We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not an Admiral ranking more like Seaman Apprentice”
Review of Admiral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Admiral Hotel
Ranked #266 of 428 Hotels in Milan
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not an Admiral ranking more like Seaman Apprentice”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

When you walk in you know you made a mistake, the James Bond motif may have been cute in the 70s, maybe more like the 1870s when they last updated this place. My basic requirement is to be able to sleep which requires minimal noise (fail), temperature control (chronic fail), and bed comfort (catastrophic fail). The a/c works, barely, but in two nights it cut out at 2 am. At which point the front desk said they would "reset it". This was at the desk as they won't answer the phone. After the reset, it stopped again after two hours. When I asked on the first night they said it was fixed for the second night, not sure what scam this is. As bad as sleeping in a kiln is, the bed was worse. I've sat in bean bags that held their shape better, although the sandpaper sheets gave me a solid skin cleansing. After the second night I checked out early and went to a different hotel, willing to eat the money just to escape this place. I travel a lot and in no universe is this a four star hotel, maybe one star as it has a hotel license I assume.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cdd107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    70
    59
    30
    27
See reviews for
21
47
23
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Not fixed
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

There's nothing necessarily wrong with this hotel - rooms are clean enough, water is hot and the bed is fine - it's just not a 4 star. Not really good enough for a 2, even!

I didn't pay for the room, but if I did, I'd have been annoyed at the price! €200 a night.. For this?! I've stayed in nicer, better furnished, better equipped and cleaner hotels than this for a third of the price.

Wifi does not work in the rooms and whilst the staff were friendly and accurate in the information they gave, unprofessional in that they were eating and texting while talking to me!

Bottom line, there's nothing essentially wrong here, it just doesn't present good value and unless you get a good deal ie. <€100 per night, look elsewhere. It's just not worth any more than that.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therealrjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The rooms, are comfortable. Bathrooms perfectly clean, hot water, full towels and toiletries.. Minibar-fridge. Wi-fi speedy, newspapers are complimentary in the lobby.

Well trained staff, attentive and helpful, at the reception as well as the bar. Very convenient location.

I certainly will come back again to this hotel,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misareds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Ok the staff is helpful - would not expect less - and the hotel is clean (don't look too closely to the grout around the shower). Other than that the rest is terrible and my wife and I would strongly not recommend staying there, if you expect a four star hotel, which they will charge you for.
First impression, the lobby has 5 steps to climb with your suitcase and nobody to help. Pass the receptionist who eats a sandwich while processing you registration and you will get into a ridiculously elevator that has not been refurbished since the 70's. The room is decent size but the furniture is just cheap stuff from the 70-80's. and, no, the point is not to be vintage. Just cheap, old and depressing.
Internet access basically does not work in our room; had to go download emails outside of the room, close to the elevator. Breakfast is included and decent.
These people are lying to their customers. A cheesy collection of James Bond characters and posters - the theme of the hotel - is not sufficient to make a 4 star out of this. I would not even rate it 2 stars.
I do not understand how such a rip off is still possible now that we have Internet reviews. How can this be rated 4/5 on TripAdvisor, which I have Never been disappointed with, in terms of review? I read a few reviews before booking, the vast majority are really over rated. They highlight nice staff. Really? You 'd pay close to 200 euros just for nice staff?
Only positive is hotel is super close to the MiCo - Milan Congress center. Unless this is a must have to be 3 min walking distance from the MiCo, do not stay there.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fcaron111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, Proprietario at Admiral Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Google Translation
genilie famiglia
sono sinceramente dispiaciuto che l'arredamento di una mia camera vi abbia depresso
è la prima volta che lo sento da quando lavoro
la 203, è la stanza preferita da uno dei più grandi scrittori italiani che alloggia spesso da noi.
e mi spiace contraddirla ma i mobili, non di suo gusto, (incisi a mano da artigiani italiani e in noce massello) sono tutto fuorché economici.
Fortunatamente come vede dai commenti per fortuna piacciono a molti.

Per quanto riguarda la scale d'ingresso con vista su hall e reception era sufficiente chiedere del facchino e in un attimo sarebbe arrivato.
se poi non le funzionava internet questo non me lo so spiegare visto che non ha mai segnalato il problema.
abbiamo 100 mb-secondo di connessione (il massimo disponibile in italia)
mi domando
anzichè darmi del bugiardo (via si vergogni almeno un poco ...la mia famiglia è nota in tutto il mondo non posso permettermi di fregare nessuno)
perchè non ha mai fatto presente i suoi disagi quando parlava con il capo ricevimento o al portiere per tutte le richieste che abbiamo esaudito con gioia?
abbiamo 3 tipologie di camere ben pubblicizzate anche in hotel
poteva chiedere il cambio senza costi aggiunti.
potevamo aiutarla con internet come abbiamo fatto col suo vicino di stanza che poi ha navigato per tutti e 4 i giorni senza alcun problema
quanto al prezzo 151 euro a note (se si appoggia a dei portali di prenotazione sappia che paga a loro la commissione, in questo caso 50 euro a notte,) mi sembra un prezzo normale per un congresso in una città come milano.
credo sia più utile chiedere di risolvere i problemi che non sparare a zero una volta partito
magari non avrebbe lasciato l'hotel depresso

grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Åkersberga, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A very helpful staff and it's good that the reception is good at English.

The room was clean and had a vintage but personal stile, I liked it.

There was a traffic light in the street crossing below and at the evening and early morning the busses that stopedthere made some noice, but it is a big city after all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorjeK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The staff was nice. I asked in advance for a quite room, and got one, albeit very small. I complained that someone smoked in the room, even though it was supposed to be on a non smoking floor, and was moved to a better room the next day.
The amenities are a bit shabby - my blanked had holes in it from over use. But, the hotel was clean and as I said every one was very nice and it is very close to the train station and the convention center.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Carmit Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is an older hotel, but the room are very clean and the staff is outstanding. The service better here than anywhere else I have been. Carlo is great and so are others. They'll give you the best information and tips to navigate Milan and find the best places to eat and visit. A minor problem is that connecting to the internet is kind of tricky, but the staff can help.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Portello - Gruppo Mini Hotel
0.3 mi away
ADI Hotel Poliziano Fiera
ADI Hotel Poliziano Fiera
#127 of 428 in Milan
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qualys Hotel Nasco
Qualys Hotel Nasco
#96 of 428 in Milan
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
UNA Hotel Scandinavia
UNA Hotel Scandinavia
#77 of 428 in Milan
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Losanna
Hotel Losanna
#205 of 428 in Milan
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#129 of 428 in Milan
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Hotel

Property: Admiral Hotel
Address: Via Domodossola 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiral Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Admiral Hotel is located in City Life, at 150 meters from MICO (congress center of Milano) and velodromo Vigorelli, at 800 meter from FIERA MILANO CITY at 5 stops of metro from stadio San Siro. 1,5 km from city center. If you are looking for a luxurious structure, provided with every comfort and amenity, perfect in order to welcome every kind of clientele with a special attention to the business men, the Hotel Admiral is the ideal choice for you. The hotel offers 60 rooms furnished with every comfort, a spacious hall with antiques of the naval ambience, qualified and helpful staff that can meet your requirements with professional and personalized service, the Wi-Fi wireless and via cable access, limousine and shuttle service to the Fair of Rho Pero or to the airports. Moreover, the structure is provided with: an indoor garage with 25 parking spaces, 3 meeting rooms perfect for your business requirements. The situation of our structure cannot be better: we are the nearest 4-star hotel to the Fair Milan Congress and close to the city centre and San Siro Stadium. The hotel Admiral represents your home when you are far from yours own. Come to visit us, you will find unique ambiences, attentive service and all the practicality and comforts that you need. In the evening a splendid piano bar is open until late night and will offer you relaxing atmospheres, where you can sip a drink. You can organize successful dinners, both business or pleasure dinners. If you prefer the private atmosphere of your room, you have just to make a call. Moreover, the breakfast is particularly thought for those who suffer from allergy or particular intolerance, like celiac people or those who cannot eat products with wheat or lactose. As concerns these particular gastronomic needs, we ask you to advise us before to arrive in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Admiral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing