We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel St. George
Ranked #154 of 428 Hotels in Milan
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and great service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is in a good location. One-two blocks from the Metro station and a 5-10 minute walk from the train station. Within walking distance of the Duomo and other sites. The room was clean and in good condition. Very typical for European room. We stayed on the street side and it wasn't that noisy. You could the rail bus but not loud people or partying noise. There are several places to eat within walking distance. The hotel staff were very professional, helpful, friendly and willing to assist with any request. The breakfast was a standard Italian selection. Food was fresh, tasty and well presented.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AC_travel369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,
thanks for your review that highlights, exactly, the plus offered by our Hotel.
We hope to have you again as our guest.
Best regards,
BEST WESTERN Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    205
    122
    30
    14
See reviews for
95
148
22
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed two nights in a room with a smaller double bed, which we knew in advance. We had asked for a room facing the back side,which was fine. I think the front side to the street might be a bit noisy. The room was fine and breakfast had a small choice, with good quality and we both found things we liked to eat. The location is good reachable with public transport. Just in the neighborhood are not too many bars, but the reception was extremely friendly and guided us to the right places for dinner and drinks.

Room Tip: Ask for the back side, as street side might be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Mrs. Kathrin,
thanks for taking your time to our Hotel writing this review. About the breakfast, we are pleased that you have appreciated the quality of food and, in our opinion, the variety is large but we rightly understand that comments are subjective and therefore we take note it.
We know that the hotel is not located in an area of super nightlife – such as Navigli and Corso Como – but in Via Victor Pisani and nearby streets to our hotel, there are several restaurants – some well-known as Ricci - and other small in line with the new type of bars and clubs that are opening up in Milan. Sometimes spaces are even small, but very friendly and custom-made service. However we are pleased to be able to indicate some local to spend your evening.
We hope to have you again as our guest and we greet you warmly,

BEST WESTERN Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yamato, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've been staying this one over 15 years,

Never be bad, only once when they change to Best Western team ,

a little something but almost nothing,

then this time 2 bella Ragazzi Receptionsts : Anna & Alice were so nice to take care of my a little selfish requests.

Grazie Mille ,

Arivederici Subito.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gennhiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
What can we say ... 15 years of faithfulness value more a thousand words. Thank you so much for the review and for the Italian words, definitely gratifying.
We can not waiting to see you soon, wishing you a good day.
We hope you come back early and we wish a good day.

BEST WESTERN Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We only stayed a night and it was good for that. We took this hotel for it's location and glad we did that. We really liked the location as the train station is right there which puts everything within easy reach - a 5min train ride (2 stations) to Duomo without the $$$ hotel prices of Duomo. And, then the other part that we liked was walking proximity to Corso Buenos Aires.

The room itself was a typical European hotel room for a 4* - smaller than what you expect but functional with what you mostly need. I would rather call it a 3* hotel if it were up to me and that would make it a steal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live_It_Ez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review about our Hotel.
The location is actually a plus, as it allows you to be within walking distance from the areas of interest of the city as you have rightly pointed out.
One of the "slogan" that we use to describe our hotel it is, "we are at the center of Everything, Everything is at hand."
Thank you very much for your comments that fully expresses our vision. The excellent value for money is one of our strengths: we are very close to the Duomo, but we don’t have the prohibitive costs – and sometimes perhaps exaggerated – of the hotels located in the nearby.
We take as a positive reflection your comment about the typical quality standard of the European structure.

Yours Sincerely,

Best Western Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

For a 4-star hotel this was a disappointment. It began already on arrival: there are some steps up to the reception and we were 2 ladies with bags and tired after travelling, and the receptionist guy did not make a move to help with the luggage. The room was large, clean and well equipped, but cold, no proper covers in the bed (just one smelly old and hairy blanket) and bad smelling air (like previous smoking inside). Breakfast was ok but we had much better in similar rated hotels in Italy. The afternoon tea was just boiled water, tea bags and cake. One day the house keeping arrived as late as 3 pm, did not leave any toilet paper and we ran out of it, I called the reception to ask for more, and it took them 2 hours to bring it. Imagine if one was in a situation to need it immediately... The area is somewhat scrappy, well, near to the train station, shopping streets and Duomo, but especially in the evenings a lot of young men hanging around the streets, I wouldn't feel safe walking there alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frida30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Frida,
we always appreciate our guests’ reviews. Anyway, we think that your negative comment is somehow excessive, taking in consideration all the other guests’ reviews of our hotel. We apologize for the inefficiency of the receptionist – and we will take measures on this matter – but we believe that the other complaints too excessive. If there was something missing in your room (sometimes happens), you could informe our staff that would have helped you in everything you needed, also to ask more blankets or set the air conditioning.

Best regards,

Staff Best Western Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was my second stay in this hotel and I was not disappointed. All members of staff were helpful and coped cheerfully with my imperfect Italian even though they speak excellent English. Breakfast consisted of a selection of food to cater for all tastes and the service was really efficient. The location is close to the metro station of Porta Venezia where suburban trains can also be accessed. There is also convenient shopping in Corso Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,
La ringraziamo per aver trovato il tempo di scrivere di noi, in relazione al commento sul climatizzatore Le segnaliamo che in effetti non era rotto. Ciò che accade in periodi come questi – di cambio stagione – è che alcune persone trovino calda la stanza ed altre fredde in ragione del tempo. Le caldaie sono a riposo, infatti, e quindi in una giornata calda non si sente la necessità del riscaldamento.

Relativamente alla scarsa insonorizzazione ci viene il dubbio che magari la finestra fosse socchiusa,

Cordialmente,

Staff Best Western Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed at St George for 2 nights last week. After reading all the positive reviews about how nice it is I was really looking forward to our stay.

The hotel itself is really very average. It could really do with a refurbishment and an update. The windows were terrible at noise control – I woke up at 6.30am to the sound of traffic which I wasn’t too pleased with. Also the room were very stuffy and it was an absolute nightmare to open the window as you had you manoeuvre the TV off its bracket on the wall to pull a giant pane of glass out.

In the bathroom the shower screen wasn’t designed ergonomically so water sprayed out onto the floor. My 6”2 tall partner barely squeezed in shower area. Also no smaller hair towels were provided which was a pain when washing my hair and the hairdryer was pathetic.

Another issue was that we booked a double bed but when we checked in only twins were available so we had to push the beds together and move all the furniture around ourselves. The lady took an hour to let us know all double beds were fully booked – surely this takes 10 minutes to check the booking system?

The positives were that it was fairly well located near the train and underground. As far as bog standard hotels go it was very average – nothing special just a bed in a room near a station. If this is what you’re after then it will be perfect for you but if you want a bit more from your hotel than just a bed in a tiny room look somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelstgeorge, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Best Western Hotel St. George, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

it is our duty to always thank the guests who spend time at our hotel , recensendolo on TripAdvisor. Having said this, we can note that a number of complaints that , for our part , are definitely not objective and exaggerated . Do not respond to individual points because it follows a text too long and perhaps boring. We reply , therefore, inviting all those who stumble upon this judgment to consider the comments of other guests - often - have a positive view towards us. Comments fruit of nights and then direct and personal experiences that confirm what the opinions - even negative ones - can be subjective. In order , however, to draw positive lessons from what you have seen fit to express we have your full name, room number and date of stay to check what is expressed and , of course , ask where appropriate remedy .
The fact that an anonymous comment , however, leaves us in no doubt , that makes us believe that a complaint as " refined , detailed and virtually exclusive " may have the purpose to harm us for reasons that we can only presume .

Sincerely,

Staff Best Western Hotel St. George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Plus Hotel Felice Casati
Citta Studi
Best Western Hotel City
Best Western Hotel City
#93 of 428 in Milan
734 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#45 of 428 in Milan
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel Madison
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Machiavelli
NH Milano Machiavelli
#50 of 428 in Milan
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel St. George

Property: Best Western Hotel St. George
Address: Viale Tunisia 9, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel St. George 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from Milan downtown, since 1967 the Best Western Hotel St. George offers to guests a warm and charming atmosphere, typical of the Italian style. This 4 stars hotel is ideal for both leisure and business guests and it is located in a strategic position close to Corso Buenos Aires and Milan Central Station. The Duomo, the Fair of Milan and all the main points of interest are easily reachable thanks to the underground station situated just a few metres from the hotel. The professional and multilingual staff will suggest the most interesting and fashionable events taking place in Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Hotel
St George Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing