We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location convenient for Milano Centrale station”
Review of Flora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flora Hotel
Ranked #148 of 428 Hotels in Milan
cape town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“location convenient for Milano Centrale station”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent two nights at the Flora. We chose the hotel for its location as we arrived on the Malpensa airport shuttle and departed from Central station to Como. Each way was about a 10 minute minute walk across Piazza Duca D'Aosta which is relatively painless if you have suitcases on wheels. The metro station is very close. The room was spacious with a nice bathroom. Very comfortable beds and good aircon. No view to speak of.
Continental breakfast was very good. WiFi available at E10 for 24 hours.
We were very impressed with the friendly and helpful front desk staff .
No dinner available but quite a few restaurants in the area. We chose to spend the evening in the Navigli canal district, a fifteen minute metro ride- dozens of fun pubs and restaurants - great people watching!
Overall the Flora is ideal if you're looking for a convenient, comfortable and reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miketrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your review.

We just would like to clarify that the wi fi costs 5,00 euro /24 hours (and not 10 euros as you reported) and that it's free if you make the reservation through our official website www.hotelfloramilano.com

Looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    243
    125
    33
    13
See reviews for
50
145
95
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was the fourth time I stayed at this three-star hotel. It is very conveniently located across the street from Milano Centrale F.S. (Milan train station). I chose this hotel as I knew it and needed a place to stay that night, as well as its convenient location. I booked it on booking.com and paid €83 for two people for one night, which is reasonable for the peak season.

It was basically as I'd remembered it, but I must admit that the location needs some renovation/modernisation in its décor. The last time I'd stayed there was in 2005, and it was pretty much the same! We were welcomed by a very friendly staff member at check-in, and the other staff members were also friendly and helpful. We were in room 436 on the fourth floor, which is lovely as it's at the end of the hallway, so no noise from people coming and going in the morning.

The room itself was clean, but again the décor needed updating. There was a bit of an unpleasant odour in the room; not the typical musty odour one would find in a hotel, but one of body odour. The air conditioning was just satisfactory, not very good. The layout of the room was more like a suite, so we had to keep the main bedroom door closed to keep the room cool, as the a/c unit was in that part of the suite. This left the reception/bathroom areas hot.

Like many hotels in Europe, the Flora is cheeky, as they charge €5 for 12 hours worth of wifi access. A minibar was provided. The continental breakfast was satisfactory, but not outstanding by any means. The pastries were not very fresh and were handled by the staff member with her bare hands - not advisable in terms of food sanitation for ready to eat foods. Perhaps the staff needs appropriate training on food sanitation practices.

There is an excellent restaurant directly next door that I'd highly recommend. The neighbourhood is not the best, as it's near the station. Keep your wits about you walking around at night.

Room Tip: We were in room 436 on the fourth floor, which is lovely as it's at the end of the hallway, so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsdixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review.

We would like to inform you that the vast majority of our rooms have been recently redecorated after 2005. Anyway you could ask our staff to change your room if you disliked it.
Our A/C works properly and rooms and common areas are cold during summer.
Our breakfast is a buffet breakfast so our staff doesn't serve food to our guests.
Wi fi costs 5,00 euros per 24 hours and not for 12 hours as you reported but take in consideration that it's FREE if the reservation is made through our web site www.hotelfloramilano.com
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We took the bus from the airport to the bus station, unfortunately I used my directions from the train station to the hotel from where we were dropped off and not from the front of the train station and we ended up pulling heavy bags for several more blocks then needed. If you get your bearings before you go, then it's a short walk to the hotel. Not the best area, but not as bad as the area near the Naples train station. At least not in the direction of the hotel.

The room was very dated but it didn't bother my mum or me. We were on the 4th floor. The lobby was nice and we had a nice selection of breakfast food. We had four nights which was great as we took a day trip to Como where we did a boat trip to Bellagio one day and a trip to Monza another.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shariquickenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your review.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We got into the Flora Hotel at midnight after the next door hotel Garda had booked our rooms to someone else. We had two rooms with king beds and this was a perfect place right across from the train station. We were actually much happier here because unlike the hotel we booked they had a great breakfast included. Very reasonable and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your review.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The staff was friendly. The room was really tiny, with a twin bed, that i barely fit on (I'm 6'3"). But for the price, it was worth it. There was enough room to move about, repack suitcases and the bathroom was spacious enough. It is less than a 2 minute walk from Milano Centrale, which was the main reason I chose it. I had an early morning flight out of Linate, and the staff called me a taxi (arrived on time).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gashwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your review.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Flora Hotel is a good little hotel - easy walking distance from the Milan Central Train Station. We stayed 3 nights, traveling from Lake Como, before a flight to Naples. The breakfast was good - and one of the earlier starts - serving begins at 7:15 a.m. You can purchase tickets for the shuttle bus to the airport at the hotel reception - and the shuttles leave from the side of Milano Centrali - which is very convenient. If you are in Milan for a few days it is worth purchasing a ticket on the "hop on, hop off" tourist bus - to get around the city, and see all the places of interest, including the dazzling & impressive Duomo! The tourist bus leaves from across the street from Milano Centrali.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snstaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your pleasant review.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Lovely clean hotel, near to the central station. We had a clean room, air condition worked. Daily maid service, clean towels, bed linen were clean and the staff were nice and friendly
We met 4 receptionists during our stay. Two of them were approx.60-65 years old (were very friendly), one receptionist approx.45 with curly grey hair was also friendly but there was one receptionist approx.40-45 years old, slim, tall, brown eyes and short brown hair ( nearly bald) whose behaviour was very impersonal and arrogant:

When we wanted to pay our bill the night before (our flight was in the early morning). He told us he needs to prepare our bill for morning and that is not possible to pay with visa card during the night. so we paid by visa card in the early morning. he gave us bill, opened the main door and we left the hotel. He did not say a word during the pay and our leaving. Nothing like "bye", "thank you". We had a feeling that was because we did not pay by cash
Anyway we would recommended Hotel Flora

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you very much for your review.
We are sad for the unconvenience occurred during the night but we are sure there has been a language misunderstanding with our staff memeber who probably suggested you, if it was not an issue for you, to pay in the morning in order to let our computer automatically charge your bill (otherwise we are forced to create it manually).
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#161 of 428 in Milan
551 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#83 of 428 in Milan
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#187 of 428 in Milan
650 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Canova Hotel
Canova Hotel
#201 of 428 in Milan
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Hotel

Property: Flora Hotel
Address: Via Napo Torriani 23, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flora is a welcoming three stars hotel located in the heart of Milan within a two minutes walk from Milan "Centrale" railway station. Hotel Flora position allows its guests to easily reach all Milan's main attractions and business areas.The 50 well equipped rooms have been recently renovated and are cosy and confortable. The hotel features also wide rooms for business meetings and for relax and a lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing