that we can only presume .

Sincerely,

Staff Best Western Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    190
    121
    28
    14
See reviews for
86
141
18
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Relatively good location, near Corso Buenos Aires, and three metro stations from the city center (about 10 minuets walk from the Duomo). Very nice, smiling and helping crew. Clean rooms with a nice balcony.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imri_Uvda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolamilano74, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, which highlighted the strong points of our hotel in just a few words. We encourage you to keep in touch with us and with what is happening in Milan through our Facebook page: Hotel St. George Milan.

Sincerely,

Staff BEST WESTERN Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is the only hotel I have stayed at in Milano so I cannot compare. We enjoyed our stay here, especially the great breakfast which is included, something for everyone and very generous with hard working staff. As mentioned below the only drawback is the narrow entry to the hotel and steps to be negotiated. You need to read the hotel info in your room as you will discover that a kettle and cups and saucers will be supplied upon request so bring along your tea/coffee/sugar and you can get milk in a little supermarket close by, turn right after leaving the hotel, cross Via Tadino and it will be just down along there.

We found a very good local restaurant, exit right from the hotel, first turn right into Via Tadino and go down two blocks to La Tipica Osteria Pugliese at no. 5. They have excellent antipasto in the window which I had three times, self service and they will check the quantity and declare the price. Pasta also good and I had pepper mussels, also great.

Best to land at Linate airport if you can as this is only a 15-20 minute taxi ride from the hotel, cost me 21 Euro. I had a long flight so just couldn't contend with the train service and then you'd need another taxi from Milano Centrale in any case but if you do travel light, then you could get the Metro from Milano Centrale and alight at Porta Venezia and then ask directions, it isn't far at all.

When I asked the reception staff to call a taxi when I was leaving for Linate, they called a limo company which cost me 30 Euro so if you prefer budget taxi, make this known to reception staff but if you prefer a more comfortable car (it was a Mercedes) then that would be fine. You can also use this llimo service for longer trips or inter-city.

We would definitely stay there again even though it's not the prettiest part of Milan, it is convenient and the Duomo area is only 3 stops on the Metro. My friends were upgraded to a suite room after their first night was severely disturbed by party goers in rooms nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FennKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the detailed and enthusiastic review that highlights our strengths and also the advantages of our location. In addition we would like to point out that the Linate Airport is around the corner and easy to reach by taxi, by bus and even by private transfer.

Best Regards,

Staff Best Western Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We recently had the pleasure to stay at the Best Western St George. The staff was extremely welcoming and provided good recommendations for restaurants and directions on how to get places. We even received a complimentary bottle of wine.

We were 5 family members with 3 of us family members in 1 room. We were very surprised that they upgraded us to a suite which was basically 2 rooms with a sliding partition door which would separate the rooms. The rooms were clean, bathroom was a good size and upgraded, beds were comfy. The continental breakfast was great. Eggs, yogurt, granola, fruit, milk, juice, coffee and more, definitely more that we expected and definitely more than we got at all the other hotels we stayed at. We also had internet and a fridge in the room not to mention 2 TV's.

The location of the hotel is probably too far to walk from the train station but we were able to get a taxi for around 7 euro which was very convenient. The location is good because you are maybe 2 blocks from a street lined with shops(corso buenas aires). it is also very convenient to get to the metro. If you are going to be there for 3 days I would suggest getting the metro urban pass. It cost around 8 euro.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charmgo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolamilano74, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear kind guest,
thanks for your positive review that highlights our diligence in trying to satisfy the needs of our precious clients. We can not add more to what you said, just the satisfaction in receiving positive notes as yours.
We renew our warm heartfelt thanks waiting to get you back our guest.


Best regards,

Staff Best Western Hotel Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The entrance isn't too impressive and would be difficult if you can't negotiate steps, but the welcome more than made up for it. What wonderfully cheerful, helpful staff they all were with no exception.
The room was large enough, bed comfortable and although the bathroom was small it did have everything you needed including an excellent shower.
Walking to the old quarter towards the Duomo etc along Corso Buenos Aires is a very slow 30 minutes in the heat, but there is plenty to see and a nice park with lots of seating about half way. It could actually be walked in under 10 minutes comfortably if it isn't 44 degrees!!!
Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from, and a lovely shady little terrace (although sadly no view) for smokers, although we did see one man sitting with his laptop. Any outside space in a city is a bonus.
We had a superb meal one night at a little restaurant a few yards down from the hotel almost opposite the tram stop. Make sure it is the 2nd restaurant you get to - not the first!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twooldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolamilano74, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear kind guest,
Thank you for your review. In fact, the Milanese heat is, sometimes, stifling and walking around the center can be tiring with a high temperature. We refer to your notes about the weather. We just thank you - without adding more - for the review on the hotel and the service offered. It 's always with pleasure that we note the satisfaction of our clients; a satisfaction that rewards the commitment of all the staff, every day in the service of guests visiting Milan.

Sincerely,

Best Western Hotel St. George Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is the first time I have stayed at the Hotel St George in Milan and I have no regrets. Although the entrance is narrow and up a flight of stairs, the rooms themselves are sizeable, neat and clean and the service is excellent. My sister required a gluten-free diet and from the first morning the lovely service staff at breakfast ensured she had Gluten-free bread and biscuits put aside for her specially. The front desk concierge was also exceedingly prompt with dealing with requests for taxis and helping with heavy bags up and down the stairs. As we were there for fashion week, the front manager took special care to keep all our mail for us and even ran out to pass us a couriered invite that had just arrived after we walked out of the hotel. Staying here, you get a sense that the staff really care about their guests and there is also an excellent tea-time service idea that they have implemented between 5-6pm that allows all guests to head to the tea-room to just relax and unwind. I would definitely stay here again when I am next in Milan. It is in a convenient location, the rooms are good and the service is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janie350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate Your kind written feedback, and we hope to have You as our guest as soon as possible.
It is always a pleasure to have guests able to enjoy and feel our warm atmosphere and our passion for costumer care.
Thank you again, and if you wish, you can stay in contact with Us and Milan trough our facebook page Hotel St. George Milano.

BEST WESTERN Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naarden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Perfect hotel for a city trip at a good location close to the shopping area, the Duomo etc.
The room and bathroom of a good quality and clean.
Breakfast was rich staaf was active and updated the offer regularly. Wifi worked properly.
Staff was very cooperative, flexible and kind.
A good price quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pim_wNaarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolamilano74, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review and the score assigned to our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests. This gratifies our efforts and gives a sense to our work - we admit it - with passion.
We hope you come back to St. George and we send our best regards.

Staff BEST WESTERN Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Felice Casati
Citta Studi
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
BEST WESTERN Hotel City
#84 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#49 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Mercure Milano Centro
Mercure Milano Centro
#92 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Mokinba Hotel Baviera
Mokinba Hotel Baviera
#232 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Fenice
Hotel Fenice
#126 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel St. George

Property: Best Western Hotel St. George
Address: Viale Tunisia 9, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel St. George 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Milan downtown, since 1967 the Best Western Hotel St. George offers to guests a warm and charming atmosphere, typical of the Italian style. This 4 stars hotel is ideal for both leisure and business guests and it is located in a strategic position close to Corso Buenos Aires and Milan Central Station. The Duomo, the Fair of Milan and all the main points of interest are easily reachable thanks to the underground station situated just a few metres from the hotel. The professional and multilingual staff will suggest the most interesting and fashionable events taking place in Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Hotel
St George Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing