We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and free breakfast”
Review of Flora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flora Hotel
Ranked #148 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient location and free breakfast”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Direction - when you are out from Milano central check that the Perili skyscraper is on your right n hotel Aosta is on your left with the Generalti building right in front of you. Follow the zebra cossing across the square and across the road you should have KPMG office on your right with hotel Augustus on your left. Hotel Flora is on this hotels street and is just opposite hotel Best Western Atlantic. The Hop on hop off bus station is right across the road from the Milano Central station, metro also located here where you can get the day pass or Milano card at a news stand underground near where you catch the metro.
There are a number of pizzeria place near the hotel and hotel staff is helpful to recommend a good place to eat.They are also very helpful to provide me with a kettle so that I can have hot drinks for the cold weather.
Hotel policy is to check out by 1100hrs but you can leave luggage with no charge.
The only disadvantages are that the staff are rather advaned in age and as such did not help me with my big luggage up the steps to the reception and internet access is only free if you book via their website.

Helpful?
5 Thank Sushsf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review.

Please note that the staff are not advanced in age and furthermore we have porters that can help the guests with their luggages.
Internet is free if the reservation is made through our official website.

We look forward to welcome you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    240
    124
    33
    13
See reviews for
50
144
93
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Located a 5 minute walk from the train station with clean rooms with safebox and a refrigerator. Internet is 10 euro for 24 hours of connection time. Note that only one device can be used at a time. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good a good continental breakfast with some cold meats, cheeses, hard-boiled eggs, and cereal in addition to breads and pastries. Beds are very small but bathroom is excellent and room is quiet. Near Moma Rosa restaurant which serves excellent food.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ez2ctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for your appreciations.

We just would like to clarify that internet is free if the reservation is made through our official web site otherwise it costs 5,00 euros (and not 10,00 euros) for 24,00 hours. One device can be logged in per time but you can easily log out and log in with an other device sharing the same internet card.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently on two consecutive Friday nights. Unfortunately the same person on the desk each time was, at best, very indifferent and at worst, rather rude. When asked any questions, he gave the impression they were an imposition on his time. My husband asked if daylight saving was to end the following weekend and he replied that he didn't know but didn't offer to find out. It was important for us as we had to catch an early morning train. On our first Saturday morning I requested that for the following week I would like a larger room as we didn't have enough space to open two suitcases and we were going to be there for a few days. He replied that all the rooms were the same – not true! As I was insistent, he took down the details for the following week. When we arrived the next Friday, the same room had been allocated and again, he seemed annoyed that I wanted a different one. I did get one that was larger, even though it was next to the lift on the 6th floor so that you could hear the lift all night going up and down and making stops. Other incidents also happened which reflected his lack of interest in making us feel comfortable and welcome. His attitude was disappointing as obviously from the reviews, most people have experienced good service at this hotel. It was so bad that we will not use this hotel again. I must say that two other staff members were fine but we always seemed to strike Mr Don't-bother-me. One other thing that was of concern is that a piece of scrap paper was given to us with some information for us. On the reverse side was a booking from a client with their name and credit card number! I would feel alarmed if my details were handled so casually.

Room Tip: 109 is fine for singles but don't take it if you are a couple with 2 or more bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your review.

We are sorry that you disliked the behaviour of our front office manager and we apologize for that.

On the other side we are also sad that you did not mentioned the fact that our staff allowed you to leave your luggages in our storage room for one week waiting for your coming back (it's not that common in the vast majority of the hotels) taking care to find the right position to avoid damages of the contents (which seemed to be valuable).

I also remember i personally asked you informations about your trip showing you interest in your travel and i thought you enjoyed our conversation.

About the rooms, we originally assigned you the rooms at the end of the corridor which really are the biggest rooms of the hotel in terms of size. That's why our staff insisted telling you that other rooms were the same size. Infact the room at the 6th floor is the same size of the rooms we assigned you originally (the only two differences are the balcony and the decoration). Take in consideration also that we assigned a double for single use room instead of the standard single bed room to the single traveler of your group. And take also in consideration that when you asked to change the room, even if we told you that the size was the same, our staff allowed you to change it with no problems. Speaking about our room size we must say that our rooms satisfy the standard requirements fixed by italian law for the three stars hotels in terms of room size. If our room size did not suit you may be you had to look for 4 stars hotel...

Also, please note that we use to recycle paper and we also recycle the reservation confirmations which have been cancelled due to credit card invalidity: the scrap paper our staff gave you showed a fake invalid credit card on the back size. Please be informed that we take care of the valid credit card details of our bookings and there have never been issues over the years on this topic.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel showing you that our service will not be missing as you reported!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I always prefer the hotels which are located in city centre, just like as Hotel Flora!!
You are very close to train sitation, metro shopping :) and restaurants. What more?? :)
Personnel are very good at their jobs, you can feel they serve with pleasure. They always smile like me and my friend. Buffet breakfast excellent, delicious cookies, tartolets and wonderful coffe for everyone. I' d like to thank again to whole personnal especially to Giovanna who works in restaurant. A few monts later we will go to Milan and reserve from Flora Once.
Gratzie

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sopranoplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review: we are very glad for your appreciations about our position, our breakfast and our staff.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, Ca
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our group of three couples booked the Flora Hotel to begin and end our three weeks in Italy since we were flying into and out of Malpensa. We also chose the hotel for its location near the train station since we would begin and end our trip with train trips. The hotel is within walking distance of the train station, provided you can handle your own luggage. However, even though a map on the website shows the location of the hotel in relation to the train station, it is important to ask someone to point you to the front of the train station. We had arrived via the Malpensa bus shuttle and didn't realize the bus shuttles drop off on the side of the station, so it took quite a while to orient ourselves to the map we had printed off the website.

The rooms are okay in size, as are the bathrooms. Rooms and bathrooms are clean .There is also an elevator, if needed. We were unable to locate any English channels (CNN or BBC) stations on the television and the wifi was very difficult to navigate. They give you a wifi card for each device you have and the scratch off password is in tiny numbers that are about 12-15 characters long, very difficult to read. I never was successful in logging onto wifi on my tablet, as each time I got a message saying that the user name or password was invalid. The night staff person was not very helpful and first said " It must work" and then suggested I use the computer in the lobby. The breakfast was very nice and served in a pleasant room with helpful staff.

When we left the hotel after our first night in September I mentioned to the day staff that we had another reservation and two couples would return in mid-October. When we returned in mid -October, we were told we had no reservation because the reservation had been cancelled due to "a problem" with our credit card. No one could explain what the "problem" was and why the reservation was cancelled. The hotel was able to place one couple in a room at the hotel while the other couple was placed next door at another hotel. The only explanation I could fathom was that that the credit card we used to reserve in June had expired at the end of Sept so so sometime between the end of Sept and our arrival in mid-October, the hotel had unilaterally cancelled our reservation. So much for our conversation at the end of the first stay about our plans to return at the end of the trip.

Related to this "communication" concern is the fact that I had emailed the hotel prior to our first stay in September, asking if they had any suggestions for getting tickets to The Last Supper. There was no response to the email.

Based on this experience I would not recommend this hotel as the service did not equal that in the 9 other hotels we used during our 3+ weeks in Italy.

Room Tip: Room 219 is especially large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmuse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review and your appreciations about our position, about our rooms and about the breakfast.

We would like to inform you that:

1) CNN and BBC are available channels in our TV. We also have one movie channel in original language and we really do not understand why you did not manage to find them: there is also a channel list brochure on the room desk where there is written that CNN and BBC are available channels: should you have any doubt on this matter you might ask our staff to show you how to use the TV.

2) WI -Fi works properly in the whole hotel (infact your friends managed to use it). You did not manage to log in with your ipad probably because 1. you were connected with an other device at the same time (in this case you just had to log out from that device or ask our staff to give you an additional card) or 2. you did not manage to type the password properly: our password is an eleven digits password that allow us to provide high level of security and sometimes it might be complicated to type it properly.

3) Your reservation had been automatically cancelled by our system because the credit card you used was invalid (it was expired). Our staff did not hold it. Even if you did not have a valid reservation our staff managed to accept one of the two rooms assigning you our last vacancy. For the second room we helped you finding an accomodation at the next door hotel and allowing you for this room to have breakfast at our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sassari, Italy
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This 6- storey hotel is a hidden jem located just a few steps away form Milan Central Station!! Everything was above and beyond!
My room was immaculate, the bathroom massive with all the toiletries and the bed beyond comfortable. The staff were super friendly and the buffet breakfast offered a wide choice of sweet and salty food to choose from! Another pro is its great value for money . Thumbs up!
I had a race on the Sunday I was staying there and they offered the extension to hold the room until I was done with the race at no extra costs so that I could take a shower and get changed before boarding my return flight!
I would definitely recommend it and would stay there next time I am in Milan

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LellaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review!
We really hope to welcome you again in the future. If there are some extra requests we try to do our best to satisfy them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We visited Milan for one day and hotel Flora was a good choice for us. The hotel is 2 min walking from the train station and 1 min from the subway. The city center is 4 stops away and , like almost everywhere in Italy, the subway comes every 5-10 min. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The only problem is that at night the area can be a little bit shady.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_dabija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelFloraMilano, Direttore at Flora Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review!
We really hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#163 of 428 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#184 of 428 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#85 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Augustus Hotel
Augustus Hotel
#231 of 428 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flora Hotel

Property: Flora Hotel
Address: Via Napo Torriani 23, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flora is a welcoming three stars hotel located in the heart of Milan within a two minutes walk from Milan "Centrale" railway station. Hotel Flora position allows its guests to easily reach all Milan's main attractions and business areas.The 50 well equipped rooms have been recently renovated and are cosy and confortable. The hotel features also wide rooms for business meetings and for relax and a lounge bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing