We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient place across from Milan train station”
Review of Flora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flora Hotel
Ranked #154 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was the fourth time I stayed at this three-star hotel. It is very conveniently located across the street from Milano Centrale F.S. (Milan train station). I chose this hotel as I knew it and needed a place to stay that night, as well as its convenient location. I booked it on booking.com and paid €83 for two people for one night, which is reasonable for the peak season.

It was basically as I'd remembered it, but I must admit that the location needs some renovation/modernisation in its décor. The last time I'd stayed there was in 2005, and it was pretty much the same! We were welcomed by a very friendly staff member at check-in, and the other staff members were also friendly and helpful. We were in room 436 on the fourth floor, which is lovely as it's at the end of the hallway, so no noise from people coming and going in the morning.

The room itself was clean, but again the décor needed updating. There was a bit of an unpleasant odour in the room; not the typical musty odour one would find in a hotel, but one of body odour. The air conditioning was just satisfactory, not very good. The layout of the room was more like a suite, so we had to keep the main bedroom door closed to keep the room cool, as the a/c unit was in that part of the suite. This left the reception/bathroom areas hot.

Like many hotels in Europe, the Flora is cheeky, as they charge €5 for 12 hours worth of wifi access. A minibar was provided. The continental breakfast was satisfactory, but not outstanding by any means. The pastries were not very fresh and were handled by the staff member with her bare hands - not advisable in terms of food sanitation for ready to eat foods. Perhaps the staff needs appropriate training on food sanitation practices.

There is an excellent restaurant directly next door that I'd highly recommend. The neighbourhood is not the best, as it's near the station. Keep your wits about you walking around at night.

Room Tip: We were in room 436 on the fourth floor, which is lovely as it's at the end of the hallway, so n...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsdixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review.

We would like to inform you that the vast majority of our rooms have been recently redecorated after 2005. Anyway you could ask our staff to change your room if you disliked it.
Our A/C works properly and rooms and common areas are cold during summer.
Our breakfast is a buffet breakfast so our staff doesn't serve food to our guests.
Wi fi costs 5,00 euros per 24 hours and not for 12 hours as you reported but take in consideration that it's FREE if the reservation is made through our web site www.hotelfloramilano.com
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Flora Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

We took the bus from the airport to the bus station, unfortunately I used my directions from the train station to the hotel from where we were dropped off and not from the front of the train station and we ended up pulling heavy bags for several more blocks then needed. If you get your bearings before you go, then it's a short walk to the hotel. Not the best area, but not as bad as the area near the Naples train station. At least not in the direction of the hotel.

The room was very dated but it didn't bother my mum or me. We were on the 4th floor. The lobby was nice and we had a nice selection of breakfast food. We had four nights which was great as we took a day trip to Como where we did a boat trip to Bellagio one day and a trip to Monza another.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shariquickenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your review.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We got into the Flora Hotel at midnight after the next door hotel Garda had booked our rooms to someone else. We had two rooms with king beds and this was a perfect place right across from the train station. We were actually much happier here because unlike the hotel we booked they had a great breakfast included. Very reasonable and convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your review.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The staff was friendly. The room was really tiny, with a twin bed, that i barely fit on (I'm 6'3"). But for the price, it was worth it. There was enough room to move about, repack suitcases and the bathroom was spacious enough. It is less than a 2 minute walk from Milano Centrale, which was the main reason I chose it. I had an early morning flight out of Linate, and the staff called me a taxi (arrived on time).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gashwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your review.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Flora Hotel is a good little hotel - easy walking distance from the Milan Central Train Station. We stayed 3 nights, traveling from Lake Como, before a flight to Naples. The breakfast was good - and one of the earlier starts - serving begins at 7:15 a.m. You can purchase tickets for the shuttle bus to the airport at the hotel reception - and the shuttles leave from the side of Milano Centrali - which is very convenient. If you are in Milan for a few days it is worth purchasing a ticket on the "hop on, hop off" tourist bus - to get around the city, and see all the places of interest, including the dazzling & impressive Duomo! The tourist bus leaves from across the street from Milano Centrali.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snstaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your pleasant review.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Lovely clean hotel, near to the central station. We had a clean room, air condition worked. Daily maid service, clean towels, bed linen were clean and the staff were nice and friendly
We met 4 receptionists during our stay. Two of them were approx.60-65 years old (were very friendly), one receptionist approx.45 with curly grey hair was also friendly but there was one receptionist approx.40-45 years old, slim, tall, brown eyes and short brown hair ( nearly bald) whose behaviour was very impersonal and arrogant:

When we wanted to pay our bill the night before (our flight was in the early morning). He told us he needs to prepare our bill for morning and that is not possible to pay with visa card during the night. so we paid by visa card in the early morning. he gave us bill, opened the main door and we left the hotel. He did not say a word during the pay and our leaving. Nothing like "bye", "thank you". We had a feeling that was because we did not pay by cash
Anyway we would recommended Hotel Flora

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your review.
We are sad for the unconvenience occurred during the night but we are sure there has been a language misunderstanding with our staff memeber who probably suggested you, if it was not an issue for you, to pay in the morning in order to let our computer automatically charge your bill (otherwise we are forced to create it manually).
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here on enroute to Lake Como. This hotel is an easy walk to the Central train station and was comfortable and clean. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, and breakfast was great. Loved having windows that could open to let in some fresh air.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your pleasant review.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#143 of 426 in Milan
584 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#178 of 426 in Milan
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#56 of 426 in Milan
982 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#62 of 426 in Milan
226 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Auriga
Hotel Auriga
#157 of 426 in Milan
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Hotel

Address: Via Napo Torriani 23, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: £75 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flora is a welcoming three stars hotel located in the heart of Milan within a two minutes walk from Milan "Centrale" railway station. Hotel Flora position allows its guests to easily reach all Milan's main attractions and business areas.The 50 well equipped rooms have been recently renovated and are cosy and confortable. The hotel features also wide rooms for business meetings and for relax and a lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Flora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing